We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time, just as lucky.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This is my 3rd stay at this wonderful resort, my first with my daughter. Had no hesitation is suggesting this to her as my hubby and I have stayed on 2 previous trips. This was a Mother and Daughter getaway. We stayed for 7 nights.
Our check in was quick and easy. Staff on front desk all very pleasant.
Our twin. room, was a corner room overlooking the tennis courts. Huge room with 3 double beds. Each morning early we coulds see the monkeys that were in the tree tops along the tennis courts. it was fun watching them. Our room was well equiped, also our bathroom. Only thing messing in bathroom was a make up mirror.
Breakfast no complaints, a huge selection. Again Staff very friendly.
I forgot to mention we also received a drink voucher on arrival, which was a nice treat.
House keeping are spot on with their job. The gardens at this hotel are just emaculate Overall this resort is clean and the staff very friendly. Our only negative was the lady on the tour desk, At times hard to understand and really wasn't too eager to help us out on various tours. Well this was the impression we got. Tip - for tours, we would recommend once outside the hotel cross the road and walk down the street, down a step or two next to a tailor is a Tour/Money Changer, (can't remember the name) store is close to Flora Beauty this tour /money changer, had the best rates going and good rates for the tours. We had Allen for 2 days, he was great . If you need some beauty therapy we suggest, Flora Beauty, David Manager and the girls are just great, Also great prices. We went there every day bar one for feet, nails and body works. Having the fish eat the dead skin on our feet was a bonus. There is also a money changer directly opp. hotel which isn't too bad, but not as good the the one I mentioned. The Hotel shuttle bus (for a small amount 20Rg) will take you into GeorgeTown must book prior at Tour Desk We did some great tours there with a trishaw rider. Also you can use the free shuttle in Georgetown to take you around, but be prepared they don't always stop for you. Must do the Fruit Farm Tour and Penang Hill Both great Overall a great trip which helped by staying at a great, friendly Resort.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,980 - 1,986 of 2,569 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

The resort is beautifully located on the Batu Feranghi Beach. Just the drive to the Parkroyal resort is thrilling and a treat to the nature and ocean lovers. On arrival the lobby is very well designed giving the glimpse of the pool. My 6 year son simply loved the pool and the surrounding environment by the pool. The breakfast spread in buffet restaurant is very good, make sure you look out for the staff and request for tea or coffee as the restaurant is busy and you can hardly see any staff. The Spa is a must and highly recommended to guests. I tried the Balinese Massage and if you think you can take a firm pressure, try Therapist Kelly, she is extremely good and very knowledgeable. Sight seeing around the resort and in Penang is very good and conveniently located. Plenty Taxis are available around the resort as well as local restaurants. The rooms are very spacious and the king bed is very comfortable for 3 guests. Housekeeping service is very good as well as one can enjoy the live music in the lobby lounge, very entertaining. Highly recommend the hotel to future travelers.

Room Tip: Recommend Pool view as you will get the beautiful ocean view with this as well on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Dear Janet H,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. I am glad to know that with the Team we have created great experiences through your stay.
Your comments and kind recommendation to all travelers is so much appreciated by all of us at the Resort and will surely come as a great boost of moral to the Team to improve ourselves further.
Thank you once again for your great feedback and support, much appreciated!
Do contact me personally next time you come to town.
Have a wonderful day.
Very sincerely,

Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Had a great stay at the Parkroyal. Service, food and even the spa was great! Highly recommend the Grand oceanview room we had and the spa facial.
Kids loved the kids club and the pool. We took a look at the other hotels and they seemed fancier but we much preferred the family feel and great service at the parkroyal.
Be sure to meet with the hotel’s permanent residents – June the dog and May the cat; Kids loved them too! Only downside is the rooms are a little dated.
Would definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BrigLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights and the only problem we found was the bar staff in the lobby area, seemed to be slow in serving us and then when it come to the bills they got them all muddled up - but to their defence we were in a group of 10 of us and so I guess it was getting confusing for them, but apart from that we loved this place. The pool area is immaculant and the place is so clean right through out. The breakfast would have to be the best selection we have ever come across in our travels - so much to choose from - could not fault it. The service was faultless the hotel itself is comfortable and well maintained, although tired in some areas, but not enough to put us off returning to this hotel - well situated along Batu Ferringhi with the markets right at the front gate.
Thank you Parkroyal staff for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FordyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Dear FordyPerth,

I am so pleased to read your message and to get such nice feedback, always truly appreciated by all of us at the Resort.
We all look forward to welcome you back in a near future and offer you another memorable hotel experiences.
Have a lovely day ahead.
Very sincerely,

Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The breakfasts were the best we have had on our travels. The staff very friendly. Everything very clean and ordered. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Park Royal.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roslyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Dear roslyn b,

I am so glad that you enjoyed so much our Breakfast, our efforts are well recognized and you can rest assure the whole brigade is working even harder to continue improvement in our offerings.
Thank you for your kind comments and wish you a fantastic time ahead.
Very sincerely

Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Our family party of 5 travelled to Penang in July and stayed at the Parkroyal for 1 week. It is 45-60minutes north of the airport in the middle of Batu Ferringhi beach and the drive is a busy one thru moderately heavy traffic (useful to consider the traffic when planning the return trip). We were ready to relax when we got to Penang after some busy days in KL. The hotel did not disappoint. The rooms were comfortable, clean and well air-conditioned. The recent double glazing of the windows means that any road noise or calls from the local mosque are barely heard. The restaurants were great and managed very well with a full hotel (many Arab families holidaying before Ramandan). The breakfast buffet was extensive and included options for any palate. There are 2 pools at the resort which were large with plenty of deck chairs and good bar service for drinks and food. We used drivers organized by the hotel to go into Georgetown and visit Penang Hill. They were all great - very friendly and helpful. The free WiFi in the lobby was appreciated. The staff at the hotel are lovely. They were keen to ensure the hotel was going a good job and quickly learnt our names and preferences for tea or coffee in the morning! It is a great place to relax without the formal formal atmosphere of the Rasa Sayang. We hope to return next year.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are lighter than the standard rooms on the road side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AnnaChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Dear AnnaChristchurch,
Thank you for your kind message and comments. It is always very nice to hear from our guests when we do it right.
I am pleased to let you know since your departure we have changed all our TV to 40” flat screen TV to improve our guests comfort.
We look forward to welcome you back to the resort
Very sincerely,

Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This was our second time staying at the Park Royal. Last time we stayed (2 years ago) we were very happy with the hotel.

This time .... not so
At check-in they had no connecting rooms for 2 14year old girls. This was the first time we had put the girls in their own room so had emphasised on our booking that connecting rooms were required. Also we had been promised room upgrade from hillview to side sea view rooms. They had no record of this, fortunatley I had brought with me copy of emails from them stating the connecting rooms and upgrade.
So... first night had to be put into different rooms as they said they had no connecting rooms in hotel, then the following day we had to change rooms again . Found this hard to believe as hotel was not at full capacity.

As mentioned by others the rooms are looking tired, also very noisy around pool area.
The only plus for the hotel is the location, right near all the markets.

If I came back would I stay here again? Probably not. Would not have confidence that booking requests would be followed through.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank birdocharly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Dear birdocharly,

Very sorry only realized now I used the wrong name, also my deepest apologies to AnnaChristchurch for the typo error in using wrongly your name in my earlier reply.
Once again very sincere apologies form y error. Very sincerely,
Francois

Dear birdocharly,

I am deeply sadden and do sincerely regret to read your feedback, please I would like you to accept my most sincere apologies for the poor service rendered to your goodself and family members. There is no excuse to be found and can only regret not having the opportunity to meet up with you and able to rectify where possible to assure a more pleasant and memorable hotel experiences.
Thank you very much not only for your feedback greatly appreciated but also for your support as a returnee. I have search in our past arrivals files but regrettably without your name it is difficult to get any specific information and can’t really provide an explanation.
I do appreciate this incident could have deter you for patronizing PARKROYAL Penang Resort in future but sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to prove you this most unfortunate incident was only an accident and not the normal standard of our hotel.
Please do contact me personally and will ensure a more pleasant and successful experience.
Have a wonderful day.
Very sincerely,

Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.5 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,775 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,497 reviews
7.1 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 87 in George Town
3,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Address: | Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: £68 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery in Batu Ferringhi beach or "Foreigner's Rock," PARKROYAL Penang Resort is an idyllic retreat offering delightful hospitality as warm as tropical sun. The resort is situated right on the beach and within walking distance to Night Market, well-connected to island-wide attractions including the Geogetown, the oldest colonial city in Malaysia, temples, Butterfly Farm, Penang Hill and many more. It is also situated 45 minutes from Penang International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Holiday Gems, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Penang, Malaysia Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Parkroyal Penang Malaysia Batu Ferringhi
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing