We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montagu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aasvoelkrans Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 27 Montagu B&B and Inns
Kempton Park, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay away!”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Having visited the area on numerous occasions we were astount by the rude, unprofessional and shocking treatment we received from the hostess and owner, Jeanne. We booked for a 3 night stay and had to cancel due to the flooding and unsave roads leading into Montagu. Eventhough we apologised on more than one occasion AND offered to forfeit our 100% payment made upfront for our intended stay, Jeanne was outright rude via both email and telephonically. We were completely shocked at the treatment we received, especially bearing in mind that the flooding and unsave roads were not by our own doing, we apologised profoundly for the inconvenience and she received full payment for 3 nights for 6 people and she had apsolutely NO expenses. Whilst friends and colleagues whom also visited the same weekend, received apologies from the hostesses they booked with and received full refunds of deposits, we were treated with disrespect and rudeness. If this hostess doesn't have ability to be hospitable and respectful towards her guests, she should maybe not be in the hospitality business.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    9
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We just spent 3 nights at Aasvoelkrans and could not have asked for a better experience. Things we loved:
* Jeanne's dry and wonderful wit
* The chickens in the garden that laid the eggs for our breakfast
* The modern but cozy architecture--custom-designed by Jeanne's architect daughter
* The quirky and creative decor
* The expansive garden, with chairs scattered here and there
* The hiking trail (not flat!) that starts just across the road
* Pippa and Mufasa, the resident canines--friendly but not overbearing

One side note: Breakfast is from 8:30 to 9:00. We didn't mind, but if you're the type to sleep in, you might.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My partner and I recently stayed with Jeanne at Aasvoelkrans and we had a lovely relaxing weekend in Montagu. Jeanne was very helpful recommending restaurants and interesting spots to see during our stay.
I highly recommend Aasvoelkrans if you plan to visit the quiet little town of Montagu, Western Cape.

Keith and Dan

Room Tip: The last room in the row has a little lounge and TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithAdrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Nice clean accommodation with comfortable bed. Breakfast was good. Beautiful Garden.

Room Tip: Do not take the rooms next to stables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlErasmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Driving from Cape Town towards the Karoo desert you experience a tremendous nature and it's wonderful to be part thereof. But miles and miles further you ask yourself where to stay......we have been that fortunate to end up at Jeanne's place; not for a night as planned but extended our stay with another two nights purely based on the nice surroundings but especcially due to her hospitality and the possibility to really detach from the world in her little paradise!
Ivo & Amber

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvoAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Aasvoelkrans is one of the places we never miss out on during our annual trip to South Africa. Just been for our 8th stay and it just gets better and better. Beautiful garden blazing with colour and pool to relax in, delicious breakfasts presented in a most elegant way, delightful and very unusual rooms and the big plus of always a wonderful welcome from Jeanne who is the main reason of why it is such a special place

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchpoodle80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
191 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I wish I could rate this higher as Aasvoëlkrans is a wonderful site for a B&B and while very different from what you might find for decor from many B&B's it is quite interesting and entertaining. The grounds are well tended and there is a pool and a hiking trail directly across the road to enjoy. What I couldn't abide by and knocks the ranking down is the host/owner (Jeanne). She should not be running a B&B - end of discussion. Other reviewers have noted her demeanor, however as she hasn't had a break in 6+ years (ie a holiday from this B&B) she is clearly way overdue. As there were 6 of us together (which constituted 75% of the occupancy) we were commanded to all appear at breakfast together...so it was more like boot camp than a B&B. Requests for additional coffee were met by grimaces (cutting into the profit margin or just additional work could not be discerned) and please don't do anything more than download your e-mails as you might use up the monthly allocation of GBs.... In all the host/owner does little to make the stay enjoyable - however it is unforgettable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 72kingscc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.6 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
0.6 mi away
Squirrels Corner
Squirrels Corner
#14 of 27 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
0.5 mi away
Mimosa Lodge
Mimosa Lodge
#7 of 34 in Montagu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#3 of 27 in Montagu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aasvoelkrans Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aasvoelkrans Bed and Breakfast

Property: Aasvoelkrans Bed and Breakfast
Address: Montagu, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aasvoëlkrans is the name of this magnificent outcrop which travelers throughout the ages have encountered when passing through the Cogmans Kloof entrance to Montagu, on Route 62 in the Western Cape of South Africa. The Aasvoëlkrans Bed & Breakfast in Montagu provides guests with a very special experience. The spacious individual cottages are tastefully furnished and command magnificent views of the mountain range and the superb gardens. A wonderful breakfast can be enjoyed in the main house or on the patio. The owner Jeanne Alston is renowned for her displays of fresh flowers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing