We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Fantastic swimming pools, friendly staff, excellent rooms - suggest a higher floor overlooking the sea. Food and drink within the hotel is pricey, but there are many local eateries close by.
One downside is that breakfast seating is over crowded and it is a struggle to get to the buffet tables at peak hours
Overall - would return again & again - for the relaxing atmosphere around the whole Hotel and surrounding area (except at breakfast time!!)

Room Tip: High Floor overlooking the sea - quieter and more scenic than the main road and shopping area to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang, Colleague at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Frank B,

Thank you so much for your review of our resort. We are glad that you had an overall pleasant stay with us.

Breakfast tends to be busy especially when the resort is experiencing high occupancy. Our breakfast crew are
on duty should you need assistant with the table.

I hope to welcome you back to the Golden Sands, in the the near future so that we can offer you a more befitting experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Golden Sands Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,626 - 1,632 of 3,217 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

This hotel was fabulous. The rooms are spacious and clean and the hotel are very good at keeping them tidy. The staff are very friendly. The breakfast buffet has so much variety it's wonderful.
The location is alos fabulous- the night markets are right outside and the street food is only a few steps away.
They also provide a bus into town which is great to do all your shopping. Just make sure you book your spot in advance!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuntieLaura88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

This is a Hotel well situated to the night markets on Batu Feringhi the hotel itself is extremely busy it has a great Swimming pool suiting children and adults alike the only downside is the price of food and drinks in the hotel are a tad expensive the staff are extremely friendly and helpful but beware the. tour operators as they will charge more than you might expect 41/2 stars

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Peter3511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang, Colleague at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Peter3511,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our resort. We have taken note of your comments with regards to our food and beverage prices. We do hope that you
will take advantage of our daily Happy Hour prices in the near future when drinks go for a discounted price. We also offer special deals for our weekly buffets.

Please do "like" our Facebook page at: https://www.facebook.com/GSH.Penang so that we can keep you updated on our latest food and beverage promotions.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort soon.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Golden Sands Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had just spent 10 days in Bangkok for a family wedding and were looking for a place to rest after such a busy time away but we feel this hotel, as great as it is, was not quite what we were looking for. This hotel caters greatly for families with children and we saw many families having a great time but for us with only one teenager we found it too busy. The breakfast restaurant was very busy so the next couple of days we got up earlier to beat this. The hotel is in a great location right on the beach and each night there is market stalls set up right outside the front gate, They sell some different things to other markets so this is quite refreshing. There are many good restaurants in walking distance from the hotel and a taxi to the airport is about an hour and cost 70MR.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not connecting with another room, this can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank meatm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang, Colleague at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear meatm8,

Thank you for staying with us and for you kind comments with regards to resort. We are glad that you had a wonderful time staying with us. We tend to get busy especially during the Malaysian holidays.

We hope that you will find time to stay with us again during a less busy time. We look forward to that day.

Thank you and regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Golden Sands Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My second visit to this hotel(first was 20 years ago). Visited as a family group with 2 teenagers age 13 and 15. Still a great hotel with fantastic grounds. Very busy with families with small children, who seem well catered for.Grounds large enough to find your own space, but if I was travelling without children would probably choose a different hotel. Our children found plenty to entertain themselves and it felt really safe for them to walk around at night on their own which gave them a real sense of adventure/independence.Great choice at breakfast buffet but very busy at this time of year with guests from the Middle East which made the experience a bit of a "bun fight" at times. Much better when the hotel opened a second breakfast outlet(Sigi's). All staff very welcoming and seem genuinely pleased to serve you. Overall a great place to visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on road side of hotel can be noisy due to local mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mark f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Golden Sands Resort at Batu Ferringhi is a great place to relax and unwind from the daily work grind. I went there to chill out and succeeded. The accommodation is very good, the food is great catering for all cuisines, with special feature nights to suit all tastes. The night markets are a shopper's heaven. Great value as well.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor ocean view room for best views and quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We recently just completed a family trip with our stay in Golden Sands. I don't expect too much as I understand that this hotel is a bit old. Upon arrival, we went to check in. The check in counter was quite small and the queuing system was not very clear. The receptionist did not have smiles in her face and she seems to be a trainee or so and went through lot of procedures and we still get the rooms. (we have around 11 persons, booking 6 rooms together). Then another lady served us and she said that only some rooms are available while the others are not (it was already after 4pm.....) She seeems to have difficulty to explain the reason why. Finally the front desk manager came and she explained that it's because they want to accomodate us in the same floor and thus cannot give us rooms all together. We then told them no need to do so, we can be of different floors and finally we got the rooms. it was almost 45min to one hour for the check in......

And when I went into my room, there was a letter addressing to another guests!!!!! I really did not expect that for a five star hotel.....

When we went to the breakfast the other morning, there were so many people there and some of them did not queue. The service is just so so and the hotel was so busy....

The hotel is very close to the beach and night market. So the location is quite good. The hotel also have shuttle to george town which is also quite nice.

Room Tip: choose executive sea view rooms, really nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Suet_Yu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang, Colleague at Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Suet_Yu,

Thank you for taking the time to share details of your recent stay with us. I must apologise for the experience encountered during your check-in.

Please rest assured that I will address this issues with our Director of Rooms for improvements. I will also highlight the error of the letter.
Further care will be taken to ensure that letters are addressed to the correct guests.

Breakfast tends to be very busy especially during Malaysia holidays. We are disappointed to know that some guests did not queue up for
their breakfast. We will certainly highlight this to our outlet manager at the Garden Café to ensure better control during breakfast.

Again, we do greatly appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Golden Sands Resort in the near future.


Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Golden Sands Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,622 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,756 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.1 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,479 reviews
6.9 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La

Address: Batu Feringgi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia (Formerly Shangri-la's Golden Sands Resort)
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: £76 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La first commenced operations in October 1979. It has won numerous awards and recognition as a family- and kids-friendly resort. As such, it enjoys the reputation as the preferred resort among families on holiday. This 4-star resort on Batu Feringgi Beach is filled with facilities for dining, leisure and recreation that will surely keep any multi-generational family happily occupied. Adventure Zone, Shangri-La's unique family entertainment center With 387 guestrooms and suites that boast views of either the verdant hills or azure sea, the hotel caters to the needs of individuals, groups and families. Some room types even feature Murphy pull-down beds and connecting doors. Childcare services are available, allowing adults on holiday with their family to enjoy some private time away from their children. At the Kids' Club, which is based in the Adventure Zone's dry play park, children are kept entertained from morning until evening and provided with regular meals and break times. The Adventure Zone is the biggest indoor play park in Penang, offering a myriad of play structures, activity rooms and entertainment options. Here, children can enjoy video screenings and visits from the resort's mascots. At our mini water park, children and toddlers can interact safely, playing on the splash pad, which has a safe floor surface and includes many water features, such as showers and tipping buckets. In addition, they will enjoy racing down the water slides. Holidaymakers can stroll around the resort grounds, which feature extensive manicured gardens and landscaped open spaces. Guests can also enjoy sunbathing and lounging by the pool and in the garden area. The Cool Lounge serves as a transit area for incoming and outgoing guests, and is a cool space where guests may read, surf the Net and enjoy sandwiches and pastries alongside coffee, tea and fruit juice. At Garden Café and Sigi's Bar & Grill by the Beach, children below 12 years old that are accompanied by one paying adult can eat for free. In addition, an outdoor Jacuzzi in the garden and two swimming pools with water slides are available. The resort also boasts a par-3 golf course for those that enjoy golf. Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La well-equipped gymnasium awaits fitness enthusiasts. For those who wish to spend their time productively while on holiday, there are many daily activities, such as workout classes, cooking classes, craft making courses and visits to the George Town World Heritage Zone (by complimentary shuttle). The popular Batu Feringgi Night Bazaar beckons those who enjoy a stroll after dinner. Here, great bargains on apparel, novelty items, souvenirs and art can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Batu Ferringhi
Golden Sands Resort By Shangri-La Penang, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing