We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic visit!”
Review of Little Sanctuary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Little Sanctuary
Ranked #8 of 27 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Another fantastic visit!”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I have just visited Little Sanctuary for the third time, definitely not my last visit, with my sister from the UK and we both enjoyed ourselves immensely. The round pool is a dream to swim in and the peace and quiet was what we both needed. Our unit was spotlessly clean and the kitchen contained everything that we need, and some.
Hilton and Desmey made us both very welcome and were so helpful at all times. I am already looking forward to my next trip.

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
55
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

After a long search for the perfect place to celebrate our first wedding anniversary my husband and I decided The Little Sanctuary would be it. We stayed from the 12th until the 16th of Dec (4 nights) and didn't want to leave. Our hosts Hilton & Desmey were so welcoming and kind and made us feel extra special by giving us a bottle of sparkling wine to celebrate. This is honestly the most luxuries self catering unit we've ever stayed in, everything was so neat, clean and well maintained. The kitchen is fully equipped. We absolutely loved the jacuzzi and steam shower in the bathroom. Everything was so beautifully decorated and I really liked the fact that we had everything that we needed but didn't feel cramped, units are very spacious. We had a great time in the pool and the view from the "lookout" is beautiful. The one thing that did bother us a tiny bit was the noise from Avalon springs on Saturday & Sunday (evenings) but I do understand that it can't be controlled as this was the first week of the holidays (This would NOT keep us from coming back). This is the perfect romantic spot and you can easily just slip into your own little world. I would highly recommend The Little Sanctuary.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3a_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stopped with my fiancee at little sanctuary on our trip from cape town to Oudtshoorn.
The owner gave us a good welcome and our room "the eagle's nest" is both original and nice.
Its own tiny pool with a lovely view on the wineyards is a bonus.
Ratio quality/price is good, i would recommend if you stop by in Montagu.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2013

After seeing the entries on Trip Advisor we decided to book at Little Sanctuary and they didn’t disappoint. We loved the lovely views from both the pools and even though we were very close to the hot springs after having a look we decided not to even go. We had a barbeque at one of the pools and it stands out as being one of the most memorable days during our visit to South Africa. Thank you must go to Desmé for her outstanding customer service and for maintaining a very high standard throughout.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alida H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Beautiful property and luxurious rooms. As a self-catering establishment they excel. We had everything that we needed to make our stay comfortable. I would go as far as to say it is one of the top self-catering establishments we have stayed in. Even the barbeque has a beautiful view. Service is outstanding and their website is a true reflection of what you are getting (not like most places were you are often disappointed). After fleeing the cold UK weather having a choice of two pools was a treat and didn’t disappoint. If you are looking for true luxury that won’t break the bank - book now. We will certainly recommend this wonderful establishment to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brett e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmey P, General Manager at Little Sanctuary, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Little Sanctuary. I nervously checked the weather every morning hoping that the weather would play along with your stay and thank heavens it did.
I really appreciate you taking the time to write this lovely review and for recommending Little Sanctuary to your family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We needed a quite place to stay to connect with each other as the daily activities keeps us busy. What an awesome experience. We met Desmay on the Friday on arrival and that was the last person we saw the rest of the weekend till Sunday when we left. The pool with its view was a place you could spend the entire time. Everything was what we hoped for it to be. If you need a private get away to relax LS is highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmey P, General Manager at Little Sanctuary, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Your review expressed exactly what we strive for at Little Sanctuary. That is why we have called it "Haven of Rest". Many of our clients have commented that they feel as if they have Little Sanctuary all to themselves even when we are fully booked. It was a pleasure meeting the two of you, and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We spent three weeks in South Africa and staying at this wonderful place was the highlight of our trip. It was quite incredible that from the moment we entered the gates we felt relaxed. There is something magical about LS. The service is outstanding. It’s like having a personal travel agent at your disposal. We didn’t have to make a single reservation. I could barely get my wife out of the Spa Bath. I thoroughly enjoyed the steam shower and wished I could pack it in my suitcase.

Beautiful units that are incredibly clean. On Desmey’s recommendation we took a bottle of champagne to the pool intending to spend an hour there. I was dispensed back to the unit to get another and we ended up spending almost the whole afternoon by the pool.
We were meant to spend three nights, but ended up cancelling our next stop so we could extend our stay. Next time we are in SA our first stop will be LS.

Room Tip: Room tip: Amazing spa bath and steam shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desmey P, General Manager at Little Sanctuary, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review. It is very important to us at Little Sanctuary that our guests feel at home and we love to make your stay as comfortable as we can.
We are planning to install a little bar fridge at the pool which will make it more convenient for our guests to store their cold beverages. See you next time you are in SA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.0 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
87 reviews
1.6 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
552 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mimosa Lodge
Mimosa Lodge
#6 of 34 in Montagu
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Springs
Avalon Springs
#12 of 34 in Montagu
322 reviews
1.7 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Sanctuary

Property: Little Sanctuary
Address: 27 Uitvlugt Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Sanctuary 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic getaway. All the luxury units feature the following: A bathroom with spa bath and steam shower. Fully equipped kitchen. Separate Lounge and a private patio with a spectacular view. The private 4 hectares have two pools, barbeque facilities and the most amazing fauna and flora. Close to the centre of Montagu and 2 minutes from the famous Hot Springs. Romance is what we all are about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Little Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing