We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hidaway”
Review of Galenia Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Galenia Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Hidaway”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just spent two very restful nights in the beautiful setting tucked away in the mountains. Hidden from the road you are surrounded by mountains, but Montague centre just a minute away. Our cottage was immaculate with its own private verandah overlooking the pond and olive plantation. A cosy cottage, complete with open fire, very comfy bed, underfloor heating, luxury bathroom and a great optional and private outdoor shower. Eric's breakfast were sublime, a work of art. About 5 courses if you count all the pastries. Set us up for the day. All this and lots of hiking trials right outside your door. Will only book here next time we in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    21
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
107
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile


Great breakfast in the morning ,breathtaking views And hiking trials, nice accommodation with great fireplaces.lovely hostess &host,really makes you feel welcome ! Every second at this piece of heaven is speciAl! Very central located ! Hope to return soon!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eels6091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a place to completely relax but plenty of walks within the grounds to keep you busy. The individual chalets are tastefully decorated and the views from your own terrace overlook the olive groves. The information given by the owners is excellent. Breakfasts are a work of art and the fruit plates are almost too good to eat. The occasional ostrich walking nearby was a bonus.

Room Tip: Any room is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our way from Cape Town to Mossel Bay (via Stellenbosch / Franschhoek). This small lodge / hotel is located within a beautiful estate with really nice walking trails (between 30min - 2 hours). The scenery and the location / setting are amazingly beautiful, if you like tranquility and nature.
The rooms were very nicely decorated, absolutely clean, and the outside shower a highlight. Sitting on the small terraces overlooking the olive plantation with ostriches grazing right before us was just great.
Another highight was the amazing breakfast on the terrace of the main house. In total, an excellently renovated / restored / refurbished estate in a uniquely tranquil setting.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are quite similar and offer amazing views over the estate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed her for 3 nights as part of a recent trip to the Western Cape.

Les Hauts de Montagu has fabulous views, lovely walking trails and very comfortable rooms. Breakfast was superb. The pool area was comfortable and well maintained, with the same stunning views as our room.

Myriam and Eric were friendly and helpful hosts, and run an excellent lodge. Everything was perfect.

We loved our stay here - highly recommend to anybody looking for luxury accommodation in the area at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night at Les Hauts de Montagu. We had a single cottage with a great view of the surrounding mountains. In the morning we wee greeted by a group of ostriches and their young in our garden. The place is very atmospheric and managed by a Belgian couple who know how to make their guests feel at home. Each room has all the comforts that one should need, including a stocked minibar and a fireplace. It was getting colder when we arrived and it was great to sit at the fire overlooking the mountains in the early evening. Our room had an outside shower which presented a small challenge with the cold and the wind, but that only added to the atmosphere. If we return to South Africa (which is verily likely) than we will definitely come back here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Petethefreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed with another couple in February.
Being welcomed on arrival we were impressed with clean and spacious rooms with a nice bowl of fruit and a mini bar for an evening drink on the verandah looking over the valley.
Some great walks on offer with some climbing but easy for most.
Breakfast presentation fantastic and quality equal to that.
A pity that dinner not an option but there are a choice in Montagu and surrounds.
Reasonable value for money at about $80 p.p.p.n.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KayBeeZim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montagu
2.6 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
556 reviews
26.5 mi away
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve
3.0 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
13.2 mi away
African Game Lodge
African Game Lodge
#3 of 34 in Montagu
198 reviews
2.5 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#2 of 27 in Montagu
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galenia Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galenia Estate

Property: Galenia Estate
Address: 3 km Ater Montaqu On Route | 3 Km After Montagu On Route 62, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Galenia Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A guest lodge offering 450 hectares of abundant, indigenous flora and situated on the beautiful slopes of the Langeberg Mountains. This is a space of natural tranquility, beauty and comfort; perfect for nature lovers, relaxing getaway or a romantic weekend. Rooms are separated into six spacious en-suites. Each have their own fireplace, a bathroom with heated floors, a Victorian bathtub as well as an outside shower. From the veranda, guests have a spectacular view of the Karro Koppies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Galenia Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing