We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pittoresque Guesthouse,with very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Oaks Guest House
Ranked #12 of 27 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed here two nights and also had our meals, breakfast and dinner in the Guesthouse.
Wendy is a great chef and the couple is really committed to there business.
The rooms are cozy and well equiped and have airco.
We recommand this place for a short stay in Montagu!!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aukje G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonber123, Owner at Four Oaks Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Thank you for the positive review it was great to host you and your husband at the guest house
Wendy and I are very happy to see you where comfortable and that you enjoyed our food
We hope to welcome you back when you are next in South Africa

Kind Regards
Simon & Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

The previous reviews reflect the place under the old management and we didn't stay there but had a lovely dinner the night we were in Montagu. Wendy and Simon had taken the place over just before Christmas and so were only in their second or theird week but if you are there, then would recommend a lunch or dinner there. It was very reasonably priced and we started in the adjacent small bar for a pre dinner g and t and a chat with Simon whose passion for his business was infectious. Wendy is the chef and we really enjoyed her food. We were the last ones there and Wendy and Simon took us back to the bar and we stayed chatting for another hour and it really allowed us to get to know a bit more about the South Africa now and in the past. Thanks to both of you and best of luck with the venture. Would heartily recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonber123, Owner at Four Oaks Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Hi

Thank you for the positive review, Yes Wendy and I are very passionate about our business and really enjoy being able to host people and share our passion for our country with them
I hope next time you are in the area you will also stay with us

Kind Regards
Simon & Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

What a wonderful weekend. Great room and even better personalised service from Linda. Thanks to you and all your staff for a great relaxing weekend, really great food and a warm and relaxing atmosphere. Looking forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aro8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Lovely little guesthouse with friendly, helpful staff. Great spot for a little chilled city break

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deranged_fairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

What a lovely stay we had at Four Oaks. Excellent fine dining experience, cosy pub and wine shop all beautifully appointed. Our room was comfortable with crisp clean linen, and tastefully decorated. Linda the owner and her staff were fantastic and we are already planning a second stay shortly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Really nice place. Friendly hosts. Stunning view. Won't stay anywhere else when I next visit!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jax747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Stayed here 3 years ago, had great food & enjoyed our visit to Montagu - lots to do. Having decided to revisit we were a little concerned to read some recent adverse reviews but went ahead anyway. The guest house/restaurant changed hands at theend of last year & we found the new owner, Linda, both charming & very helpful. We ate in the open courtyard area of the restaurant one evening & the food was excellent, as was the cooked breakfast each morning. Staff were cheerful & friendly & we had an enjoyable stay at very reasonable prices. Recommended for clean, adequate, 'no fuss' rooms & good food/service.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.2 mi away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
588 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Airlies Gastehuis
Airlies Gastehuis
#5 of 27 in Montagu
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#2 of 27 in Montagu
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
In Abundance Guest House
0.3 mi away
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
#7 of 27 in Montagu
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Oaks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Oaks Guest House

Address: 46 Lang Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range: £44 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Oaks Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simon and Wendy Bernstein own this wonderful guest house.The couple is becoming very well known for there hospitality and quality of the food. The couple believe THAT IT'S ABOUT THE FOOD Set in the picturesque village of Montagu on Route62, Four Oaks Guesthouse and Simply Delicious restaurant is housed in a historical monument dated 1855. The thatch roofed building offers 4 luxury en-suite rooms with air-conditioning,TV, free WIFI, tea tray , hairdryers and private entrances. The rooms lead onto a courtyard which is shaded by two 100-year-old Saffron pear trees. Guests have access to a private secluded garden and pool deck where guests can relax and admire the surrounding mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Four Oaks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing