We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation personified”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxation personified”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

My first Chinese New Year alone but what a wonderful haven I found in the 'Rasa Sayang wing'. My elegant room cocooned me and held everything I needed for a comfortable stay; good quality l'occitane toiletries, comfy bed, outside bath and delightful balcony.
Breakfasts in Feriniggi were delightful. No crowds! Personal and unrushed. Staff remembered names and favourites. A real gift! Lazing by the pool reading and of course the fresh fruit and water, soft drinks... made the pleasure even more luxurious. Cocktails and canapés at 5.30pm were a treat and even on my own I managed to have a lovely time. The staff were wonderful! So attentive and never made me feel awkward? For last year my husband and travelling mate died suddenly and now I need to learn to travel on my own and enjoy it! How better than at the Rasa Sayang Shangri-La in Penang?Thanks everyone you were wonderful. Oh by the way the 'Charmed Passage' treatment at Chi Spa was excellent. The salt scrub took all of 2013 away (thank goodness) and left me strong, smooth and very relaxed for the new year of the Horse. Shangrila you will have me back - maybe next Chinese New Year! Thank you

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank leonied53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Leonie D,

Thank you for your glowing review of our resort. We are happy that you were able to enjoy your recent stay with us.

We are also pleased that you enjoyed the "Charmed Passage" treatment at CHI, The Spa.

We certainly look forward to more visits from you in the near future. May you have a wonderful and prosperous year ahead.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,335
    679
    203
    65
    46
See reviews for
1,084
1,558
92
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Poor service, no smile or greetings during check in and check out. The room is not ready even it is past check in time. Staff sent fruits to our room but didn't take off shoes. The swimming pool is too small. The only nice thing that we enjoy is the garden. The room price is too high for such a service.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxuryhotelfansclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Luxuryhotelfansclub,

Thank you for your review of our resort.

We taken note of your comments and are disappointed to hear about your less than perfect experience with us. I will address with the team members on all the points that you have posted and make necessary improvement as needed.

We hope you had a chance to enjoy the main pool at the Garden Wing which is a much bigger pool compared to the Rasa Wing pool.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor. We certainly look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was our 7th visit to Rasa Sayang it's like coming home to our summer residence. Staff smiling and helpful, tranquil grounds to relax in. Fusion food at its best with excellent service.
We shall go again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank gillbehari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We spent a lovely 5 days in Penang a few weeks ago, and were very happy at the Shangri-La.

The hotel is very nice, and we stayed in a Suite in the Garden Wing, which was lovely.
They have a very good breakfast, and a great pool-side restaurant/ cafe.

Most importantly for us, they were very family friendly - staff were always ready to help with anything, and they must have about a million baby-chairs around the hotel.

The town 'centre' of Batu Ferringhi is a 5 minute walk, where you can visit the night markets, and there were plenty of options within a half-hour drive (Georgetown, Penang Hill, the Butterfly Park).

Very very nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VITaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

First the good things:
1. The staff were, with very few exceptions, superb. Friendly, smiling and efficient and always happy to go the extra mile.
2. The breakfast. Eat as much as you like. Cuisine to suit almost every taste and culture. Although, a bit of bacon, ham or pork sausage would have been nice for us Europeans.
3. The little extras that add up to a lot - free shuttlebus into Georgetown 4 times a day, free water & fruit in the room (replenished daily), free daily newspaper, free WiFi throughout, fruit kebabs served in the gardens every afternoon, loads of toiletries and flip flops in the room.
4. The rooms, the gardens and the grounds. Everything you'd expect from a Shangri-La hotel.
The bad things:
1. Throughout our 3 weeks stay, the hotel was absolutely overrun with kids. Not just the odd one or two too many, but hordes of them - from new born babes to teenagers. We always time our holidays specifically to avoid kids and we find December & January are generally best. Not at the Rasa Sayang, however. To be fair, some of the kids were well behaved but many appeared to be without any parental control at all. Breakfast was often hazardous as kids wandered or ran around bumping into you as you walked with hot food or drink in your hands. Quite often, the pool became a no-go area because of the squealing, shrieking, shouting, crying and general mayhem. Perhaps the hotel ought to consider a cap on the number of kids at any one time, but they probably want to portray themselves as family friendly. If so, then they're being very unfriendly to people who don't want kids blighting their holidays.
2. The sea is often not an option for swimming as there are jellyfish along that stretch of coast. Not something that the hotel mentioned prior to our visit.
3. History shows that the hotel was once a very happening place with disco, night club, international cabarets, beauty pageants etc. Nowadays, however, they seem to be aiming mainly at a certain section of the market - which seems to have resulted in them sucking all the life out of the place. In a nutshell, the hotel felt joyless. The only evening entertainment was a very low key duo apologetically hidden away upstairs in the Rasa wing - presumably for fear of offending anyone. There are two main evening bars - but it's not immediately obvious that they are bars. Most of the drinks are hidden from view with just a handful of token bottles on the counter. Whenever we asked for some wine, the lady would disappear through some double doors and pour it there, or it was dispensed under the counter as though it was illicit hooch in a speakeasy. Again, it was as though they were afraid of causing offence to those who disapprove of alcohol. The result was that we felt uncomfortable having a drink there.
4. Some of the guests didn't match up to the quality of the hotel. Spitting, taking food from the breakfast room and using the swimming pool while fully clothed were fairly common sights.

Room Tip: Book a room in the Rasa wing. It's more expensive, but the benefits make it worth the extra. Sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 378tommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear TommyLondon_England,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent stay with us.

First of all, we are happy to know that you had an overall good stay and found the service, facilities and breakfast variety to your liking. Our chefs have taken note of your comments with regards to the deli meats. However, we are a pork-free resort but we will certainly look into other alternatives for our European guests.

We have taken note of your comments regarding children at our resort. Our Rasa Wing is reserved for adults 18 years and above and we have a Rasa Wing pool which is reserved exclusively for adults. Perhaps this would be a good alternative to consider for future stays.

We work closely with the local authorities so that we can monitor the jellyfish population around our local waters. We have placed signages around our resort to ensure that our resort guests are aware of the jellyfish situation.

Thank you for your comments with regards to the entertainment and alcohol at our resort. We have daily happy hours at the Pinang Restaurant and Bar which is well attended, Perhaps this would be a good alternative for pre-dinner drinks. Alcohol is also served during our daily evening cocktails at Rasa Wing Lounge.

With regards to some of the points that were addressed in your review, I will be sure to share these with the related team members and make necessary improvement as needed. Also, please feel free to contact us at communications.rsr@shangri-la.com should you wish to discuss further on the matters.

Thank you again for your time and we certainly look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Warmest regards.

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stay at Rasa Wing, you will not regret. The pool area, with cool towels an fruit stick at least twice a day. The cocktail hour at the Rasa Wing Lounge. The atmosphere at the Ferringhi Grill restaurant and then the fantastic service by Mr. Lee at the Ferringhi bar.



  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Kim C,

Thank you for such a lovely review of our resort.

We do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it gives great joy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will be sure to pass your kind words to by Mr. Lee at the Feringgi Bar.

Once again thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.

Web all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest regards.

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic resort - stayed in rasa wing with 2 teen children. Rooms overlooking car park - but you don't spend time in the room. Day starts with amazing breakfast (prefer ferrenghi grill to spice cafe bustle - but teens preferred variety/volume at spice cafe buffet). Then pick your choice of sun lounge to read/relax in garden or by pool. Swim/rest/read till time to prepare for high tea - simply amazing, nothing was too much trouble. Then a swim or golf or wander till cocktail hour. The canapés meant there was little need for dinner - but a wander down the street to the night markets and the long beach cafe was always enjoyable.

Special mention to Hari for helping offset our calorie intake with his stretch and circuit classes, and to Chan for ensuring our drinks never ran dry at cocktail hour. Also to Mr Green Fingers for his very educational garden tour.

Overall, everyone enjoyed this resort as our best ever family holiday.

We will be back!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SL_Penang, Colleague at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Matthew W,

Thank you for sharing your lovely experience with us on Tripadvisor. I am happy to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass your kind words to Hari, Chen and Christopher aka Mr. Green Fingers. I am sure all of them will be delighted to know that their names was mentioned in your review.

Again, we do greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback on our page. I trust we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next family vacation to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa.

Warmest regards.

Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman
Director of Communications
Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,120 reviews
6.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
Address: Batu Ferringhi Main Road | Kampung Tanjung Huma, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa has a sense of history, place and tradition. A 5 star resort located in Batu Feringgi, Penang Malaysia. The sprawling gardens of the resort are ideal for team building exercises, outdoor meetings and allow you to enjoy your meetings and conventions in a tropical setting. Exchanging lifetime vows under our sheltering rain trees will make your wedding unforgettable. Also, nothing creates more wonderful memories than a perfect day in our beautiful gardens. Rasa Sayang resort and Spa is also connected to George Town via our complimentary daily shuttle. With so much cultural history and vibrant street art, it's no surprise that Penang's capital, George Town, has been designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.George Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing