We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Average stay @ bayview”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bayview Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Reviewed 10 June 2013

GOOD -the rooms were nice and big, fast room service and food was tasty.
-kids play pool was very nice and adult pool was good

AVERAGE - the noise coming from the finction rehearsal (AMBank-celeb) was very loud and
annoying
- The breakfast buffet - not so tasty, variety lacked inspiration
- the ikan bilis for the nasi lemak was too hard & had no taste to it
POOR - children's video arcade was ancient and desperately needs new games.

OVERALL - children and parents had a pleasant stay even though there were a few let downs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caladus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Caladus,

Thank you for your positive comments of our fast room service with tasty food and enjoying our pool facilities. As for the teens club video arcade we will look into some latest games to be placed there.

I am so sorry you were disturbed by the outdoor garden function and we will ensure better coordination so that such event will have minimal disturbance to other guests. I have passed on your specific remarks to our Executive Chef so that we can improve on them.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcome you and your family back when you next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

Overall is good. we stay for two nights. Our room is in good conditions, clean and tidy, although the design of room and furniture are not really 'new' or trendy design. Our room is facing the hill side, I chose the highest floor.
My family are happy during our stay there, and we do enjoy our holiday. The breakfast is good too, various choices. The swimming pool is just nice, my kids are having fun. The beach is clean, but the wave is strong during this time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teckkientan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewBch, Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Dear teckkientan,

I am delighted that you and your family have overall enjoyed your recent 2 nights stay with us enjoying our sumptuous buffet breakfast and swimming pool. Thank you for also for rating us 4/5 and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next planned holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed for a night. Very dirty rooms with old decor and dirty bathrooms. View from hotel balcony was great but other facilities were old and gross. The breakfast was very old school and not tasty, the rooms were dingy and bed cover had stains and smelled bad. Will never go back there again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gaiaacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The room is very nice & clean. Not much comment on the room. However,the hairdryer & kettle button does not function properly. The breakfast is not that great. It would be nicer, if the foods are tasty.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niza81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear Niza81,

Thank you for your comment of our nice clean rooms but if you could let us know the room numbers you had stayed in so that we can check that particular room with the appropriate rectification of the hairdryer and kettle.

I am sorry that the breakfast did not fulfil your expectation and normally, our buffet line (which had received numerous compliments) has over 70 items available and is rotated daily.

It was nice to have you stay with us and I look forward to your return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

** WARNING ** Do NOT use the spa attached to the hotel. The therapists are not trained and it's a high price for the region. Terrible experience, so much so that my partner couldn't be bothered and got up and left before his time was up.

We stayed here 1 night as we were attending a wedding next door & that hotel was fully booked.

Bayview Beach is a very old hotel and really has not been updated much at all. They are still using photos around the resort from the 1990s, with one particular photo advertising the Sunken Bar that appears to be of a 40 year old white man chatting up a 12 year old chinese girl which is a bit disturbing.

One thing nice about older hotels of course are the HUGE rooms. Our room was facing the hill (not the beach) but it was very very big. As evidenced at checkout as you could see many groups were clutching their own pillows and blankets, you could probably put about 10 people to lay down and sleep in the 1 room.

The bathroom were the standard old hotel size (quite cramped) and they have a bathmat in the bathtub - you should remove that before getting in to shower as I didn't, the suckers on the bottom didn't work properly and I promptly slipped on it and had a massive bruise on my inner knee for days (the ridiculous part was looking up from my fall and being face to face with the sign on the bathtub that said "afix the bathmat before getting in the bath")

Our room was clean and staff were helpful. The beach was nothing to shout about, but the pool here is huge (good thing as it was full of lots and lots and lots of kids and parents). We ordered room service - a burger and a steak sandwich (late night munchies) and the food was surprisingly above average (not gourmet by any account but above average for room service).

Bayview is basically just a perfectly serviceable beach resort that's middle of the road and where you should go if you can't afford anything better & want to be near a beach and pool

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scentofacity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear scentofacity,

I am sorry to learn of your partner’s spa experience that did not meet up to your expectations which we have highlighted the matter to the Spa management so that improvements can be made in this area.

Although as mentioned in our previous responses, our hotel was designed in the late 80s which has a retro look and we are not known to be a modern swanky hotel. Notwithstanding that I regret how an innocent picture highlighting the Sunken Bar was disturbing to you due to your wrongly perceived depravity as it is the first time that picture has offended anyone. The management has emphasised on maintaining the resort’s old Penang charm without compromising on guest comfort and service standards.

I appreciate your advice and reminder to all readers about the importance of securing the bath-mat provided and I am so sorry to hear about your accident and I hope you have fully recovered by now. Your other positive comments about your stay with us is valued.

Indeed not everyone can afford to pay for a 5 stars hotel and we pride ourselves for offering a value for money alternative to the more expensive hotels along Batu Ferringhi. Yet we are gaining recognition and patronage from our numerous local and international satisfied guests; especially those travelling with families, enjoying the wide ranging options that keep them happy and returning or recommending us to others.

I do hope we can welcome you back the next time you are in the Batu Ferringhi area. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I stayed there for one night. It was peak season due to school holiday but the lady at Check in counter did an excellent job in getting my room ready on time. Breakfast was great, room was excellent. Overall we enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siva68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear Siva68,

I am delighted that you and your family have overall enjoyed your recent stay with us although for one night. Your positive endorsement of our excellent breakfasts is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again perhaps for a longer period next time to enjoy our facilities and services. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

i understand that time was peak season & i know check out time is 12noon. a reminder letter slot into my room and followed by phone call by counter staff remind me to check out at 12 noon is a bit annoying & i felt like you chasing us out.

the rest all excellent with very nice landscape before the beach.

i would say that i will coming back to stay here in my next visit to penang.

tq.

Room Tip: regular room is huge..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuarpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Dear nuarpj,

Thank you for rating us 4/5 during your recent stay with us. Further to your comments on the check-out time, I am sorry my staff have left you with a poor impression when they have to remind you on your departure time. Certainly, a more tactful explanation could have been offered due to the high occupancy when the hotel tries to get sufficient time to clean the rooms for the arriving guests.

I am glad that aside from the above, you have found the rest excellent and enjoyed your stay by endorsing your definite intent to return and we all look forward to welcoming you and your family back. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#3 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
2,256 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.9 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,479 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
Rainbow Paradise Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Tanjung Bungah
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Beach Resort

Address: The Bayview Beach Resort Jalan Batu Ferringghi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: £42 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotelopia, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bayview Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Beach Hotel Batu Ferringhi
The Bayview Beach Hotel
Bayview Beach Resort Penang, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing