We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE best in THE world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montagu Dried Fruit & Nuts

Montagu Dried Fruit & Nuts
Ranked #1 of 11 Shopping in Montagu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Montagu Dried Fruit and Nuts is one of South Africa’s foremost dried fruit, nuts and seeds suppliers. The company, birthed and firmly rooted in Montagu, package and distributes innovative choice grade dried fruit, nuts and seeds products and with a national network of franchise stores, Montagu brings ‘sunshine in a packet’ to the whole of South Africa.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THE best in THE world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

When did visit my relatives in vereeniging THE told us if we ever were going to buy peanuts or other nuts we had to buy THE orange bags if montagu i am glad they did because iT is THE best quality ever

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    30
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dried Fruit and Nuts is on 102 Bath St...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

The address (Long & Kohler) shown by TripAdvisor is to their (uninteresting) main office. The factory/shop/bistro is on 102 Bath Street, a couple of km's outside city centre. There's no Factory Tour, but you can stare through a window... :-) The (only) highlight is the shop. It's not especially cheap, what stands out is the quality and the taste.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tommypeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
760 reviews
346 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 556 helpful votes
“Great dry fruits, great wine and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stopped at this place just to check it out and I ended up spending one hour there. There are 3 shops in the premises. One has all the dry fruit with a very good selection and great prices. The other has a wine tasting room, great Muscadel at amazing prices and the third has a restaurant with a good selection of light meals and cakes. All in a very pleasant atmosphere. This would again be my first stop in Montagu if I return.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarracenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fish Hoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nuts about dried fruits”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Loved the shop - just about every size and variety of locally produced fruit, as well as nuts. There is so much variety to please everyone. Lots of parking and open on Sunday.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyDippnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Tour of South Africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I must say my spouse and I could not get enough of the goodies and ended purchasing about 20 bags to take home, now 4 months later we are down to two bags and ration what we take :-)

The dried fruit tastes fantastic and it is also a great place to stop for lunch or coffee. We were here late may so did not get to see how the fruit is dried but can imagine the many colors of fruit drying.

Would not miss visiting, but, you can you can purchase the fruit at several locations including Jo-burg international departure area.

Look for the large clear discount bags no fancy pictures, fruit is the same but at a reduced price.

Gave us something to munch on, on the tractor ride!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Italyinjune07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montagu Dried Fruit & Nuts also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Been to Montagu Dried Fruit & Nuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing