We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and enjoyable place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayview Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bayview Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxing and enjoyable place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Bayview Beach Resort sits at the end of the Batu Ferringhi hotel line. The night market is about 10 minutes walk away, and the sandy beach is less than a hundred steps from the lift lobby.

The beach is clean and serene, posed as a great place for my boyfriend and I to sit down for a good drink during the afternoons.

Breakfast is amazing. They provided a sumptuous spread of both western and asian cuisines. My boyfriend will gorge himself silly for a good whole hour every morning.

We had the pool viewing room on the 5th floor and the room was amazingly clean, sheets were always fresh and crisp. Bathroom is spacious, with both standing shower and a bathtub. TV channels were limited to local channels only, with a handful of English channels to choose from.

Lobby and hotel staff were courteous, warm and friendly. Not to mention thoughtful, offering us complimentary umbrellas when the weather looked like it might pour soon.

We didn’t hang out by the pool much, especially since the beach was right out at the hotel’s doorstep. Hotel has a tie-in with an external vendor, who provides water sports. The rates are pretty much the same for every other vendor offering similar services.

If hitting the night markets is your thing too, then no fret. The heart of the night market is conveniently located 10minutes walk away. Do note that the stalls only open towards sundown, best to go at about 7pm or so. All the stalls will be open by then. The night market stretches down the road quite a bit, so you should start seeing a couple of stores a few minutes down the road. You’ll find no difficulty in looking for local delights. My s/o and I sat down to a feast of seafood Tom Yum soup, sambal stingray, a dozen of chicken satay and “kueh tupat”/ rice cakes, Penang-style hokkien mee, beer and coconut juice for no more than 17USD in a non air conditioned hawker dining atmosphere. No comments on the pricing, all I could say is that they do a great job and every dish was delicious!

It’s quite a distance between the hotel and airport, so if you’re catching the plane, you will need to factor at least 1 hour travel time. Traffic can get really nasty, and you can get haul up in a jam.

In a nutshell, the stay at Bayview Beach Resort, was an enjoyable one. The bed was comfort-y, rooms was spanking clean, the beach is peaceful and quiet, and not forgetting the delightable daily complimentary breakfast which offers a generous variety of items to pick from.

To me the only downside is the location. As mentioned, the distance to the heart of the night market, where all the action is, is a good 10minute walk away. It’d be different if you stayed further down the road, the walk to the heart of the night market is way shorter; Probably, no more than 5minutes. The pay off is that, you have a quieter side of the beach which is accessible via the hotel’s side gates. The location is great if you’re just looking for a quiet beach getaway. Not too good if you’re into mall-shopping, as the near-east mall is about 10min taxi ride away. Their mall to visit in the Batu Ferringhi vicinity is Gurney Plaza, which is even further away; a good 20-30min cab ride. The distance to Georgetown is roughly the same, a 20-30min cab ride.

If you had to stay at Bayview, I would reckon that you have a look at the local bus guide. It is simple and easy to figure out. Plus, it’s way cheaper than cabbing around. You could arrange for a driver on your first day of visit; get the hotel to arrange one from you. Fix a rate with him, and get the driver to drive you around Batu Ferringhi, or even take you to Georgetown. The place is more than easy for you to be on your own the next day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thedancinglemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBRPenang, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you for your positive comments on our hotel's services/facilities and helpful tips on Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    689
    341
    103
    63
See reviews for
658
510
65
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Bayview Beach Resort sits at the end of the Batu Ferringhi hotel line. The night market is about 10 minutes walk away, and the sandy beach is just a few steps away from the lift lobby.

The beach is clean and serene, and it posed as a great place for my boyfriend and I to sit down for a good drink during the afternoons.

Breakfast is amazing. They provided a sumptuous spread of both western and asian cuisines. My boyfriend will gorge himself silly for a good whole hour every morning.

We had the pool viewing room on the 5th floor and the room was amazingly clean, sheets were always fresh and crisp. Bathroom is spacious, with both standing shower and a bathtub. TV channels were limited to local channels only, with a handful of English channels to choose from.

Lobby and hotel staff were courteous, warm and friendly. Not to mention thoughtful, offering us complimentary umbrellas when the weather looked like it might pour soon.

We didn’t hang out by the pool much, especially since the beach was right out at the hotel’s doorstep. Hotel has a tie-in with an external vendor, who provides water sports. The rates are pretty much the same for every other vendor offering similar services.

If hitting the night markets is your thing too, then no fret. The heart of the night market is conveniently located 10minutes walk away. Do note that the stalls only open towards sundown, best to go at about 7pm or so. All the stalls will be open by then. The night market stretches down the road quite a bit, so you should start seeing a couple of stores a few minutes down the road. You’ll find no difficulty in looking for local delights. My s/o and I sat down to a feast of seafood Tom Yum soup, sambal stingray, a dozen of chicken satay and “kueh tupat”/ rice cakes, Penang-style hokkien mee, beer and coconut juice for no more than 17USD in a non air conditioned hawker dining atmosphere. No comments on the pricing, all I could say is that they do a great job and every dish was delicious!

It’s quite a distance between the hotel and airport, so if you’re catching the plane, you will need to factor at least 1 hour travel time. Traffic can get really nasty, and you can get caught in a jam.

In a nutshell, our stay at Bayview Beach Resort, was enjoyable. The bed was comfort-y, room was spanking clean, the beach is peaceful and quiet, and not forgetting the delightable daily complimentary breakfast which offers a generous variety of items to pick from.

The only down side would be the location. As mentioned the distance to the heart of the night market, where all the action is, is a good 10minute walk away. It’d be different if you stayed further down the road, the walk to the heart of the night market is way shorter; Probably, no more than 5minutes. The pay off is that, you have a quieter side of the beach which is accessible via the hotel’s side gates. The location is great if you’re just looking for a quiet beach getaway. Not too good if you’re into mall-shopping, as the near-east mall is about 10min taxi ride away. Their mall to visit in the Batu Ferringhi vicinity is Gurney Plaza, which is even further away; a good 20-30min cab ride. The distance to Georgetown is roughly the same, a 20-30min cab ride.

If you had to stay at Bayview, I would reckon that you have a look at the local bus guide. It is simple and easy to figure out. Plus, it’s way cheaper than cabbing around. You could arrange for a driver on your first day of visit; get the hotel to arrange one from you. Fix a rate with him, and get the driver to drive you around Batu Ferringhi, or even take you to Georgetown. The place is more than easy for you to be on your own the next day.

Room Tip: request for the pool views, the hill views are a little depressing from my perspective
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thedancinglemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

This hotel is on the outer edge of Batu Ferringhi, but the benefit is the peace and quiet. It is a stroll into town or a really cheap taxi fare. The hotel, although not as modern as some, is really nice. We had a twin share, Deluxe side seaview room. The room was really spacious as was the large bathroom, which had two separate showers (one for disabled). The beds were really comfy. Our "side seaview" gave us full ocean views, also overlooking the pools and the beach and towards Georgetown. The view was brilliant.
Staff are fantastic and so very helpful, this is from reception to the pool towel boys. You never have to wait and if you do, they resolve anything really quickly.
Only downside, which has nothing to do with the hotel, is that you cant swim in the ocean - it is filthy and has box jelly fish.
Food, breakfast - fantastic (except no bacon - its a Muslim country), try the omelettes they are great. Pool side snacks, well more like a meal - be prepared they are really big serves!
I really cant fault anything about this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele77_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBRPenang, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you for the nice write-up you have posted on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate comments from all guests to monitor our standards with continuous enhancement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Returned here and found it better than ever. Excellent rooms, spacious and clean, lovely views. Staff were all excellent, without exception - especially Jackie the manager. Penang hasa great night market within walking distance but it is nice to return to the luxury of this hotel. Every need is catered for, the pool area is lovely, breakfast was excellent and we had an evening meal which was excellent but obviously more expensive than restaurants outside, which you expec t. Couldnt fault it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillNewcastle_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBRPenang, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for your positive comments (respond to specifics). We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay at the Bayview Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold coast australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

friendly happy staff, great breakfast buffet, good pool with swim up bar and loads of lounge chairs around pool and through garden, don't miss the foot massage by the pool or full massage in open air hut, good gym. Right on the beach. Last hotel on beach, easy flat walk through night markets every night to loads of restaurants. Side sea view rooms are our favourite - big room and big bathroom with seperate toilet. very relaxing place to stay. Money change, laundry, mini mart and restaurant across the road.

Room Tip: side sea view rooms are big rooms with big bathrooms and seperate toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MickandFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBRPenang, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay at the Bayview Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Just returned from 10 day stay with family ranging in age from 11 to 60 at Bayview . We had a great time and were impressed by standard of rooms, staff and facilities of hotel.As others have said rooms cleaned every day , free newspaper and although we though we had a hillview we were delighted that it was in fact almost a seaview ! When we go on holidays as a family it is important that the hotel has good clean spacious rooms and facilities for family to enjoy (pool, food , internet access, library, sat tv etc) The bayview had all of these. They even put on tv in library to see football at 3am !!! and very helpful manager allowed us to use his computer to check-in on line. The breakfast was a good choice of local and international. It was pricey for 5 if we had eated there every day but having teens in the party breakfast didn't start til later when we ate in the well placed local across the road a few times. We were impressed by the wonderful food on offer everywhere we went and are proud to say that apart from some toasted sandwiches we ate the wonderful local food at all times with relish. We had lovely food in the boatman, fantasy and the food concept at the long beach it fantastic -excellent fresh local food cooked to order and cheap. in our party of 5 that was our favourite eatery. We went on trips to Georgestown, temples, spice gardens (great informative chinese guide -danny ? ) The downside was that the beach wasn't clean or suitable for swimming and may need to be assessed . We loved our time in Penang and want to go back when we rob the bank ! If we could bottle all the above plus the lovely people the rest of the world might be a better place. Special mention for Riki massage man- warm, friendly- a great asset for hotel plus all hotel staff and the warmth of the people will stay with us for ever.

Room Tip: Our rooms faced side of hard rock but we had a good view of beach without beach prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBRPenang, General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback on our Resort and on Penang. I had passed onto Rikki your special mention as well as to our staff. Much appreciated!

We regret the downside of our less than clean beach and unsuitable swimming in the sea. This is due to the beach being a public one with less civil users and our beach’s proximity to a busy shipping lane along the Straits of Melaka. However, the Bayview Beach Resort do compensate with a well landscaped large garden and a daily chlorinated hygienic free- form swimming pool and a shaded kiddie pool.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our Resort when you are next in Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

I stayed in the hotel for 3 days. I booked the hotel using expedia- my first two nights, but the third night I booked thru the hotel website. They charged me for an early check in _150 RM and the room charge for 24 hrs was 169RM. I talked to the management but they offered me only breakfast which was 20RM. No point arguing with the management- rip off. Hotel is far away from the airport ( 60RM taxi) or bus station ( 60RM). Management is not underestanding.I will never stay in this hotel again. Next door- Hard Rock hotel- nice. Stay away from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ania-ania2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBRPenang, Front Office Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear ania-ania59,

We regret the unhappy note you had posted on the TripAdvisor and I have checked the complaint and noted that you arrived early around 6 am+ for a booking that has an official check-in time of 3 pm. Hence, you were quoted an early check-in tariff of RM150net which was accepted. Two days later, it was mentioned to the Duty Manager when you were extending your stay, that you were not happy paying the agreed upon RM150 for the early check-in charge on the day of arrival as you were only paying RM169++ or RM196 net (which was then the ad hoc special promo rate given at that time) for your extension stay. Our duty manager explained that we were unable to waive the agreed early check-in charge of RM150 paid, however seeing that your extension booking did not include breakfast, we extended free the buffet breakfast which was at RM44 net per person as a form of compromise. This was done in goodwill reflecting our flexibility and reasonableness and it is very unfortunate and we are sorry that this episode had still made you unhappy.

Our resort as well as our neighbouring more pricey Hard Rock Hotel and all the other Batu Ferringhi Beach hotels are located in the north western end of the Penang Island; about 50 minutes' drive from the airport (southern end of Penang). Please do accept our apology for not meeting up to your expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.8 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
Four Points by Sheraton Penang
#1 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Beach Resort

Property: Bayview Beach Resort
Address: The Bayview Beach Resort Jalan Batu Ferringghi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Holiday Gems and Travelbag so you can book your Bayview Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Beach Hotel Batu Ferringhi
The Bayview Beach Hotel
Bayview Beach Resort Penang, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing