We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain View Lodge Montagu
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Love the place”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The owners were friendly and helpful in making our stay a memorable one. They even gave us suggestions of the must-dos in the region. We spent most of our time chilling on the veranda, enjoying the breeze, view and Belgium beer!

Room Tip: Get the room with the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgavatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    8
    7
    8
    1
See reviews for
4
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brightwood, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Nothing makes my husband happier than to be sitting on several hundred CCs of motorcycle (rented) and enjoying some of our favourite Belgian beers. Our trip included both of these things, and the bonus of a B&B that was meticulously clean, modern, newly built, and with a wonderful breakfast service as well. The room was lovely, and the deck had a breathtaking view to enjoy. The food was very good! This B&B is an excellent value, and the owners are very welcoming and kind. I recommend it highly. :D

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

We found this guest house basic, function and very minimalistic. There is no fridge, air conditioning, TV or toilet door. Whilst the place is clean it offers very few comforts to make your stay more pleasant.
We expected a better standard.
Our main disappointment was the fact that there is no privacy whatsoever. The rooms are a line of modern units with a large full frontal glass door facing the house and car park. Everyone is walking past so you need to keep your curtain drawn. In our case, we were opposite the kitchen window so it was drawn permanently and became very claustrophobic and depressing.
Also, there was no evening restaurant in the 3 days we were there.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brumpa100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed one night in this newly built B&B. The rooms are well designed and extremely clean. The bed was huge and comfortable, the rest of the furniture minimal but sufficient. The bathroom is perfect with step-in shower. There is a small clean pool. The main attraction though is the viewing deck above the accommodation building offering probably the best mountain views from any hotel in Montagu as the property is located high up on the South-facing hillside overseeing the town. The Belgian owners Alain & Maud are extremely friendly and helpful. There is a bar with a large selection of imported Belgian beers offering an unexpected and unique beer-tasting experience with commentary by raconteur Alain. The breakfast selection is limited but sufficient served in a pleasant modern environment. If you don't need TV or WiFi (although WiFi is advertised but in practice unworkable) and are not offended by the terrible tiling job in the bathroom - this is a great place to stay where I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed for one night in this place. The rooms are very new, spotlessly clean and have a nice combination of modern interiour with some african decoration. The owners were very helpful and gave us lots of advice regarding our trip. Even though we were the only guests at that day, there was a very good breakfast buffet. Unfortunately, there was no dinner that night. We saw the menu for another day where a three course meal was on offer and it looked excellent. We wanted to pre-book it, but were told it was not available that day. However, they recommened a few restaurants from which we picked the "old tavern" which was very good as well.

There were lots of belgian beers on offer. We did not try them because we can get them at home and we usually try out the local stuff when on holidays. However, tthis might be interesting for people that are not from around Belgium.

So far the nicest rooms we had on our trip.

Room Tip: We had room #1. WIFI reception was only working close to the door. I guess it becomes better with in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unfugmail-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

If you want to expierence belgium beers at an affordable price... This is the place! Friendly guests, very clean, basic ( no tv or airco) but good value for money! Also, if you want adventure: you can rent motorbikes for touring road 62.

Recommende place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxibelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2013

. Owners Alain and Maud made us feel so welcome and comfortable. They are extremely friendly, the service and food are excellent. the rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. I would recomend Mountain View Lodge to all.


  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank deetavener1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
1.3 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montagu 4 Seasons
Montagu 4 Seasons
#4 of 34 in Montagu
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mimosa Lodge
Mimosa Lodge
#7 of 34 in Montagu
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Airlies Gastehuis
Airlies Gastehuis
#5 of 27 in Montagu
328 reviews
0.8 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#8 of 34 in Montagu
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Lodge Montagu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Lodge Montagu

Property: Mountain View Lodge Montagu
Address: 33 Kohler Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain View Lodge Montagu 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in total privacy while enjoying our spectacular mountain views.Just below Kanonkop and just above the town centre of Montagu, still within walking distance, Mountain View Lodge in Montagu is almost completely concealed from the street, this means privacy, relaxation and a 24h monitored and secure location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mountain View Lodge Montagu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing