We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed, breakfast and...excellent dinner!!!”
Review of Mimosa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mimosa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bed, breakfast and...excellent dinner!!!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were pleasantly surprised ; beautiful and very spaciuos rooms, a warm welcome at both reception and later in the bar.Dinner prepared by a gourmet chef! We did not even try to find another restaurant on our second night, but went for another beautiful 4-course meal at Mimosa lodge's restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank tonja_verheul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    149
    45
    25
    6
See reviews for
54
261
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Comfortable and clean with top-notch staff. We had a great time and truly appreciate the wonderful hospitality from every associate. Breakfast was delicious and filling and the location of the hotel was perfect for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We decided to try Mimosa Lodge on our way back from Oudtshoorn to Cape Town. We had spent a night in Montagu the previous Sunday evening and were highly impressed with the little town. So we decided to try it again on our way back. The lodge and it's rooms looked clean and tidy and the room we chose was very spacious. The problem we found was, in comparison to the other hotels/lodges we had stayed in during our trip, they did not offer an additional bed for our 7 year old daughter. So she slept with us in the king size bed. This is fine but then they insisted on charging her at the full rate. We didn't make a fuss about it as there didn't seem to be anyone around to make any changes etc. the breakfast the next morning was good but nothing special. So all in all, it was comfortable and clean which is what one would want but out of the 3 lodges we had stayed in during our trip ,it was the most expensive (although the individual rate isn't high) and I'd say was the least impressive. It is still pleasant enough and would probably stay there again but not my first choice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Enjoyed the weekend thoroughly. Excellent hospitality, central location and comfortable facilities at a very reasonable price. Beautiful setting of hotel, antique furniture in room all add to the charm. Will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nigitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Thank You to Mimosa Lodge and really friendly staff for a stunning room for the night of my visit to Montagu. I have been recommending your accommodation to everyone already. The Muskadel was a lovely touch.My stay was way to short...and so I will simply have to come back!!!

Room Tip: Room was a little chilly but then it was zero degrees outside! Pile on extra blankets in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penguins2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capetown
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Loved the setting..... The service, location and scenery. The staff was friendly and welcoming. They noticed when we were out of site. Breakfast was amazing. Mimosa gave the real feeling of a home... warm, cosy and personal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Lodge provides a convenient and comfortable stay on our way to Cape Town. The accommodation was very comfortable and spacious with an excellent breakfast. We ate in the pub opposite which was good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RMARTIN949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.2 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
561 reviews
1.7 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#2 of 27 in Montagu
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain View Lodge Montagu
0.2 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mimosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimosa Lodge

Property: Mimosa Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 323 | Church Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mimosa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mimosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimosa Hotel Montagu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing