We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magic 1

Magic 1
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had a meal at magic one. Service was not what we often experienced in Penang, not overly friendly or helpful. Food was OK but not as good as some of the hawker stalls and relatively pricey for Penang. There is so much choice in Penang we did choose not to return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaP08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    60
    24
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We ate here as a family based on the last few reviews. However, we must have come on a bad night as the meals really weren't that tasty. The children were pleased with their kids meals although the juices were a bit sour for kids tastes.

Helpful?
Thank Cadbury1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet place but pretty good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The place always looks empty but the food is really nice. Average to.high prices. We enjoyed it and ate there a couple of times :-)

Helpful?
Thank Chrixzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Brilliant! What did you like about it?the food is good ,but order your starter then your main meal or you may not have finished your starter then your main meal arrives at your table,like most restaurant the drink is bit pricey but your on holiday

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We had avoided this restaurant because it always seemed to be empty. What a mistake! Fancying a change from the excellent street foods, we decided to go for satay and steaks. The food was delicious and there is a very good choice of Eastern and western dishes. Service, is impeccable - very friendly and attentive but not intrusive. On Saturday night, shortly after we arrived, it was full of locals - always a good sign - and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We will definitely return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Scouseandspouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magic 1 also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 

Been to Magic 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing