We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalk & Cheese”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lang Fang International Hotel
Ranked #8 of 167 Hotels in Langfang
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chalk & Cheese”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I have stayed in this hotel many times since 2005 when it was smaller than it is now and no one spoke English. Few years ago (2008 or 9) it had cooperation with a foreign enterprise (not sure which) where Building B was erected.
Building A is the old hotel and rooms are now little tatty and out dated since 2005 the carpets are extremely dirty and cigarette burnt and i believe all rooms in Building A allow smoking (not sure about B). At the cost of 6800rmb a night for a reasonably big room with breakfast you cannot grumble. Building B is a new build and some who reviewed must have stayed there where the rooms are over 1000rmb per night and I can guess are done to high standard level. Unfortunately I have never stayed there my business trip local clients always chose the cheaper option. Coming during the winter period it gets extremely cold (below Zero) in Lang Fang the poor quality of the windows does not help as the heating is blasting in the rooms just keep place warm.
The breakfast now is at Building B and the spread is not bad pre-2005 it was mainly local style i rarely ate it now selection caters for western palettes. Also there is Japanese and Western Café but little pricey for what is served but in China Western food is expensive, experiences of 5 years living in Shanghai.
There is lot of leisure facilities bowling, swimming, gym, etc. I have only managed to use the gym which does only have limited equipment. If local guys are in there the TV is usually on full volume on a local channel. First come basis I guess (there is some Western channels now like CNN).
Even the seats are quite dirty and torn really need to be replaced. I would avoid the coffee from the lobby girl around 500rmb for a ready mixed Nescafe sachet well that’s what it tasted like. I only had it as I got to hotel too early to check in.
Also experience from my Japanese colleague who had a massage and was given a coke asked if it was free was told yes only to appear on his bill for 100rmb (£10 approx) very expensive Coke that was not inclusive of massage. If that was language issue I am not sure but 100rmb a coke I would avoid if you do not know the pricing. I think a Coke in China from local store only cost 10rmb or not far off.
The staff are OK they try their best to accommodate.
Only advice would be check which building you book the 5 star rating it has I do not believe is for building A.

Room Tip: Ensure you have the right Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    52
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This hotel was very very nice. The furniture was very high quality, the service of workers was very good and I thought there was a great variety of facilities. I actually had a wedding to attend in the Conference Center next to the hotel and it was very convenient. The breakfast was very good too (there was sushi).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIFESUCKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salt pond village
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Wonderful hotel, great breakfast, swimming pool - just don't expect to swim laps unless early in day, lots of folks learning to swim on weekend. bring your bathing cap! rooms are excellent. great showers, bathroom, marble, marble and more marble. Xie xie for a wonderful 2 days in LangFang!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This is China. A good 4-5 star hotel which anywhere else would be more than USD 200/- costs around USD 75/- with a sumptious breakfast thrown in. China has tons of such hotels and it is perhaps what makes China such a strong manufacturing hub. Nomads like me need such hotels to survive in this cut throat global business. And this hotel throws in more than sufficient creature comfort. It is quite grandoise which is again so typical of China and its new found prowess which it flaunts. Bathrooms are large with a row of accessories (not just soaps and shampoos but combs, scissors, buds, brushes and anything you have forgotten home or need urgently). Beds are soft with a welcome tray. Unfortunately I stayed just a night (and have also stayed here previously). I am sure many such hotels will come my way as I make my way accross the manufacturing belt of China. Global economies maybe slowing but not Chinese hotels and their hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking room in Chinese. If you cannot smoke make gestures and pretend if you have a smo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Beautiful room and wonderful people. Executive floor. This would be an $800 dollar room in N.Y.C.. In addition to the usual spa/swimming pool you can actually go bowling.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigowl300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2009

this hotel was a great place to stay and everyone was wonderful. food was also wonderful. everything was good. i rate this a AAA++

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spottedhawk90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

very nice and luxurious place.
BUILDING B!!! must be requested

price could be negociated before

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olrouillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langfang hotels
0.0 mi away
Arcadia International Hotel
Arcadia International Hotel
#7 of 167 in Langfang
25 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wanda Realm Langfang
Wanda Realm Langfang
#1 of 167 in Langfang
107 reviews
2.7 mi away
Xinyi Qixiu Hotel
Xinyi Qixiu Hotel
#2 of 167 in Langfang
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Huifu Hotel
#40 of 167 in Langfang
13 reviews
3.8 mi away
Langfang Golden Elephant Golf Hotel
0.4 mi away
Jinjiang Inn Langfang Xinkai Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lang Fang International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lang Fang International Hotel

Property: Lang Fang International Hotel
Address: No.81 Peace Road (Jia Heping Rd), Langfang 065000, China
Region: China > Hebei > Langfang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 167 Hotels in Langfang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lang Fang International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Lang Fang International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing