We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were very impressed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We were very impressed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

The breakfasts were the best we have had on our travels. The staff very friendly. Everything very clean and ordered. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Park Royal.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roslyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear roslyn b,

I am so glad that you enjoyed so much our Breakfast, our efforts are well recognized and you can rest assure the whole brigade is working even harder to continue improvement in our offerings.
Thank you for your kind comments and wish you a fantastic time ahead.
Very sincerely

Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    964
    930
    340
    102
    59
See reviews for
855
934
75
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Our family party of 5 travelled to Penang in July and stayed at the Parkroyal for 1 week. It is 45-60minutes north of the airport in the middle of Batu Ferringhi beach and the drive is a busy one thru moderately heavy traffic (useful to consider the traffic when planning the return trip). We were ready to relax when we got to Penang after some busy days in KL. The hotel did not disappoint. The rooms were comfortable, clean and well air-conditioned. The recent double glazing of the windows means that any road noise or calls from the local mosque are barely heard. The restaurants were great and managed very well with a full hotel (many Arab families holidaying before Ramandan). The breakfast buffet was extensive and included options for any palate. There are 2 pools at the resort which were large with plenty of deck chairs and good bar service for drinks and food. We used drivers organized by the hotel to go into Georgetown and visit Penang Hill. They were all great - very friendly and helpful. The free WiFi in the lobby was appreciated. The staff at the hotel are lovely. They were keen to ensure the hotel was going a good job and quickly learnt our names and preferences for tea or coffee in the morning! It is a great place to relax without the formal formal atmosphere of the Rasa Sayang. We hope to return next year.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are lighter than the standard rooms on the road side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AnnaChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear AnnaChristchurch,
Thank you for your kind message and comments. It is always very nice to hear from our guests when we do it right.
I am pleased to let you know since your departure we have changed all our TV to 40” flat screen TV to improve our guests comfort.
We look forward to welcome you back to the resort
Very sincerely,

Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

This was our second time staying at the Park Royal. Last time we stayed (2 years ago) we were very happy with the hotel.

This time .... not so
At check-in they had no connecting rooms for 2 14year old girls. This was the first time we had put the girls in their own room so had emphasised on our booking that connecting rooms were required. Also we had been promised room upgrade from hillview to side sea view rooms. They had no record of this, fortunatley I had brought with me copy of emails from them stating the connecting rooms and upgrade.
So... first night had to be put into different rooms as they said they had no connecting rooms in hotel, then the following day we had to change rooms again . Found this hard to believe as hotel was not at full capacity.

As mentioned by others the rooms are looking tired, also very noisy around pool area.
The only plus for the hotel is the location, right near all the markets.

If I came back would I stay here again? Probably not. Would not have confidence that booking requests would be followed through.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birdocharly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear birdocharly,

Very sorry only realized now I used the wrong name, also my deepest apologies to AnnaChristchurch for the typo error in using wrongly your name in my earlier reply.
Once again very sincere apologies form y error. Very sincerely,
Francois

Dear birdocharly,

I am deeply sadden and do sincerely regret to read your feedback, please I would like you to accept my most sincere apologies for the poor service rendered to your goodself and family members. There is no excuse to be found and can only regret not having the opportunity to meet up with you and able to rectify where possible to assure a more pleasant and memorable hotel experiences.
Thank you very much not only for your feedback greatly appreciated but also for your support as a returnee. I have search in our past arrivals files but regrettably without your name it is difficult to get any specific information and can’t really provide an explanation.
I do appreciate this incident could have deter you for patronizing PARKROYAL Penang Resort in future but sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to prove you this most unfortunate incident was only an accident and not the normal standard of our hotel.
Please do contact me personally and will ensure a more pleasant and successful experience.
Have a wonderful day.
Very sincerely,

Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed here for 6 nights with 2 rooms in July 2011. This is overall the best hotel on the Batu Ferringhi strip. It has a great lobby that is big a spacious and a great lounge that is veryy affordable around $10AUD for a cocktail! the lobby lounge is a fantastic place to relax as it has free WiFi and at night it has entertainment! The duo that was on when we were there were FANTASTIC, they played old and new songs and came around during the breaks and greeted everybody and made everyone feel welcome!!

The minibar prices are very cheap and housekeeping was very efficient, the room was always left spotless!!

The pools are fantastic, it is very tropical and the pools are very big & relaxing! There are lots of lounges all around the hotel grounds! the gardens are very clean and are kept extremely well!!!

I was dissapointed to find out that you can not swim in the Batu Ferringhi beach due to pollution! The beach is nice to look at but it is public so there are not only hotel guests on it!! The beach gets very busy which makes it impossible to lay on it as there is 1 million different things going on! the watersports on the beach are very cheap (by australian terms) and are great fun!

But watch out as the operators charge you different prices depending on which hotel you stay at!!! The night market is located out the front of the hotel every night and is great fun and is much more peaceful and pleasant than the Chinatown market in KL.

Overall the hotel was great and the pool was the best pool out of all the hotels! I left feeling very relaxed and i would definitely come back and stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank james4322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear james4322 ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to compliment our services during your last stay with us, your kind efforts are sincerely greatly appreciated!
As usual I will share your kind comments with my Team which always come a great boost of moral to all of them knowing their good efforts to provide superior services are being greatly appreciated by our guests.
We are working closely with the authority to control the water sport operators and assure safety at the beach. The operator beside our property has fix pricing and we constantly work with them to ensure they have safety in mind.
Together with my Team, I look forward to welcoming you back to Penang.
Once again, thank you so much and wishing you a fantastic time ahead.
Very sincerely,

Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed at the Park Royal having just flown in from a few days in Borneo. Landing at 4.00pm, it was a 2hr+ bus ride from the airport. Awesome value at only RM4 per adult. A taxi would have been around 1hr and approx RM150 which we paid for our return back to the airport via Snake Temple, which the hotel helped arrange.

The hotel is in a great location near the street markets, small shops and directly on the beach. We were welcomed immediately and check-in was no hassle at all. The kids loved the room we had as two king beds had been put together to make one giant bed!!! The room was a garden deluxe with a slight sea view and you could see the mosque. We did hear the prayers in the morning but it didn’t bother us, kind of added to the cultural experience.

The food in the hotel was a lot more expensive than we expected, especially having come from Borneo and spending a couple of nights in Kota Kinabula. Soft drinks for RM15 I think is a bit steep. The breakfast was excellent and we had a couple of dinners in the hotel in the main restaurant and at the cool banana's bar.

The swimming pool is great and the kids spent lots of time playing safely, which was great as you are recommended not to swim in the sea due to Jelly Fish. This wasn’t really much of a problem as the hotel was perfect.

I don’t know if it was off season, but the hotel was not busy at all which was lovely. Lots of different tourists from around the world and it certainly feels like a leisure hotel rather than a corporate hotel.

I treated my wife and I to a luxury spa package in the St Gregory Spa which I can highly recommend. It was the best spa experience we have ever had and lovely to experience it together. 5 different treatments in 3hrs.

From the hotel we used public transport to get around which is excellent in Malaysia. The boardwalk in the forest nearby is closed as is the one on Penang Hill. We went into Georgetown and were really pleased we didn’t stay there.

I was ill for the first day of our stay having eaten a dodgy Air Asia meal and the hotel arrange for some toast to be delivered to the room, which was very much appreciated.

There is free Wi-Fi in the rooms and lobby which was great.

Having booked the Park Royal in Penang we also booked a stay in the Park Royal KL, which was ok, but very city hotel in its feel and quality. The Park Royal chain is certainly of a good standard, however the location is key.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thepaulharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear thepaulharper,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. I am glad to know that with the Team we have created great experiences through your stay.
Your comments will surely come as a great boost of moral to the Team and we will continue to improve ourselves further to serve you and all our guests better day after day.
Do contact me personally next time you come to town.
Have a wonderful day,

Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We were at ParkRoyal Hotel for a family weekend. Had a room over looking the beach, but the beach was barely visible. As we were staying on a lower floor, we over looked some services area of the hotel.

Breakfast is among the more generous one in the hotels we stayed before in Batu Ferringhi. The local 'char kuey tiaw' was a pleasant surprise and done very patiently by the chef. Breakfast area overlooks a large garden that's extremely useful for families with over zealous kids.

The pool area is children friendly although my kids will still say they prefer Hard Rock's due to the novelty and water play area. The snake show on Sunday afternoon is also a treat to them.

As there is enough competition from hotelsnalong this stretch of beach, ParkRoyal is among the better appointed ones. For Malaysian and Singporean residents, there is a ParkRoyal Club that you can sign up for better room rates, especially when you get more than 1 room during your trip.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing view that overlooks the pool area, lower floor ones have an extended common balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pablon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear Pablon,

I am so pleased to know that we were your favorite hotel and created memorable hotel experiences.
We all look forward to welcome you back in a not too distant future in Penang.
Have a wonderful day.
Very sincerely,

Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

If you are looking for a full rounded vacation spot then look no more. This place offers kids fun in the pool. It also has a live band that plays at night. Location is great as it is in the middle of everything. Check out the restaurants around!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ozi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear Ozi73,

Thank you so, so much for your real nice comments and am really happy we made it right for you.
See you soon.
Have a fantastic time ahead.
Very sincerely,

Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.5 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,811 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
7.0 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Property: PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Address: | Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery in Batu Ferringhi beach or "Foreigner's Rock," PARKROYAL Penang Resort is an idyllic retreat offering delightful hospitality as warm as tropical sun. The resort is situated right on the beach and within walking distance to Night Market, well-connected to island-wide attractions including the Geogetown, the oldest colonial city in Malaysia, temples, Butterfly Farm, Penang Hill and many more. It is also situated 45 minutes from Penang International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Agoda, Travelbag, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Penang, Malaysia Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Parkroyal Penang Malaysia Batu Ferringhi
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing