We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as usual”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Co Durham
Level Contributor
102 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We have visited this hotel repeatedly and it never fails to impress. The Rasa Wing is well worth the extra cost, mainly due to the Rasa Wing pool, high tea and pre-dinner drinks/canapés The rooms are nice, but are now in need of some refurbishment, although the TVs have been replaced with new flat screen ones. What makes this hotel stand out from the rest is the level of customer service; it is amazing, and is to a standard I have yet to experience anywhere else. Mr Chan delights all who visit the Rasa Wing and the attention to detail and anticipation of need is second to none. Breakfast in the Ferringgi Grill is a treat and again the service is excellent. All of the staff here are a credit to the Shangri La group and hotels in the West could learn an awful lot with regards customer service from this establishment.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tomboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,333
    679
    203
    65
    46
See reviews for
1,082
1,558
92
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

Excellent service throughout from the moment my family and I stepped into the resort. We ushered into our room and given a short intro to our room. We were provided with two queen sized beds plus a day bed without extra charges. Buffet dinner at spice market was fabulous - wide selection fron Indian, Japanese, Chinese to local cuisine. My kids enjoyed the mouth watering chocolate dip. The staff made every effort to ensure that we felt welcomed and all our needs were attended to. From the doorman to the bellboy, from the receptionist to the f&b manager. Our next stay will be with Shangrila!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RandallNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The staff are extremely friendly, the food is great, the grounds are beautiful and the rooms are five star, at least for our Rasa Wing stay. Meals are expensive but there's a great variety and the Rasa Wing privileges include free breakfast at the grill, high tea and evening hors d'oeuvres. Also the food court (Long Beach?) that's a 10 min walk down the beach past Shangri La's other property Golden Sands is great for safe clean local food. Overall an enjoyable and relaxing stay. We had a car so never took advantage of the shuttle bus service, but I can see why the hotel has a lot of long term stay guests as you really never have to leave the resort and its surroundings.

Room Tip: Rasa Wing Premium rooms (with the balcony pool) are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sting800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed in a Garden Wing room in March 2012 and we truly enjoyed the experience. The rooms are spacious and very clean, the bed is huge and very comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent every morning and staff very helful.
What I enjoyed the most was sitting in the beach bar to enjoy the view. The staff here could not have been more attentive.
If you are in Penang, do not miss visiting Georgetown, there is an great night market where you can have an excellent dinner!

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susibom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My husband and I just stayed at the Shangri La and found it very relaxing to have such great facilities and restaurants, so no need to go trekking about.

Highlights:
1. 2 for 1 buffet dinner at Spice Market on Mondays and Tuesdays, great roasts, seafood, local food, and amazing desserts (fav was the fresh made crepes). Cost is normally about RM120 per person but of course you dine with one person free. Great value. Also wine list was very reasonable with average bottle costing about RM120, we opted for the Peter Lehmann Eight Songs which is a great bottle and was only RM350.
2. Foot therapists patrol the pool area offering 45 minute foot rubs for RM90, great value and very relaxing, we had Yen Yen and she was wonderful.
3. Massage in the hotel was still about RM300 like other countries so we opted for the beach vendors in front of Golden Sands, great value at RM60 for an hour.
4. Very helpful staff, brought us on request chilled champagne glasses, DVD player and a razor which was needed, no cost for anything.
5. 5 minutes walk out the resort to the right is the Long Beach markets, handbags, local art and knock off DVDs are great (each DVD is RM4). The food hawker centre is about 200m through the markets, great local food. It worked out about RM35 per person for a feast.
6. Wine tasting at the Lounge Bar is every day for 4 glasses it costs RM22. Great wines too.

The hotel itself is a bit dated, but we can look past that because of the great service, food, and everything was comfortable, it just looks old, not feels old.

Recommend for 3-4 nights, not much else to do in Penang, Georgetown wasn't too exciting so we would say just come and enjoy the resort!

Room Tip: Go for the sea view, it is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieBizTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in the older (garden) wing, but the room was perfectly fine, well kept and furnished.
The hotel was quiet with few guests around, which was nice.

We spent most of the time at the beautiful pool area, which our son enjoyed most. The main pool is large and has several different areas (deep, shallow, bubbles, etc.) The kids pool is nice as well. Almost the entire pool area is shaded by large trees, which is great for hot and sunny days.

The beach is also nice and very long, but the sand is rather coarse. Only few people dared to go into the water, given the pounding waves and "jellyfish" warning signs...

The breakfast buffet is huge, with everything from Western, Chinese, Malay, Indian, Japanese style, both hot and cold dishes, and so on. It was already included in our room rate.

The dinner buffet is very pricey (I think around MYR 200 per person), so we didn't try it. The one in the other Shangri-La property next door is a little cheaper, but also didn't look enticing enough.
However, there are a few restaurant options on the other side of the street (also not cheap by Malaysian standards, but more reasonable). Additionally, there is a regular hawker center not far from the hotel if you walk further down that street.

The hotels provides a free shuttle into town; however, it runs only 4 times a day, and it ends quite early (5pm or so), so you need a taxi if you want to go there for dinner. The other problem with going into town is traffic. It took us almost an hour for what was supposed to be a 20-minute trip, so we only did it once...

Overall, the stay was very good value, at least for the rate we paid (less than USD 200/night).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SW-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 7 nights and enjoyed every minute. The service is unbelievable, thank you Gooda in the Penang bar who remembered our order every night at happy hour, and was so friendly and chatty. The staff are all so attentive and friendly. The rooms a great size and always so clean. The food and breakfast in particular was great, could not believe the choices and quality. We could find no fault and will certainly look first at other Shangri La resorts for our next holiday. A great place to be spoiled and pampered, the best way to relax!
Galvin family, Melbourne Australia.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chexz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,116 reviews
6.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Address: Batu Ferringhi Main Road | Kampung Tanjung Huma, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa has a sense of history, place and tradition. A 5 star resort located in Batu Feringgi, Penang Malaysia. The sprawling gardens of the resort are ideal for team building exercises, outdoor meetings and allow you to enjoy your meetings and conventions in a tropical setting. Exchanging lifetime vows under our sheltering rain trees will make your wedding unforgettable. Also, nothing creates more wonderful memories than a perfect day in our beautiful gardens. Rasa Sayang resort and Spa is also connected to George Town via our complimentary daily shuttle. With so much cultural history and vibrant street art, it's no surprise that Penang's capital, George Town, has been designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Ebookers, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing