We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Guomao Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guomao Hotel
Ranked #3 of 132 Hotels in Zhangjiagang
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Good location for our conference but A little difficult to find - located behind the Guomao Hotel. Rooms clean and comfortable - strong wi-fi connection. Staff were pleasant and the food was good quality (though the beer available in the buffet was not replenished quick enough).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mlarsen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    66
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
4
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I booked in Gumao Hotel but I was given room in their new building just back to the main building. The room was good and spacious but main building is better. New building is very quite and not very impressive. I refused to stay in new building but they said then they have no room for me. So I was forced to take room in new building. Staff was not very polite. The Italian restaurant in front was very good. The health club was very good but swimming pool was just OK.
Breakfast is also just OK.

Room Tip: Stay in main hotel, they have a new building at back too but don't opt for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKBirla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

it is really good hotel including very good variety of food in breakfast for Indians. rooms are specious with all facilities. staff is very friendly. they provide good connectivity of Wi Fi free of cost. they provide good currency exchange rate as well as compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vishalchannawar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benghazi, Libya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I stayed in August 18.2013 for 11 nights for businss trip. This hotal is very good check in staff
dont ask me to open a deposit. Excellent service great rooms the hotel breakfast buffet is quite
good. Free high speed internet. Bed very soft and comfortable. very polite staff they had
excellent housekeeping. I will definitely return to this citey and stay in this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank algowarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a sports event in April-May 2011. I didn't expect so much from an industrial town 100 miles away from Shanghai, though this facility really surprised me. Elegance and cleanness are discernible from the entrance door, and courtesy is the staff's motto. Besides, everyone from the taxi guy to the chef speaks a good English.
The rooms are very clean, wide and comfortable; if needed, the cleaning service is also available more than once a day by simply pressing a button.
The buffet restaurant at the first floor is well supplied for breakfast, lunch and dinner for every taste (even Western...), anyway I suggest to give local dishes a shot: they're genuine and so tasty.
A nice café bar is available at the ground floor. I tried to ask for an espresso to feel a little less homesick - worst choice! ;-) cocktails are OK anyway.
The town center is reachable with a 20 minutes walk or with a taxi ride (public service), which is available 24/7 and costs just 10 to 12 RMB per person.
Internet connection is available in every room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Hotel well established with Grand Chinese,Korean,Japanese,western restaurents ,bar,spa,fitness centre,lounges in same or surrounding buildings.Must be a gathering place for foreigners in Zhangjiagang to meet/eat etc.
Rooms at new wing-50m walk from main/old lobby entrance, is excellent-modern,clean,comfortable,good size.New wing has own check in and drive entrance.
Corridor seems dark as they use sensor which only light up infront of each room as you approach.
Lots of parking on THE main street of Zhangjiagang.Breakfast good selection in nice restaurent.

Zhangjiagang seems to be the best/richest 2nd tier cities in China.Still a distance to the Yangtze river though from town.Pleasant city.

Room Tip: New Traders Wing much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familyvaluetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

This is my second trip to Zhangjiagang and previously too I had stayed in this hotel .. but somehow I missed to review the hotel.

This hotel is very conveniently located, the rooms are nice and spacious and have free wi-fi too in the rooms. Breakfast is big with lot of options. For odd hours, they even have tea and coffee station at the reception all the time (complimentary). There are nice restaurants around the hotel.

Within the hotel itself there is a spa where I took very relaxing foot massage. The rates are very good keeping in mind its a five star hotel. There is a swimming pool too which is heated during winter time for all the heath freaks.

For all the travellers to Zhangjiagang, this hotel is very convenient and full value of money. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Aditya_manaksia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zhangjiagang hotels
Shazhou Hotel
#11 of 132 in Zhangjiagang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Xinyuan Holiday Hotel
Xinyuan Holiday Hotel
#16 of 132 in Zhangjiagang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Hanting Inns (Zhangjiagang Walki...
#18 of 132 in Zhangjiagang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guomao Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guomao Hotel

Property: Guomao Hotel
Address: No.42 Renmin Middle Road, Tangqiao Town, Zhangjiagang 215600, China
Region: China > Jiangsu > Zhangjiagang
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 132 Hotels in Zhangjiagang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Guomao Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Guomao Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing