We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise in Montagu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Oaks Guest House
Ranked #12 of 27 Montagu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Surprise in Montagu”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were surprised by the accommodation and level of detailed attention from Simon and Wendy in this historical house.
The guest house is located close to other businesses and popular restaurants, but it is also possible to have dinner in-house. The breakfast was served with lots of personal attention.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Phillip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonber123, Owner at Four Oaks Guest House, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Phillip

Thank you for the positive review
We take great pride owing the 3rd oldest building in Montagu and been able to share her with our guests. I'm happy to see you enjoyed your breakfast and hope to see you soon

Kind Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    43
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
61
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

What a super place to stay in Montagu. We were warmly welcomed by Simon and were soon joined by his delightful wife, Wendy and their little daughter Kaylee Anne.
The bedroom was comfortable and quiet, off the inner courtyard.
We met early in the evening for a drink in their bar which is decorated with interesting 'quotes' from people as diverse as Nelson Mandela to Marilyn Munroe. After a friendly chat about the local area and our travel plans, we ate a most delicious meal cooked by Wendy. The food was of the highest quality and presentation. The menu was limited and diverse and capable of adaptation. A good selection of wine, all at reasonable prices. Well worth a visit, we'd go again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonber123, Owner at Four Oaks Guest House, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Jenny

Thank you for your kind words we so glad you enjoyed your stay with us
I will pass the message onto Wendy that you enjoyed your meal
Wendy and I take great pride in our guest house and the food we serve and are so happy that your had a great time

Hope to see you soon

Kind Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fish Hoek, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Had a great three-day stay at Four Oaks and were well looked after by Wendy, Simon and little Kaylee who went out of their way to make us comfortable and especially my 89-year old mother. Wonderful food, wine and conversation. Centrally situated and within easy walking distance of all local historic sites and 'town' centre. Compliments to Simon and Wendy for their tasteful, but funky decor - updating heritage with modern touches. Looking forward to more of Wendy's superb cooking and baking - a little bird told me that she makes wonderful cakes...

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet as they face on to interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyDippnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonber123, Owner at Four Oaks Guest House, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hi Cathy

It was great to meet you, Kelvin and granny I so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
The same little bird will confirm that Wendy is a mean baker
We hope to see you soon and thank you for such a positive review

Kind Regards
Simon Wendy and Kaylee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Had such a lovely time at the Four Oaks with Wendy and Simon. The Food is to die for (especially the chocolate mousse) all home made too. The setting picturesque and just a wonderful homely family experience. Great value for money! Boasts some of the better wines in the region too. Highly recommend it to anyone popping through this quaint little town.
Thanks again to the Bernstein's for a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamalam27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonber123, Owner at Four Oaks Guest House, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Good day

Thank you for your review on Four Oaks. We are happy to read you enjoyed your time with us
Wendy has just made a new batch of mousse and this time she added a little surprise its better than the last lot
We hope to see you soon at the guest house

Kind Regards
Simon & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uitenhage
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Fantastic evening spent at Four Oaks - nice place, nice people and we had a great stay. A home away from home. Supper and Breakfast both outstanding and the Guest House is well situated and easy to find - thanks John & Riny Astbury

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonber123, Owner at Four Oaks Guest House, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hi

Thank you for the review it was great to meet you and your wife I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon at the guest house

Kind Regards
Simon Wendy & Pumpkin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinneberg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Thank you for some wonderfull food. we enjoyed learning to know the family. The wine served was exellent and at very favorable prices. Simon was very helpfull telling us where to go. Would go there again






  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anders M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonber123, Owner at Four Oaks Guest House, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Hi

It great to read that you enjoyed your stay
I will pass on the message to Wendy that you enjoyed her food
It was wonderful to also meet your you and your partner

If you should return to SA we would love to host you again

Regards
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way down to the Garden Route. Simon explained to us the circumstances of him having only recently taken over the running of this lovely guest house and then proceeded to make our stay extremely welcoming and comfortable. Simon is clearly very passionate about the guest house and it really felt that he would go out of his way to ensure that guests and diners were having a lovely time.

We also had the pleasure of eating dinner and Wendy's cooking was delicious. A very impressive menu and equally impressive (and diverse) wine list.

I would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MRB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonber123, Owner at Four Oaks Guest House, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Hi

It was great to host you and your wife "hope she has got used to her new title"
I glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and the meals
i hope that you will return on your next trip to Africa

Regards
Simon & Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.1 mi away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#2 of 27 in Montagu
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airlies Gastehuis
Airlies Gastehuis
#5 of 27 in Montagu
328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Secret Garden Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Squirrels Corner
Squirrels Corner
#13 of 27 in Montagu
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
#10 of 27 in Montagu
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Oaks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Oaks Guest House

Property: Four Oaks Guest House
Address: 46 Lang Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Oaks Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simon and Wendy Bernstein own this wonderful guest house.The couple is becoming very well known for there hospitality and quality of the food. The couple believe THAT IT'S ABOUT THE FOOD Set in the picturesque village of Montagu on Route62, Four Oaks Guesthouse and Simply Delicious restaurant is housed in a historical monument dated 1855. The thatch roofed building offers 4 luxury en-suite rooms with air-conditioning,TV, free WIFI, tea tray , hairdryers and private entrances. The rooms lead onto a courtyard which is shaded by two 100-year-old Saffron pear trees. Guests have access to a private secluded garden and pool deck where guests can relax and admire the surrounding mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Four Oaks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing