We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Nearby Hotels
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa(Batu Ferringhi)
US$179
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La(Batu Ferringhi)
US$133
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hard Rock Hotel Penang(Batu Ferringhi)
US$123
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Resort Penang(Batu Ferringhi)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Beach Resort(Batu Ferringhi)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rasa Motel Penang(Batu Ferringhi)(Great Value!)
US$21
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Penang(Batu Ferringhi)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
D'Feringghi Haus(Batu Ferringhi)
US$40
US$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lone Pine Hotel(Batu Ferringhi)
US$117
US$100
Hotel Website
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
    Reviews (2,711)
    Filter reviews
    2,711 results
    Traveller rating
    1,095
    1,051
    386
    110
    69
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    1,095
    1,051
    386
    110
    69
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewscool bananastamarind brasserielanai suitegrand deluxesunset barnight marketpark royal hotelkids clubbuffet breakfastwater slidesfamily roomsnake showlounge areakids poolsuperior roombeach frontwelcome drink
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    2,075 - 2,080 of 2,711 reviews
    Reviewed 27 September 2011

    We were fortunate to get a last minute deal at Park Royal Penang. My brother and I stayed there for 3 nights and were very happy with the Room, food, service and the hotel facilities. We managed a partial sea view room at MYR 350 a night and felt that it was certainly value for money, considering it included free broadband in the room, as well as complimentary breakfast. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous and the coffee shop had quaint little rickshaws displaying pulses, cereals and grains from various parts of Malaysia. The service was nice and each member of the staff was more than happy to help with anything we wanted. The hotel is right on the beach and is well maintained. They have separate pools for adults and kids, and also have two charming shacks in the pool area where a local family runs a basic massage service.

    Batu ferrringhi is a little away from the hustle and the bustle of Georgetown. While this means that you get some welcome peace and quiet, it also means that you have to spend about MYR35 (Taxi) every time you step into town for sightseeing, partying etc. However on our second day we discovered the very efficient air conditioned local bus service right outside our hotel which took us all the way till Komtar bus terminal or Little India etc at MYR2.7 per ticket (Bus no 101). The night market at Batu feringhi was right outside the hotel too and starts bustling by about 630 pm. While the merchandise is nothing to rave about (compared to Chinatown in Singapore or KL), the night market is an experience in itself.

    The Batu Ferringhi market has a lot of nice restaurants, massage parlors, 7 – 11 like stores, Laundry stores, Taxi services etc so you can always give a skip to the expensive services at the hotel ;) and get it on the street at a fraction of the price. All in all we had a very enjoyable stay at Park Royal Penang. However Penang as a city has very little to offer to a tourist. The Architectural heritage and old world charm is the most appealing aspect of the city. The other attractions like Penang Hill, Batik Factory etc were a disappointment.

    • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank thomaser
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 September 2011

    My wife and I stayed at the PR 17-23 Sep 11 in a Grand Deluxe with Balcony room. Yes the rooms are becoming a little dated with the carpets and some furnishings but we knew this from other TA reviews. I would rate the hotel as 4 star, as it just lacks the smaller touches that would see it as 5 star. We ate in the Tamarind restaurant for the seafood buffet which was a great way to start our holiday. The full buffet breakfasts are the typical spread of food, that was of a high standard. Other nights we ate at the local hawker meals as it provided the local atmosphere. The staff and service from everyone we encountered was of a professional standard. Our room had a LCD TV and DVD player, combined shower/bath and a wonderful king size bed, mini fridge. The views from the balcony overlooked the BF beach area. We occasionally heard the mosque call to prayer but did not have any issues with this and found it very pleasant to listen to, the local watercraft could also be heard occasionally but not of concern. We walked the beach area once with no sign of hawkers bothering us. No-one swam in the beach though as their is jellyfish. A great stay in BF and at the Parkroyal.

    Room Tip: Grand Deluxe with Balcony was worth it, we had the 6th floor
    • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank mermaidinoz
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

    Dear mermaidinoz,

    Thank you so much for your positive feedback. I am glad to know that with the Team we have created great experiences through your stay.
    Your comments will surely come as a great boost of moral to the Team to improve ourselves further.
    Thank you once again for your great feedback and support, much appreciated!
    Do contact me personally next time you come to town.
    Have a wonderful day.
    Very sincerely,

    Francois

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 September 2011

    It was the first time I stayed in this hotel in early September during the Malaysian School Holidays. Although location was good (easy access to food and night market), the beach was too crowded and pool is too small to accomodate the crowd.
    What was disappointing was the cleanliness of the room.. Saw 2 cockroaches over the 2 nights we stayed in the hotel. When we feedback to the front desk on the night before we were supposed to check out, we were asked if we would like to speak to housekeeping. It was as if the hotel staff worked in isolation and cockroaches were not the front desk's problem.
    On the following day, we met the Assistant Manager just before we check out and feedback on the same incident. He was extremely apologetic and informed me that he would bring this matter up to the General Manager. From his reaction, it was obvious that nobody at the front desk reported the incident to him. Subsequently, he followed up with an email to apologise again and inform me that the Hotel is taking action to eradicate the problem. I was glad to hear that as it shows that the top management is taking the customer's feedback very seriously... if only the rest of the service staff can do the same.

    Room Tip: Request for a room that is furthest from the Mosque
    • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank pte-traveller
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

    Dear pte-traveller,

    First of all my deepest and most sincere apologies for the most unfortunate incident with the pest and poor reaction of our crew on this matter; please do accpete my most sincere apologies. You can rest assure that I have personally revue the situation with the team to assure no such discomfort in future.
    I deeply and sincerely regret that we did not had an opportunity to meet but was glad you had the opportunity to meet with my Assistant Richard to assist you.

    Please, pte-traveller, do contact me personally and will prove to you these incidents were only accidents and not the usual norm of PARKROYAL Penang Resort.
    I sincerely hope to hear from you soon and make it up to you in creating memorable hotel experiences.
    Have a beautiful day ahead.
    Sincerely,

    Francois

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 September 2011

    We recently stayed at the Parkroyal for 7 nights and had an absolutely fantastic time.
    The hotel is beautiful and the staff are fantastic! We travelled with our 3 year old daughter and our in-laws. We booked 2 'Family Rooms' with an interconnecting door and it was the best thing we ever did. These rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable. Would highly recommend this option when you have kids.
    The hotel is very very clean and the staff are very friendly. It has a great Kids club for older children and loads of places to roam around so you are never left with nothing to do but quiet enough to have some well deserved down time.
    We spent a great deal of time in the pool, there are two pools and one with a slide for thd kids which my daughter loved. We enjoyed hanging by the pool, eating satay's and having drinks from the bar. There were also great options for kids meals and drinks from the Cool Banana's cafe.
    We had massages at the hotel spa and they were amazing and the staff are very professional.

    I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to travel to Penang as it is so beautiful, close to everything including the tropical spice farm, butterfly farm, night markets, money changers etc.

    A great hotel and will go back again next for year!

    Room Tip: If you are travelling with children book the family room. Very spacious!
    • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    5  Thank Brenda B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

    Dear Brenda B,

    You really made our day! REALLY, REALLY!!!
    It is soooo nice to see we are doing it right, as sometime we feel otherwise but today with my whole Team I can assure you, we are not only full of joy but also burst with eagerness to do our utmost best in providing great service to all our guests.

    Thank you , thank you, thank you !

    We all look forward to welcome you back.
    Have a fantastic and real enjoyable time ahead.
    Very sincerely,

    Francois

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 September 2011

    The standard Hillview room was a bit small but comfortable and clean. Coffee and tea making facilities in the room, free Internet and outside the rooms free WiFi available. Nice gardens, swimming pools, opened till 11 PM, no claiming chairs by laying towels early in the morning. Breakfast with great choice, good coffee, friendly staff, daily free newspaper on your doorknob. Satellite TV, telephone in the room. Restaurants with good food and large portions. Spa, shops (don't expect too much). Outside in the streets at night there's sort of a street market with the usual kind of rubbish like sunglasses, copies of CDs etc. Could be fun if you like to go for a walk. Nice restaurants too. Out on the beach all kinds of watersports like parasailing or waterskiing. The sea isn't worth the trouble. At nights there's live entertainment in the Javana Lounge, mostly a singer and live music. All in all a good hotel for a reasonable price with a very relaxed atmoshere.

    • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    2  Thank Linda L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

    Dear Linda019,

    Thank you very much for your kind comments. Always greatly appreciated to hear from our guests.
    I am pleased to know you enjoy your stay with us and with my Team look forward to welcome you back in a near future.
    Have a beautiful day.
    Very sincerely,
    Francois

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews