We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed reactions to our Mountain Chalet retreat”
Review of Avalon Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avalon Springs
Malaga, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Mixed reactions to our Mountain Chalet retreat”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Avalon Springs is tucked away in a beautiful valley/gorge just outside the pretty town of Montagu. We chose to stay in a Mountain Chalet and, despite our 'mountain view' being severely tempered by line of sight over the back of the hotel block, the chalet itself was luxurious, comfortable, spacious and equipped with everything you could want for a home from home experience. One of the anticipated highlights was supposed to have been a private jacuzzi on the terrace, which was actually to the side of and below the chalet on an ugly concrete platform and level with the very uninspiring underbuild. This was disappointing and so we didn't use it. However, it turned out that the jacuzzi wasn't necessary as the hot springs themselves were delightful - warmer than taking a bath at home! - and we were happy to simply relax by the pool. We used our discount meal vouchers for a dinner in the restaurant, which was OK but nothing special food-wise, and the room itself was definitely in need of a facelift. Service was attentive and enthusiastic around the resort and there was a warm and genuine welcome when we arrived. The 'spa' offered treatments which were excellent value for money, and the therapists were nice and friendly but, again, the room itself was a bit tired. Overall, we had a rather mixed experience at Avalon, but we did enjoy the chalet and the hot springs, and that was really what it was all about!

Room Tip: The lower mountain chalets are easier to get to via the stairs, but suffer from an interrupted view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre77797, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear GaryD14

Thank you very much fir the detailed report on your visit and my upfront apologies for the set backs during your stay. We will definitely look into these issues and see how best to rectify them for the future.

Have a great week
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    95
    55
    36
    46
See reviews for
151
123
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We moved into the mountain chalet after spending two nights in the adjacent Montagu Springs..what a big contrast. Although I have been at Avalon Springs before, it was our first time at the mountain chalets. The mountain chalet was clean, fully furnished and absolutely luxurious. The only gripe i have is that maybe the ACs should also be fitted in the bedrooms, and not only in the living areas, as the bedroom fans did not really make a difference in the hot weather.
There was an elderly lady in our group, and it was difficult for her to walk up to the chalet, but the friendly staff members were always willing to drive her up and down with their "dassie" vehicle.
On checking in we received breakfast vouchers, and a lovely full breakfast was served with a big variety of choices.

The pools were as lovely as i remember it, and a few welcome extensions were made since the last time i was here.
I would definitely recommend Avalon Springs to anyone wishing for a relaxing day or two away from home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamsu O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre77797, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Tripper717

Thank you very much for letting us know about your visit to the Avalon and hoping tow elcome you back to the Resort again soon.

Have a great week
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I revisited after many years trying to relive the good memories of the past. What a nightmare place this has become. Since the previous owner left the hotel is run down, dirty, neglected, badly managed. Walking to the pools was a real experience. You have to walk past several tacky kids entertainment machines of which several were broken. Then we were greeted by a family of "locals" who were no doubt spending their wages on bottles of wine at the pool bar. Their language was shocking and they were legless. Who would like to relax in such lovely pools but in such a sordid environment! The interior of the hotel is dirty and neglected. The restaraunt looked like it needed the kiss of life. So sad to see this once beautiful place gone to ruin!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre77797, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear ConB

Thank you for advising us of your experience at the Resort. we have started various projects this year which will hopefully be completed before the December holidays and hope you will visit is again to experience the newer look and feel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montagu hotels

Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

After some of us having travelled from Limpopo, we get to this place only to be told that we will not be getting what we paid for!!! We booked and paid for beautiful mountain chalets, but were told upon arrival that they are fully booked! After arriving at 8pm, we were only able to get into a room at 10.30pm - which was STILL not what we paid for! What a disappointment!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank MaShelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre77797, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear MaShelZ

Thank you for letting us know about your visit and my apologies you incurred at the time. I'm not quite sure what went wrong or how the reservation was mixed up between the different types of accommodation but please accept my apologies for this as it is not acceptable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springs Gauteng
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

On arrival we stood on our balcony looking into lovely trees and as it was their festival period there was music from the reception area below. I have honestly NEVER had such a sense of wellbeing.
Our allocated room offered a bath with an overhead shower and as this was a bit difficult for my partner we requested another room. Even though it was possibly their busiest time of the year the manager (an exceptionally nice man) went out of his way and found us a room with a walk in shower.
I find the above reviews to be very unfair as everything was spotlessly clean. Could these reviews possibly be from competitors trying to discredit the Avalon ? The breakfast was stunning with a very varied choice, served in a lovely dining room with heavy silver sugar basins etc. All of the staff were very friendly and always ready to help. Even when passing staff in the passages there would be a greeting and some sort of recommendation for possibly a shorter trip to the pools or whatever. One of the comments made by a previous guest was that the pools were too full. If you are a day visitor then you need to use the communal pool but if you are a resident at the Avalon then you would use the hotel pools (numerous pools) and they are definitely not crowded. The water is really warm and it is SOOOOO relaxing and crystal clear. If I did not live so far away I would be there once a month. Just park your car and relax for a few days or take a drive into the tiny town of Montagu and visit the dried fruit factory or go for afternoon tea at one of the farms along the road.
Just one thing. Plan your route and ask beforehand for the safest route into Montagu. If travelling from Johannesburg try not to have to come into Montagu over the pass as this can be hair raising and dangerous in bad weather. When I go there again (and I most definitely will) from the main highway I will drive on to Worster then Robertson then Ashton then Montagu to avoid the passes. Please check me on this as I cannot remember the route 100%

Isabel Winkler/Dan Pheiffer Springs South Africa

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nad001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre77797, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear nad001

Thank you very much for the positive review. Although not always great to receive bad reviews, it allows us the opportunity to look at matters in a different way and possible change things around a bit to accommodate everyone's needs. You are correct, the pass could be "scary" in bad weather but allows for a splendid view over the valley, the other route as mentioned is a lot easier to drive and also offers some scenic areas which can be visited en route to the Avalon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

This was horrible. The staff didn't greet for one, the facilities weren't up to standard. I wanted to get changed after swimming and the men's toilets were soaking wet. Nobody could direct me to where I wanted to be and I had to find my own way around. I won't come travel 180km's to Avalon again. I'm sorry.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre77797, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear John K

My apologies for this, I can only think that the busy holidays could have been some reason for this but do take note of your concerns and have made a point of addressing this in our meetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My family and I recently spent a weekend in the garden suites which was very pleasant. I however am very disappointed and feel decrimanated at......we were given vouchers to spend in the restuarant just to be told that they don't cater hallaal. What were we supposed to do with the vouchers' buy ice cream?????. Think its about time Avalon Springs cater for the larger percentage of their guest as well.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank lutfia i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre77797, General Manager at Avalon Springs, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear lutfia i

Thank you for letting us know about your concerns. Please note that we do sell pre prepared and frozen halaal meals on the premises at our 25 hour outlet as we are unfortunately not a certified venue where the foods can be prepared fresh on demand. We are however looking into a way around this for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.3 mi away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
89 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
562 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge Montagu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rainbow Glen Self-Catering Guest Cottages
2.0 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#8 of 34 in Montagu
154 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montagu 4 Seasons
Montagu 4 Seasons
#4 of 34 in Montagu
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Springs

Property: Avalon Springs
Address: Uitvlucht Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Avalon Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Springs Montagu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing