We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again, another GREAT stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Once again, another GREAT stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

This is my second trip this year and it was great. Stayed in the Grand Deluxe Ocean view room and its worth paying more for the upgrade - the room is spacious and looks out to the sea. I noticed from my previous stay they have new TVs and rooms feel fresher and cleaner from my last visit. This time around I came with friends from Malaysia for two nights and we had a great time at Cool Bananas. The staff are friendly and they went out of their way to make sure I had a great stay - they even remembered my name before I presented my ID at the reception. The spa does a nice ocean facial using Thalgo products which I quite enjoy.

The breakfast spread is good though it would be nice to see more changing variety. Plenty of night shopping in the area and a great atmosphere by the pool and beach during the day. Again, the hotel does feel a little tired in some areas but I guess the new TV's are a sign of more to come? Will definitely be back - hopefully in February or March!

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the Grand Deluxe Sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrigLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Dear BrigLife,
I am sincerely very glad and very happy to receive your positive feedbacks and am delighted you noticed the improvements made since your last stay and also that enjoy not only our famous breakfast with its quality of food but also our great St.Gregory Spa.
Thank you so much for taking the time to share and boost our moral to perform better 
Have a wonderful, wonderful day
Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    949
    913
    328
    96
    54
See reviews for
836
909
70
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Union City, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

We booked partial beach view and paid extra for it through Expedia. When we got to our room, it was a view facing the streets. We called front desk and they couldn't confirm that we had reservation for partial beach view and asked that we take our Expedia printout to show them. Upon showing them the printout, they were able to see that in their system. How awful!
We also asked for king bed so when they changed our room to partial beach view, they promised it was a king bed. Guess what.....it was queen bed with a single bed and a side table between that. So.....what makes them think it was a king bed! Is it that front desk people lack knowledge with their rooms or just not trained well? Of course, we were tired and didn't want to change rooms again.
Aside from this incident, we enjoyed the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amoebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Stayed here November for 10 nights in Grand Seaview Deluxe room.This is my 3rd stay at this hotel and everytime is better than the last.Yes the rooms are getting a bit dated but they are well serviced, clean and have everything you need. The fruit and cookies are a special touch.The staff are wonderful always polite ,friendly and always willing to help at all times.Every staff member we met always had a smile.The breakfast as usual was plentyful.We dined 2 nights at the buffet dinner ,the food was beautiful. There was a two for one deal which was good for the budget.I would recommend this hotel to all my relatives & friends and will certainly be staying there on my next trip to Penang

Room Tip: Choose Grand Seaview Deluxe Room with balcony on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janelle_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Penang is our favourite local holiday destination and we almost make it a yearly trip. We had stayed in various hotels in Penang and of late in Parkroyal (twice) and for our recent trip in june this year we had to stay in another hotel as Parkroyal was fully booked. I was prompted to write something after comparing our recent stay and the one we had in Parkroyal. By far Parkroyal is still the best deal- very nice room, good service, good location and excellent breakfast! We also loved the night market. Parkroyal Penang....our first choice, definitely!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Badaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Dear Badaria ,
How can say it? THANK YOU, THANK YOU & THANK YOU. Your kind words and compliments are music to our ears and we are so pleased to know we made it right for you; at time we lose the confidence but your message is very reassuring, Thank you.
We will continue to work harder to assure we create more memorable hotel experiences to all our guests.
Have fantastic day
Very sincerely
Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

My husband bid on a 4 day, 3 night stay at Park Royal, Penang, at a charity auction night. I took my sister for a birthday surprise..can't stop raving about what a beautiful, relaxed place..great service..fantastic setting and services..The breakfast was AMAZING..huge choice, sat around for ages in the stunning garden. Poolside was great and the staff were friendly and obliging without being OTT. We had a seaview room..180 degree view of the sea from our balcony...taxis/limos easily organised by hotel staff or hailed from hotel...great drivers, no ripoff fare.Staff happy for us to have a late checkout. Will definitely be back.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Millie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Dear Millie M,

How glad I am with my team to hear that our breakfast was a success; with your kind words our chef with his team are now even more motivated to ensure the first delight in the morning.
Concerning the transportation, the hotel always recommend the red & white official taxi (price list is display in lobby and limousine counter), the blue taxi a little more comfortable but not that much more expensive and of course private limousine and lastly of course the bus 101 air-con and comfortable.
We always remind all the guests to be very careful on other offers guests may receive from touts or other for their own safety. Safety is our concern and am glad you appreciated it!
I wish you a very nice and enjoyable day
Very sincerely
Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at the Parkroyal. The hotel is a wonderful place to stay. The service was excellent and the staff were so helpful, friendly and polite. The bar and pool area were especially good and the night-time entertainment was great. The hotel is in a great position, close to restaurants and the night markets and close walking distance to the bus stop if you want to catch the bus to Georgetown. We will definitely be staying here again and are already planning our next trip back here.

Room Tip: We chose a hillview room as we only used the room for sleeping as I was here on business. Although t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deebeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Dear Deebeu,
What else can I say, THANK YOU VERY MUCH for your generous kind words, greatly appreciated!
Again as mentioned many times, some time we doubt of ourselves but your real nice comments help us to regain confidence, thank you!\
Have a great day ahead
Very Sincerely,
Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

really great service, great place to stay and will be coming back

Room Tip: the north side rooms face a mosque, but it is toned down and poses no problem as it was like music t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisSigrist, General Manager at PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Dear John2706,

Thank you a thousand times and we all look forward to welcome you back soon!
Have a beautiful day
Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.5 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,570 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
7.0 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Property: PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Address: | Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery in Batu Ferringhi beach or "Foreigner's Rock," PARKROYAL Penang Resort is an idyllic retreat offering delightful hospitality as warm as tropical sun. The resort is situated right on the beach and within walking distance to Night Market, well-connected to island-wide attractions including the Geogetown, the oldest colonial city in Malaysia, temples, Butterfly Farm, Penang Hill and many more. It is also situated 45 minutes from Penang International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelbag and Southall Travel so you can book your PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Penang, Malaysia Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Parkroyal Penang Malaysia Batu Ferringhi
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing