We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very out-dated and washed out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very out-dated and washed out”
Reviewed 26 June 2010

This hotel is extremely old fashioned and a big black mark on name of Holiday Inn. Don't expect any sort of frendliness in service, teh decor simply reminds me of 1990's. There is very less maintainance done and to my surprise, the rooms still contain CRT TV! rather than LCD.... and it comes out of cabinet with a sliding tray!! Like its a big treasure hidden inside.... The hotel staff is not well dressed at all

Though it i big, but still the breakfast is served at a smll poolside restuarant, where even you have to queue sometime to wait for your turn... toiliteries are of some pathetic brand and same is case with in-room appliances. Location is good an central but there are better options in the area.

Even though the hotel is right on the beach, there are no services provided at teh beach, you go at your risk, and there is not even a sunlonger bed provided at beach. The hotel needs a big rennovation in my opinion and a total change of staff.

Good for families who are not quality concious... you see a lot of Arab people here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SherazTarar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    964
    362
    108
    67
See reviews for
829
741
86
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Stayed here for 4 days 3 nights in the Hill View beach wing (non-smoking) unit. Room was neat, spacious and clean. It comes with 2 queen "very comfortable" beds which suits my requirement and our main reason of staying here as i have two children. (have to specify upon booking) Innovative and practical curved shower screen track to minimize water from spilling onto the bathroom floor. Basic amenities such as ironing board, hairdryer and a safe comes with the room. Centralized air-conditioning and a 32" LCD TV but with snowy display (bad reception).
The only downside is they don't offer free wi-fi and not even in the lobby. It's chargeable at RM60. Not sure if this is an hourly or daily rate. This service should come free based on the rates charged at this hotel. Even most of the 2-3 star hotels have this service for free, not to mention Starbucks & McDonalds!! The Management should give this a serious thought! Don't just think of charging, charging & charging on everything!
Secondly, they should have the FIFA World Cup channels in the rooms as well as it's only available at the lobby lounge and pool bar with only limited seats available. I missed some matches as i have to stay in the room with my kids! Management please take note!
Housekeeping is excellent! Take them less than 5 mins whenever i requested for additional towels. Good job!
Parking is a hassle as it's scarce. Even the disabled lots are taken by some "inconsiderate" fully able guest! Wonder why this is allowed??
Pool is always full but the live guards are friendly. Table tennis is available too.
The bartender (evening) at the poolside bar need to put smiles on his face. He's so cold and non responsive making you uncomfortable and unwelcomed!
Beach front is terrible and stinks due to the horse manure (feces)! These horses purged at will and to my horror, the irresponsible operators just conveniently cover them with sand right in front of us instead of discarding them in a proper manner. Imagine my little children playing there and come back with a handful of horse manure?? How disgusting! Should do away with this activity and the operators charge a bomb for this ride! Do enquire 1st to avoid being overcharged as some operators can be very sly.
En. Fariz (concierge) is very friendly, helpful and always greet us with a smile. Others should emulate him to make guests feel at home and welcome.
Overall my stay at Holiday Inn Penang is good except for some minor setbacks here and there but the comfy beds made up to it.
Might consider staying here again if the Management make some improvements after reading my suggestions.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Stayed in Hill wing with young childrens for a night and overall it is impressive. Both my kids enjoyed very much the swimming pool, kids club, play area and beach. Location is superb as downstair is the famous night market street. Room quality is good, sound proof, large and clean. Most of the facilities are well maintained.

Like: lots of activities to choose, kid's club, games room, location, big room
Dislike: slow check-in, small tv with limited channels, hill wing need cross over bridge to swimming pool and beach

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yfuwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

The Location was fantastic.The rooms were spacious and were clean.The Beach was right opposite to the Hotel.The attractions of Penang such as Butterfly Garden and Spice Garden were closeby and accessible thro' the Penang Rapid Transit Buses which stopped infront of the Hotel.Also,the Night Bazaar was in front of the Hotel where good products were available by a good bargain.Lot of Restaurents were also nearby.The food was good.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greattripschennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

My family of 4 (kids aged 5 and 2) stayed at the holiday inn for 6 days. We arrived very late and had booked the Ferringhi Tower family suite which was nice (king bed with 2 single beds behind a partition, with a large bathroom) but we really didnt like going across the bridge to get to breaky and pool etc so we moved across to a kidsuite in the pool wing which was great. It had a separate bunk area for the kids with tv, dvd and playstation, all decorated in a pirate theme. The bathroom was smaller than across the road with the shower over the bath but being so close to the pool was more important with our kids. The pool was great with a small kids pool which really needs shade over it. The large pool has a section at the shallower end with a net so my son spent hours playing volleyball. The breakfast was great with loads to choose from. My son chose to stay in the kids club one day rather than shopping and had a fantastic time. The staff were lovely and great with my son and when we went to collect him he wanted to stay longer and actually spent another day there because he loved it so much. Batu Ferringhi itself is dead during the day but comes alive at night when the night market starts so organise outings for the day or just hang by the pool. The beach isn't the best so avoid swimming at the beach but plenty of activities to do - my husband parasailed and loved it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaysrgr8t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Located at almost one end of Penang island, Malaysia, Holiday Inn Resort lives up to the rich tradition of Holiday Inn. Happened to accompany my husband who went there on a business trip along with some of his colleagues.

The check-in was very efficient and speedy, rooms spacious and comfortable. The window in our room opened towards the swimming pool. The window panes from the outsode could do with some cleaning to get rid of occasional pigeon dropping.

Food was excellent, including Indian cuisine.

At the back of the hotel is the beach where several water sports like para-sailing, water scooter, etc. were available at reasonable price.

Rooms are provided with an ironing board and an electric iron for use of the guests.

Overall the experience was very satisfying, and I would like to stay in the same hotel if I go to Penang again.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ku_see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2010

We were a group of 4 adults &^ 3 children who stayed in Holiday Inn Penang from 6th to 9th of May 2010. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the staff there were very friendly and the ambience was excellent. Food was also good. Great value for money and looking forward to visiting the place again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keerai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.3 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Penang

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Address: 72 Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Penang, together with its excellent location in the heart of famous Batu Ferringhi makes it easily accessible to the Night Market, shops and restaurants. The resort is situated right on the beach, split into two buildings- the Beach Wing, located at the beachside, or Ferringhi Tower, located directly across the road to the beach. The Ferringhi Tower commands spectacular views of both the hills and sea front and is linked by an overhead covered walkway. 358 spacious rooms with a great combination of Family Studios and Kidsuites, the resort is perfect for families and couples looking for a retreat. To also make your every moment of your stay an absolute delight, we make every dining experience special in its own way. As the only hotel offering speciality Northern Indian cuisine, it will be feast that will leave you with 'spicy' memories. At the Holiday Inn Resort Penang, you will discover an exotic way to truly enjoy your vacation and cherish every minute of it. Right from the warmth of the people, the quaint sights & sounds of the island's rich cultural heritage and the rejuvenating hospitality of Holiday Inn Resort Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Holiday Inn Penang
Holiday Inn Georgetown
Georgetown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Penang Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing