We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“penang paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“penang paradise”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

we spent 8 wonderful days at the shangri la in Batu Ferringhi . The hotel was really lovely. Choice of food for Breakfast amazing.
You must try the tomato soup in the Ferringhi Grill - an experience to remember
also try a massage on the sunbeds in the gardens



Room Tip: try to avoid being close to Lounge when they play music
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,297
    674
    203
    64
    46
See reviews for
1,067
1,541
90
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (847)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lanaken
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed here for the second time this year and were still impressed with the level of service of the hotel. There is a high attention to detail and a very personal service. I do recommend the Rasa wing for couples, as it has the pool reserved for guests over 16 years old, including free softdrinks and coffee during the day, high tea at 15.00 and cocktails at 17.30 as well as the option of having your breakfast at the Feringgi Grill restaurant with it's view over the garden and sea. Don't forget to book a spa treatment at Chi for your ultimate relaxation and rejuvenation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ive348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We spent four nights at this hotel at the end of November and we had a perfect visit. The hotel was lovely and the staff really kind, efficient and helpful. We also found the free shuttle bus to George Town was very useful. The beach was nice and there were interesting places to visit in the general area.

The restaurant served very, very good food and it was all beautifully presented and served.

There is also a very generous complimentary tea and happy hour.

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel, I'd like to take them home with me! Go and visit.


  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank caroline0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Maxing hotel top quality sevice nothing to much trouble from any staff we encountered. Stayed in basic room I. Rasa wing which met our needs. They will try and upgrade you on arrival at an extra cost but didn't feel the need to do so as we spent barely any time in our room. Breakfast at ferryingi grill lovely much quieter than spice market, excellent service worth going for 5 star dinner at ferrengi grill if budget allows, not cheap but excellent food and service worth the money to us.

Room Tip: Stayed fourth floor basic room rasa wing worth paying extra for rasa wing with the extra benefits t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Carmelr144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford Uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is a first class hotel with excellent facilities and staff. We had a room in the Rasa wing and this has some excellent complimentary features with the afternoon tea and drinks in the lounge bar. Wonderful attentive and helpful staff

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Merryfreddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Spent an excellent 10 nights at Rasa Sayang. The low points were the less than cheery welcome (not repeated during our stay) and a non-smoking room that smelt of smoke. For a Shangri-La the "basic" Rasa wing rooms are quite small - but still plenty of room by any reasonable standards. The basic Rasa wing rooms overlook the carpark / main road. However on the whole it is not intrusive, especially with the AC on (which you will need).

The room were well appointed, clean, no noise could be heard from neighbouring rooms regularly serviced and everything was very well maintained. Note, UK travellers wont need power adaptors which is handy.

The Rasa Wing facilities are excellent:

Breakfast is served 7:00-10:30am in a restaurant away from the rest of the hotel guests, consisting of a buffet and a-la carte choices - a range of Western and Asian dishes available each day, fantastic flavours and presentation. Whilst not immediately obvious, you can order Latte / Cappucino coffees with breakfast - all included. Service is excellent and friendly.

Afternoon Tea - a range of tasty mini rolls, cakes and scones served with soft drinks 3-4pm.

Drinks / Canapes - around 10 cocktails + usual G+T etc options, 1 sparkling, 2 white and 2 red wine options, to have along with a range of hot and cold finger food (savoury and sweet). You'll never have an empty glass, the service is fantastic. Staff are happy to chat or will quietly just top up your glass.

Rasa Wing Pool - very nice pool and again great service, team will set up loungers when you arrive and regularly bring soft drinks / cold towels / fresh fruit sticks as you relax. No need to worry about fighting for loungers and people getting up at 5am to "reserve" them - if anyone who leaves gear for more than an hour, the team remove to the pool office, so you can arrive when you like and get a lounger - a well judged approach.

Spa - whilst not "cheap" - a 2 hour treatment was @£90 - the quality was exceptional. Don't dismiss for not being cheaper than the UK.

Gym - nicely sized, very clean, cold towels, fruit drinks and well maintained, quality equipment. Not every very busy during our stay - which is great. You can also book jungle and cultural walks from the gym - the jungle walk is not for the unfit / infirm - a proper 7k walk over mostly unmade paths through jungle on the side of a steep hill. Great fun though!

Outside the resort - there is a beach infront of the resort - despite being beautiful, it's not used much due to jellyfish in the sea, but lovely to stroll around. There are paragliding and jetski's available, I believe these are local businesses,rather than run by the hotel.

Food / Drink - there are many many options within 5-15 minutes walk of the reception desk, which are reviewed seperately - you can eat for @£12-£16 and get a 2-3 dish meal + drinks for two people.

Night markets - lots of choice for browsing / negotiating / buying - lots of fun browsing and bargaining.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KrisSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear KrisSurrey:

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

We are disappointed to know that your welcome was not as warm as we wanted it to be and that you were assigned a room that was formerly a smoking room. Our Guest History Manager has taken note of your room preferences so that we will avoid the same situation in the near future.

With regards to jellyfish, our resort is working closely with the local authorities so that we can monitor the jellyfish population closely. We have strategically placed caution signs on jellyfish along the beach as a precaution and safety measure for our guests.

Overall, we are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to our resort again very soon.

Warmest regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahnan
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Spent 4 days with our 2 children (18 and 20) and everyone loved it. We were offered an upgrade to the Rasa Wing at a reasonable price which we accepted. Lovely adjoining rooms. Loved the huge bath on our balcony. Food at the buffet was very good and the Ferringhi grill was excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Only negative was the aircon would turn itself off in the night so we got warm at times.

Room Tip: The Rasa Wing rooms with adults only pool, drinks and canapés each night etc. are worth the extra co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonSmith56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Alison3155,

Thank you for your lovely review of our resort.

We are pleased to know that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. We are disappointed to know that your stay could have been perfect should the air conditioning have worked perfectly.

Our Front Office and Engineering Department would be pleased to assist should you have any problem in adjusting the electronic control of the air conditioning in the future.

I trust we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Penang.

Warmest regards,
Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahnan
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,921 reviews
0.8 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
7.1 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Address: Batu Ferringhi Main Road | Kampung Tanjung Huma, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa has a sense of history, place and tradition. A 5 star resort located in Batu Feringgi, Penang Malaysia. The sprawling gardens of the resort are ideal for team building exercises, outdoor meetings and allow you to enjoy your meetings and conventions in a tropical setting. Exchanging lifetime vows under our sheltering rain trees will make your wedding unforgettable. Also, nothing creates more wonderful memories than a perfect day in our beautiful gardens. Rasa Sayang resort and Spa is also connected to George Town via our complimentary daily shuttle. With so much cultural history and vibrant street art, it's no surprise that Penang's capital, George Town, has been designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing