We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among the best in Penang”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Stayed in Hill wing with young childrens for a night and overall it is impressive. Both my kids enjoyed very much the swimming pool, kids club, play area and beach. Location is superb as downstair is the famous night market street. Room quality is good, sound proof, large and clean. Most of the facilities are well maintained.

Like: lots of activities to choose, kid's club, games room, location, big room
Dislike: slow check-in, small tv with limited channels, hill wing need cross over bridge to swimming pool and beach

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yfuwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,881 - 1,887 of 2,280 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2010

The Location was fantastic.The rooms were spacious and were clean.The Beach was right opposite to the Hotel.The attractions of Penang such as Butterfly Garden and Spice Garden were closeby and accessible thro' the Penang Rapid Transit Buses which stopped infront of the Hotel.Also,the Night Bazaar was in front of the Hotel where good products were available by a good bargain.Lot of Restaurents were also nearby.The food was good.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greattripschennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

My family of 4 (kids aged 5 and 2) stayed at the holiday inn for 6 days. We arrived very late and had booked the Ferringhi Tower family suite which was nice (king bed with 2 single beds behind a partition, with a large bathroom) but we really didnt like going across the bridge to get to breaky and pool etc so we moved across to a kidsuite in the pool wing which was great. It had a separate bunk area for the kids with tv, dvd and playstation, all decorated in a pirate theme. The bathroom was smaller than across the road with the shower over the bath but being so close to the pool was more important with our kids. The pool was great with a small kids pool which really needs shade over it. The large pool has a section at the shallower end with a net so my son spent hours playing volleyball. The breakfast was great with loads to choose from. My son chose to stay in the kids club one day rather than shopping and had a fantastic time. The staff were lovely and great with my son and when we went to collect him he wanted to stay longer and actually spent another day there because he loved it so much. Batu Ferringhi itself is dead during the day but comes alive at night when the night market starts so organise outings for the day or just hang by the pool. The beach isn't the best so avoid swimming at the beach but plenty of activities to do - my husband parasailed and loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaysrgr8t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Located at almost one end of Penang island, Malaysia, Holiday Inn Resort lives up to the rich tradition of Holiday Inn. Happened to accompany my husband who went there on a business trip along with some of his colleagues.

The check-in was very efficient and speedy, rooms spacious and comfortable. The window in our room opened towards the swimming pool. The window panes from the outsode could do with some cleaning to get rid of occasional pigeon dropping.

Food was excellent, including Indian cuisine.

At the back of the hotel is the beach where several water sports like para-sailing, water scooter, etc. were available at reasonable price.

Rooms are provided with an ironing board and an electric iron for use of the guests.

Overall the experience was very satisfying, and I would like to stay in the same hotel if I go to Penang again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ku_see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

We were a group of 4 adults &^ 3 children who stayed in Holiday Inn Penang from 6th to 9th of May 2010. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the staff there were very friendly and the ambience was excellent. Food was also good. Great value for money and looking forward to visiting the place again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keerai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

We booked our room direct through holiday inn website which was cheaper than any other sight. Because we booked 30 days in advance we were given free breakfast. We also joined as priority guests and when we arrived were notified that there was a free cocktail party including nibblies going on in the lobby for priority guests. Not sure how often this happens but we went straight there. Didnt even go to our room and unpack. We were greeted by Jagdeep Thakral the Manager who was genuinely welcoming. He saw us on a number of occassions throughout our stay and always acknowledged us even remembering our names. All the staff here are very friendly and happy to help.
The position on the beach is great and the pool area has plenty of pool chairs. Our room was in the wing away from the beach but easily accessible to the pool and eating areas by the overhead bridge. We found our room quite large and always clean. But were advised that this wing is due for an upgrade shortly. The shopping at the night markets right on the doorstep of the hotel was really good. Dont forget to barter. We also caught the hotel shuttle into Georgetown only 8 ringit each. They will also pick you up but as we were unsure of our return time we just caught the 101 bus back which stops outside the hotel. The shopping centre near the bus terminal in Georgetown is huge and really cheap. But dont go untill after 11am as the shops dont seem to be in a hurry to open before that.. Had a really terrific experience here. This was our first trip to Penang and only 4 days but will stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenandbrianPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

We stayed at The Holiday Inn Penang for 6 nights at the end of a tour of Malaysia. On arriving our impressions of the hotel were good. Check-in and room was good, the staff are efficient and friendly.

The only shock to the system was how busy the road outside was, especially at night, when the night market comes alive. Without the road bridge, that has been specially built, it would be nearly impossible to cross the road. The traffic was very noisy all night long, we stayed in the tower block on the fifth floor.

The pool is lovely and there are plenty of sunbeds, all be it, the cushions are very stained and some are split. There were plenty of sun loungers in the garden area, which is very shady under the trees but most were broken and need replacing.

Swimming in the sea is not recommended because of jellyfish and it is very dirty. The beach is lovely but there are no sun beds or umbrellas. The nearby water sports can be very annoying, as the petrol fumes travel into the pool and garden area and become unpleasant.

The breakfast choice and quality was very good and we never became tired of the selection during our stay. Drinks from the bar and hotel meals are on the pricey side but this is always the case wherever you go, so if you want the convenience you pay the price!!

Travelling around Penang by bus is great fun and cheap. The 101 bus from outside the hotel runs every 15 minutes and connects with other buses either at the Komtar centre or the ferry. We enjoyed travelling this way, as we felt we saw more of everyday life in the area.

We certainly enjoyed our holiday and thought Malaysia was a great place and the people so friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baclavababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,766 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.3 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,491 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: £42 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy' memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing