We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penang”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Resort, Penang from 31 December 2011 to 4 January 2012 in a 23rd floor Sea view room with balcony. The view was stunning and the room was recently refurbished. I was initially given a Beach facing room in the old wing on the first day but was relocated to the tower block the next day. The overall experience was quite good .
The local Food Court located just 10 minutes walk from the hotel had stalls serving delicious, wholesome and inexpensive food and drinks every evening and the night market operating daily from 7 to 12 p.m. was an absolute delight for the bargain hunters.
This is a great Family hotel with a nice pool, private beach, water activities and kid's club.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akhtar I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,233)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Penang
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,662 - 1,668 of 2,233 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

The Holiday Inn Resort Penang is far outside the City in the tourist area Batu Ferringhi. We travelled as a couple and for us it was not the ideal choice. If you are travelling with kids this is a good hotel. The rooms a nice, big and clean, breakfast is good. Located directly at the beach and the night market is just outside on the street. Go to the Long Street Cafe for an authentic dinner experience...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gandhi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at the Tower across the road from the beach. We were upgraded to a seaview room. The view was nice as we here on a high floor and the room seems just renovated and was spacious. It was clean but towels were a little thin.
There was wifi in the lobby but we had to purchase it in our room. Most hotels around the world provide that free.

Room Tip: The corner rooms seems a bit more spacious.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TouringM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I think this was my fourth or fifth stay at Holiday Inn Penang and was pleased to see some investment in terms of refurbishment of the hotel and whilst not a major upgrade it was well done. Would love to give this place 5 stars but the poolside, beach let it down, first they ran out of towels and it was almost impossible to get a sunbed because people blocked the beds by placing towels on them and then going off for hours hotel need to take control of this.Hotel has a policy of no outside food at pool area which is fair enough but dont run out of Ice lollies etc. The food is still very poor and with fantastic food a few steps away dont be put off by this.
the hotrel definetly has location location

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerrycullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Upon arriving at 1130, a room was made available within a 1/2 hour. As requested, a room on a high floor with a balcony overlooking the beach to the west was made available. Great for the sunsets. The refurbishment has resulted in a brighter room with a large flat screen TV. The bathroom was the same as previous visits with a separate shower and bath.

Breakfast was very busy around the weekends with them running out of of my favourites, papaya and vegemite (not eaten together, :j ), on one occasion. The freshly cooked roti's which sometimes were the Telur variety were excellent.

The pool was busy in the shallow end with the Malaysian school holidays, but was not crowded in the deep end. Whilst we were in the pool we were visited twice by a family of dusky leaf monkeys - spectacled langurs. They ranged from a babe in arms, young, "teenagers" and mum and the greying dad. The "teenagers put on a great show climbing up a tree beside the pool and then perfecting their ability to fall down the tree from branch to branch. The next visit they jumped from tree to tree along the front of the pool and then up the side of the hotel and back into the jungle. What a sight and all for free.

Another change has been the introduction of the Australian Network TV programs available now at the Hotel. Great for keeping up to date with home and OZ sport telecasts.

Room Tip: To escape and street noise I choose the highest floor available in the Tower Block. The western side...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for one night and were so disappointed in the hotel that we checked out. There wasn't anything really wrong with it, but there certainly wasn't anything right either. Our sea view room in the Beach Tower did indeed have a nice sea view, but no balcony from which to enjoy it. The room needed renovating/updating, especially the bathroom, which was old and tired. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable. I inquired about moving to the more recently renovated Ferringhi Tower, across the street from the beach and connected to the Beach Tower by a pedestrian skybridge, but the room I toured had a strong musty smell and no view. The hotel charges extra for in-room wifi. Breakfast was not included in my rate. The reception desk was staffed by a single person so every request for assistance required a short wait. The pool is a simple large rectangle. Here's an example of the aura of neglect that surrounds the hotel. At the edge of the property is a large water vessel for guests to wash the sand off their feet upon returning from the beach. A battered sign explains that it is a traditional Malaysian washing station and that guests should dip the coconut ladle into the vessel and pour water on their feet. But in place of a coconut ladle, there is a yellow, plastic toy cup. The water flowing into the vessel is overflowing down the hill onto the beach and cascading over an abandoned flip-flop caught in the foliage. We checked out and moved to another hotel down the road where, for the same rate, we got a sea view room with a balcony, breakfast, free wifi in our room, friendly and attentive service, and a fabulous free-form pool with water slides and other activities to keep the kids entertained all day. The rest of our vacation was fabulous. As I see it, the only advantage of the Holiday Inn is that it is one of the rare hotel chains in Asia that offers rooms with two double beds, which allows families with kids to share one room. But in the case of the Holiday Inn Penang, that is not enough to earn our repeat business.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalGrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed in holiday inn Penang 5 nights with family , buffet breakfast plenty to choose from , it covers all bases , nice touch the cold drinking water at reception available all day , staff friendly , room well kept , kids had a ball in pool with pool volleyball & soccer , para sailing 55 ringitt worth the money , must go to long beach cafe just up road 5 minutes walk different varieties hawker food

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from band that plays at night !
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilly022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,741 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.3 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,466 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: £46 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy' memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing