We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not somewhere I would recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bayu Emas Apartments
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We booked 4 nights in a two bedroom apartment through Agoda at an amazing price. We knew it was not going to be a fancy place. The pictures showed a clean, comfortable apartment with cooking facilities. We were amazed at what we could get for the price. After an afternoon flight and an hour taxi ride from the airport, it was close to 7pm when we arrived. The complex did not look as inviting as we would have liked. It had the look of a housing estate.We were dropped off at the gate by our taxi driver and directed where to go by the security guard at the gate. We wandered over to the building but could not see where we were supposed to go. There was no signage and the office in the complex was closed. Back to the security guard and he told us to go to a specific apartment on the second floor. Not sure if this was our apartment or not we did as directed and went to the second floor. We showed the man who answered the door, our booking slip but were informed it was not one of his, we would have to phone the number on the sheet. He then shut the door without offering the use of a phone. As we did not have a phone it was back again to the security guard who called the number for us. The number was answered by a very brief answering machine message. I left a message, but without having a number to call back on it was hard to see what I would gain from it. We then wondered where we would be spending the night and started to contemplate our options when the man from the second floor apartment came down and asked how had we got on. Upon hearing that we had no success, he told us that he had an apartment that he could rent us (at a much higher rate than we had originally paid) as it was getting late and our kids were starting to worry we agreed to rent the apartment for the night and would try and sort out our situation. The apartment we were given was clean, comfortable and appeared to be well maintained. We emailed Agoda from a nearby internet cafe and had dinner. Next morning, we checked with Agoda and while they apologised for the inconvenience, they offered no solutions for the rest of our stay. Apartments in the complex were being advertised on the Agoda website for less than we were paying and we were almost tempted to book another one until we found a nice hotel about 20 minutes away that offered breakfast (Naza Talyya - see other review). From what I gather this complex consists of privately owned apartments with various managers. The location was great, it was only a few minutes walk to the beach and as I have said, the apartment was comfortable but the run-around we received on arrival left a bitter taste and I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lorra209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Bayu Emas Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

Great location with Hard Rock Cafe infront of this apartment. Price is average, depends on how many room you stay. Swimming pool available and clean. Parking is safe with security guard at night. Walking distance to beach area. Old style apartment but clean. Suitable fir grouping or family vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Telaris Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Although its building and the apartment are very old, it very near to Batu Ferringi Beach. You only need to take 5-10 minutes walking distance to beach and it located opposite of Hard Rock and Bayview Hotel. The price of accommodation is valuable and cheap. Strongly recommend to those travellers with group. You can book thru Booking.com or contact the owner directly, 0164939215 (Menzan @ Bayu Emas Apartment)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickyjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Our friend was given a voucher for her birthday for a 2 night stay at one of these apartments and she gave it to us as she had her own house in Penang. We stayed in December 2009.

It was so terrible that we checked out first thing the next morning and chose to pay for another hotel rather than take advantage of the voucher. We would've not even stayed one night had we not been too tired after an 8 hour drive to look for alternative accommodation.

The entire complex looked really run down, which would've been ok had the interior been fine which was not the case. The furniture was old, many of the wall plugs didn't work, the water pressure was low, and there was even a dead cockroach in the lamp cover of the bathroom light. Everything was old and didn't look clean.

We wrote to the management but never received any reply.

If you are used to a certain level of cleanliness and comfort, don't ever stay here. Across the road is the Hard Rock Hotel. Along Gurney there's the G Hotel both of which are very nice. This one is truly appalling.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mrsfootloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The apartment is really old and the interior was not well kept. I don't think that the apartment is meant for short-term stay/visitors. My family and I kept getting questioned by the guards because we don't look like the regular residence. Most of the staff that we met were very unfriendly and rude.

My family and I was really disappointed with this apartment. We should have book rooms from nearby hotels which looked to be in very much better condition and friendlier.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LengLC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

From the outside, the building looks old.. could use a little paint job though.. but the room condition is impressive.. clean, furniture is well taken care off.. the water pressure is good (stayed at the Block 10C, on the third floor). the beach is just 5 minute walk from the hotel. all n all it's a comfortable place at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Need to book early, the property is popular during weekends and holidays. On the outside looks pretty run down and old but neat and clean. The rooms looks many times better than the outside. Very clean and nice. Air-conditioning is old but does the job. Toilets clean and towels clean. Functional, clean and affordable.

Room Tip: Choose on on the higher floors and away from the swimming pool.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Soulmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
1.0 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,741 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,463 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayu Emas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayu Emas Apartments

Address: Jalan Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: £16 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bayu Emas Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayu Emas Apartments is a Freehold Apartments situated at Batu ferringhi, Penang's foremost beach location. Bayu Emas Apartments is specially designed to cater for both long and short-staying guests, families, honeymoon couples and holiday-makers who want nice, clean and comfortable accommodation, with all the trimmings of a proper home located at No. 10A - 10C, Jalan Batu Ferringhi, 11100 Malaysia in Penang, just a few minutes ride to Teluk Bahang Rapid Penang Bus Hub.​Completed in 1993, it comprises of 128 units and is close to Tanjung Bungah Rapid Penang Bus Hub.​Facilities in Bayu Emas Apartments​Facilities at Bayu Emas Apartments include parking, playground, with gated swimming pool and 24 hour security. ​Amenities near Bayu Emas Apartments​Bayu Emas Apartments is located directly opposite Bayview Resort and Hard Rock Hotel.​With the sunny beach a mere 150 meters away, this accommodation offers not only fun-filled activities on the beach and also nature walks along the track up to the cool, clear natural waterfall. Bayu Emas also offers easy access to restaurants, hawker food centres, nightspots and the popular Batu Ferringhi night market.Taxi Stand is located just outside Bayu Emas Apartments and several bus services are available within reasonable distance to Bayu Emas Apartments. Residents can ride down to the nearby KASHMIR SILK PALACE , BENZER SILK HOUSE , BEACH CORNER SEAFOOD , EDEN SEAFOOD for amenities such as Apparel Store, Seafood and more.​There is a Police Station (Balai Polis Batu Feringghi) just within 800 meters away from Bayu Emas Apartment. (Directions in Google Map)Bayu Emas Apartments is within walking distance to schools such as, International School of Penang (Uplands) and SJK(C) Pai Chai.The beaches of Batu Ferringhi and Teluk Bahang• Monkey Beach• Teluk Bahang Fishing Village• Chin Farm Waterwall Park• Penang Butterfly Farm• Penang State Forestry Arboretum• Penang Tropical Fruit Farm• Penang Batik Factory• Tropical Spice Garden• Restaurants, nightspots, curio shops and watersports ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bayu Emas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayu Emas Apartments Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Bayu Emas Apartments Penang, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing