We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Mimosa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mimosa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
's-Gravenwezel, België
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Thanks Fida and Bernard of the personal touch during our stay. The rooms are great and the food is excellent. Nice garden to walk, sit and relax.

I will definitely come back when I am in Montagu.

The wines are very good. Try at least the Hess reserve, a blend of cabernet sauvingon. Malbec. Really nice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ggeens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    141
    44
    25
    6
See reviews for
51
255
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed with friends for one night only and although lodge itself, gardens and rooms were outstanding we were disappointed by an overpriced dinner which was nothing like that displayed on the website. Book a garden room as these were enormous and very tastefully decorated with big bathrooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bevis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Lovely little town Montegu, and Mimosa Lodge is a very hospitable place with a fantastic restaurant and a marvellous chef, John! Fida was lovely and I just wished she had had more time to hang around and chat the night we stayed. The hotel layout is like a maze; the rooms were lovely and very cosy. I think the outside areas are a little run down and could do with some investment, but overall it was a great stay and their wines were superb as was their hospitality.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stopped at the Mimosa Lodge in March for one night to break our journey from Oudtshoorn to Cape Town. I have to say we were a little disappointed. we had an upstairs room in the main building, oh so dark, partly the decor and partly the fact that the main light didn't work. There was a fan that wobbled so much it looked as though it would drop of the ceiling and the floorboards and bed creaked at the slightest movement. The bathroom was a disappointment as well with only a bath and hand held shower (no shower curtain so water goes everywhere and it didn't feel that clean. (We actually left the following day with out bathing !!)

The gardens were OK but could really do with some attention and and what is described as a "fantastic black marble pool" was not, it looked dirty and uninviting.

We wandered round the Lodge to look at the rooms and went into the bar area which smelt very strongly of smoke (not what is expected) and were ignored by a grumpy bearded man behind the bar.

We had pre-dinner garden drinks and then the 4 course "nouvelle cuisine" dinner. We were disappointed as it was no better than average food presented in a fancy way. Breakfast the following morning was OK but nothing to get excited about.

As we were only stopping one night we couldn't be bothered to pass comment.

Mantagu is a great little town but Mimosa Lodge will have to improve for us to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Excellent accommodation, superb restaurant and Fida and Bernhard are now good friends, having made our 4th trip to visit them. We choose the wine & dine option, Bernhard is a top class chef and Fida is an excellent hostess.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marian & Jock T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
246 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

After leaving our hotel in Franschhoek this was our next stop. What a disappointment! Yes, the evening meal in the restaurant was very good but that's where the praise ends. We had a garden room. We could hear every footstep / use of bathroom from room upstairs. Ceiling too low for a roof fan, so had to settle for a floor fan.
The room had not been cleaned well with fingerprints and the towel gown looking as if it had not been changed from the previous person.
As we returned to our room at 10 pm after meal, many of the garden path lights were not working or simply not turned on.
The pool needed re-furbishing around the edge ( their own brochures picture of the pool must have been taken several years ago), and we certainly did not feel inclined to swim.
In fairness, someone had at least made an effort to attend the gardens.
We went to the pre- dinner garden drinks and the manager himself passed
my wife a chair with bird droppings on it! Not in itself a major problem, but highlighted their lack of attention to detail.
I've done quite a few reviews and I think this is the first 1* I've ever given!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank robinjn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
186 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Awesome food, great wine, particularly Hess reserve, fantastic staff, particularly Bernie.

Stayed two nights in March 2014. food was incredible. View from our balcony was of the most incredible contorted mountains.

Gardens wee lovely, our bathroom was divine, fantastic shower and tiling.

Montagu is a lovely town, very authentic Dutch architecture, but Mimosa is the best thing there. there are lots of things to do in the surrounding countryside, but we just chilled by the pool and enjoyed great hospitality

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shinyhead69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.2 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
1.7 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 27 in Montagu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlies Gastehuis
Airlies Gastehuis
#5 of 27 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
28.0 mi away
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve - Tilney Manor, Dwyka Tented Lodge, Gondwana Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mimosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimosa Lodge

Property: Mimosa Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 323 | Church Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mimosa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mimosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimosa Hotel Montagu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing