We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Goingback for 25th Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Goingback for 25th Time”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We love this hotel. The staff are wonderful and no request is impossible. They see what we need before we do! I wonder if all the folk who talk about 'tired' hotels get their own houses redecorated as often as they think hotels should be!
We have a hill view room and it is neither dark, nor noisy and as for the complained who wanted two views from his room.'.is he in his room so often that it matters.
We feel so lucky to be able to go there especially with all the poor folk who haven't enough to eat let alone enough to pay for a holiday like this.

Room Tip: Don't go to the top floor.. ,heavy rain in the night can be noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,298
    675
    203
    64
    46
See reviews for
1,067
1,541
91
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (848)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Have just spent a week at the Rasa Sayang attending a scientific conference. The whole experience was faultless, and nothing was too much trouble for them. All the staff were most friendly and went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. The food was fantastic and copious, the breakfasts especially good!! Loved the ambience of the Spice Market, and the 1hr massage at the Chi health centre was perfect relaxation. Looking forward to the next visit!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

While the service and food was good, and the hotel in general is clean, there were leaks in the covering between the pool and the building (when it rains) and the staff had to put warning signs and constantly mop through out the area. The cover in our private garden area had the same problem. The decor, furniture and bathroom in the guest room was clean but out of date.

There seems to be a difference in the staff competency between the Rasa Sayang wing and the Garden suite. The Rasa Sayang staff is more able to anticipate the guests needs while a few of the Garden suite wing staff seem to be on a another planet when you interact with them or ask them for something.

We tried breakfast at both the Ferenggi Bar and Grill as well as the Spice Market cafe. The service was better and the food was a little more "delicate" at the Ferenggi Bar and Grill (there was also a semi buffet). At Spice Market, the buffet there offered more selection but the food was not as refined.

We liked the daily complimentary HIgh Tea and Happy Hour at the Rasa Sayang wing. The service and food was very good.

For the price we paid, staying at the Rasa Sayang wing, the actual hardware could have been better for better value.

The review is a bit mixed because I found the level of service noticeably different so it could be very good to excellent or it could be so so depending and where you are being served.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Iris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear IrisH

Thank you for your review and constructive comments.

We regret that some level of our service are not meeting your expectation. We like to discuss this further with your through email. Please contact us directly at communications.rsr@shangri-la.com.

Again, thank you for your constructive comments.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hotel staff are so friendly and welcoming, our room is on the seventh floor facing the sea. Our room is spacious and the room is clean and serviced twice daily with clean linen, fruit and water.
The pool area is so lovely and relaxing. The grounds are so clean and beautiful, a very relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Very helpful staff, excellent location, delicious food, beautiful view, and a top class spa.

We really enjoyed our time there. You must try the food served at the outside bar; it is amazing. The garden is beautiful and so are the swimming pools.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aldraim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Rasa Wing Premier Room. The room waslike a suite. The room was facing the garden. From the room we could see the beach as well. Our room was located at the 5th floor. The room was spacious and clean and equipped with all the amenities. Quiet and was the best place to go for stressful holiday. The staff were attentive and excellent service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ting C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last year.

Best food I have ever eaten in a hotel. The buffet is ludicrous. Fantastic.

Oustrips the other 5* hotels we have stayed at. Unbelievable hotel.

Downside is that the ocean is filthy dirty. That is out of the hands of the hotel.

I cant wait to go back....

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyAmyBiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear TonyAmyBiggles:

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our resort.

We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are aware of our sea condition and we will certainly convey your comments to the local authorities for further action.

We hope to welcome you back again to our resort in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,955 reviews
0.8 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,458 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
7.1 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Address: Batu Ferringhi Main Road | Kampung Tanjung Huma, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa has a sense of history, place and tradition. A 5 star resort located in Batu Feringgi, Penang Malaysia. The sprawling gardens of the resort are ideal for team building exercises, outdoor meetings and allow you to enjoy your meetings and conventions in a tropical setting. Exchanging lifetime vows under our sheltering rain trees will make your wedding unforgettable. Also, nothing creates more wonderful memories than a perfect day in our beautiful gardens. Rasa Sayang resort and Spa is also connected to George Town via our complimentary daily shuttle. With so much cultural history and vibrant street art, it's no surprise that Penang's capital, George Town, has been designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travelbag, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing