We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve
Nearby Hotels
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain View Lodge Montagu(Montagu)(Great Value!)
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Airlies Gastehuis(Montagu)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingna Lodge(Montagu)
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge(Montagu)(Great Value!)
US$56
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveller rating
586
76
23
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
586
76
23
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdwyka tented lodgegame driveson footcape townsafari experiencegame reservewhite rhinomain gatehot towelsour honeymoontwo nightshis knowledgeclose encounteronce in a lifetimefantastic experienceamazing animalsprivate reserve
Filter
Updating list...
496 - 501 of 694 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We had a very limited amount of time to stay in S Africa on the tale end of a business trip. Sanbona proved to be the perfect solution. The staff was fantastic, the rooms peaceful and relaxing. We had an amazing ranger who worked hard for us and we were able to get amazingly close to some beautiful animals.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gooniechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Our first trip for our kids to a game farm, and what an experience. Our guide Rudi was awesome, intelligent, knowledgeable and adventurous that made each game drive an experience. The rooms are comfortable, well kept and the food and drinks are too much if you don't want to put on a few kilo's. All the staff we encountered were more than friendly and always willing to please. The fact that the doors to each room are never locked adds to the honesty and integrity of the people employed. Warning! The food is to die for so the "death by chocolate" should be avoided at all costs or never shared!

Room Tip: Book early for adjoining rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatsiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We loved this place. 2.5 hours drive from Capetown. Another hour to the Dwyka tents. Serious 5 star everything. Our guide, Alwyn, was very knowledgable and so enthusiastic. We saw 2 white lion cubs with their mother. They came within a couple of meters of our vehicle. Great value. Cathy and Harold. Sydney. Australia.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hatches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stayed in dwyka tented village while on honeymoon and what a find. Sanbona is all we wanted and a lot more! The service was second to none, with everyone making you feel very welcome. Bernard deserves a special mention with his warm nature and genuine hospitality, nothing was too much hassle for him and he made our stay by the surprise we had waiting in the tent after our first game drive. The rooms are stunning with indoor and outdoor showers, his and her sinks and a huge bath. As you would expect the nights were silent and the stars amazing.

Every meal we had was stunning, with great wines and service to match. I had read a few reviews saying the drive in was difficult and bumpy in a car but we didn't find this at all, we had a Toyota corolla and it was absolutely fine.

The game drives were brilliant with a wealth of wildlife close by, our game driver really had an all round knowledge of wildlife and the flora and fauna within the game reserve meaning there was always something to look at and learn about. We were lucky enough to witness the white lions attempting to tackle a hippo, they were unsuccessful but was a stunning addition to the drive.

We both had a massage while staying there and again faultless and we both felt thoroughly relaxed by the whole experience. The only downside was the amount of weight we both put on from devouring the perfectly cooked food during such a short stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lforsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We had read the reviews and Sanbona was exactly what we had expected and hoped for.
The accommodation in Tilney Manor was great - the room was exceptional, great quality. Food was very good, and service also.
The range is large so the safaris did involve searching out the animals in their habitats but it made it that much more rewarding when we did track them down. Elephants were great, including a baby. The Lions were great - we were lucky to find the White Lioness with the 2 young cubs, which were very cute.
Only down side was the weather - we had picked the coldest week of the year so far in late April - and even with lots of layers it gets cold.
Overall, we were well looked after and had an experience we will remember.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sprie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews