We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayview Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Value for money hotel”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a 4 star hotel with Non sea facing rooms costing RM250 and Ocean facing rooms at RM400. Rooms are clean, but drainage was blocked. Got in house plumber to solve it. Breakfast is average. Recommended for budget travellers

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room if you are a non smoker. ask for a partially ocean facing room for the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Francis K,

Our lowest lead in pricing along the Batu Ferringhi stretch indeed has made us the preferred and value for money choice from our satisfied local and international guests; especially those travelling with families enjoying the wide ranging facilities.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to a better rating the next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    721
    355
    107
    64
See reviews for
682
535
69
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Been to this hotel couple of times for company trip and personal stay. Very spacious room and reasonable price. Ask for ocean view room if budget is allow. Buffet breakfast-I would consider not bad with this price range. Great hotel for family trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HLGoh605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear HLGoh605,

Thank you for being our returnees and I am delighted that you liked our buffet breakfasts which many other guests have also enjoyed plus all the facilities we offer to make us a value for money resort along the beach for family holidays.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back when you are next in Batu Ferringhi for another enjoyable holiday at the Bayview Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrento, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Wife and I recently spent ten days in a Ocean View Superior room on 8th floor. Room was great with very large bed. Only criticism of the room was the large lounge chairs which took up too much room and the bedside lights which were both controlled from switch on right side. View to west was great for sunsets and also of the ocean and hotel grounds and pool (both of which are great). Very good gym. Too hot to sit on balcony in afternoon until about 6pm when heat started to go out of sun. Breakfast was a average and mostly catered for non Europeans. Quite location and value for money. Staff were excellent. Local buses are easy to catch and cheap as (rm2.70) to Georgetown.

Room Tip: Look for 8th floor or above and spend extra for Ocean View. Most of these rooms if not all have bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Bill M,

Thank you for recommending the Deluxe sea facing rooms as they do provide value for money with its amenities and its settings. I am glad the gym meets with your approval and our attentive & friendly staff served you well.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Penang is a major tourist destination and competition between hotels is high. Bayview, whilst not on the top rung of accommodation options on Batu Ferringhi, is a very comfortable and well appointed 'resort' style hotel probably most suited to family holidays.

A spacious and glassy atrium serves as the lobby with glass lifts serving all the accommodation floors. The rooms are large, especially the family suites... with two bedrooms, a living area and small kitchenette.

Staff are great. Helpful, polite, well presented. The hotel surrounds include a great pool well monitored by staff. Beach access, as with all resorts along Batu Ferringhi, is good, however the beach has been neglected in recent years.

Very satisfied with our 'family' stopover for two nights and would have no hesitation to return to Bayview again. Very competitive room rates for the standard of accommodation and facilities supplied.

Room Tip: Views not fantastic from any level, although a beach view room is better from the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Mark B,

Thank you for giving us a very good 4/5 rating on your recent stay here and your nice review of our large family suites with the extended living room that accommodates very well for families, plus all the highlighted recreational facilities we offer. This make us one of the most preferred resorts along the beach for family holidays. Our resort has a variety of rates and packages offering the most reasonable rates along Batu Ferringhi beach in comparison with other hotels in the area. I am glad this suits you well.

We are delighted you are confident in returning to stay with us and we look forward to extending you another pleasant stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

What is nice?
(a) Pool is about the only redeeming feature in this hotel. It is around 15-20m in curvy length. So, for those who wish to swim laps, the length is welcome.
(b) Location. As hotel is located along the end of the Batu Ferringhi beach area, there is the nearby night market (15 mins walk away), access to restaurants and eateries, buses to town / airport, etc.

But even at the beach, there is another unique practice.
When I wanted to use the beach chairs, I was informed by the staff that certain chairs and tables were already occupied. The staff said that reservation is available at RM50 per day. Another interesting money making practice.

What could be better?
(a) Jaded look in the lobby, restaurant and in the room. I guess it is about time to redo the hotel.
(b) Room had no room sandals, towel card, dirty balcony chairs, etc. I wonder where is the supervision and whether there is any quality check on the room upkeep.
Note: Hotel had a strange practice where pool towels can only be obtained with a towel card. I guessed this resulted from too many stolen towels. But I wonder if this should be the solution.
(c) Food in the restaurant tended to be expensive and not something one would look forward to eat again.
(d) Wifi in room is chargeable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IamQingfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear IamQingfa,

Thank you for staying with us and particularly finding our pool delightful.

If you are referring to the cabanas and sunbeds been taken up, they are actually for rental for exclusive usage. As explained in earlier postings, reserved cabanas are rentable for exclusive usage to prevent previous difficulty of guests competing daily to take territorial possession of the free for all cabanas. However, we still allow the “first come, first served” basis for any free cabanas that have not been rented out. This way, we manage to keep most guests happy as those who want exclusive use have to pay for the privilege and those who are not willing to pay understood that they have an option to do so if they want exclusive usage. I regret this system has somewhat caused you the wrong impression.

We have taken note of your comments over the cleanliness of the balcony chairs and remedial actions have been taken by the housekeeping department to be more vigilant when checking rooms. For your information, bathroom slippers are available on request.

Regrettably (as mentioned in our previous posts regarding food and beverage prices) and like all hotels in Penang, we are unable to compete with the illegal and unlicensed operators with no compliance costs selling at cheaper prices on the streets. However, the Hotel provide a convenient and hygienic place to have your food and drinks with Happy Hours offers at certain times in the various outlets.

We have extended free in-room wi-fi with effect from 1 September 2012 so we are confused when you said we charged for wi-fi usage in the room. We only charge guests for using our computer (PC) at the Business Centre for those guests who do not have internet connectable gadget thus preventing guests from hoarding the PC for long periods.

We hope to welcome you back when you next visit Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Pros-
Spacious rooms!! Great big sized beds too!! Plus kids stay for free package was really great for family of 4.
Pools were very nice and hats off for having the kiddie pool as my kids loved spending time there enjoying the slides and spray guns. Even the baby pool is well shaded to protect your precious little ones as they enjoy themselves at the pool.
The breakfast buffett is well stocked.
Downside- some of the rooms may be a little musty when you first check in.
Overall - a great budget friendly hotel for families.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Caladus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewBeachResortPg, Edwin Yap, Area General Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Caladus,

I am glad you found our rooms spacious and comfortable and that our popular children’s Play Pool has proved to be a hit with your family. We are delighted that it has given them so much fun and joy during their stay. We are also happy that you and family have enjoyed our delicious breakfasts spread.

Our open non air-conditioned corridor leading into an air-conditioned bedroom may give some guests the smell of dampness due to the different ambient temperature which does not take long getting used to.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you and your family back again for another great stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

As the name imply, it is beach resort so it is good if you wish to enjoy beach activities around the Batu Ferringhi beach area about 15-20 minutes walk from the Ferringhi night markets. It is a rather 'tired' looking hotel but staffs are warm and welcoming.

One unfortunately incident we have experienced is that the bed linens (pillow, pillowcases, bedsheets etc) have the damp musky smell (the horrible smell of undried clothing which linger on forever). The housekeeping was very helpful - but as explain by the hotel staff, this is well-known problem/feedback from hotel guests as the hotel has recently change laundry provider which was a bit of shame.

It is quite far from the Georgetown if you wish to enjoy the city heritage sightseeing, so you need to allocate car or transportation to and back if you are staying Bayview Beach Resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LW_Lai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewBeachResortPg, Manager at Bayview Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Laila_W,

Indeed we are very different in style & look from the modern day hotel and we do try to maintain our retro feel as part of the hotels concept. Emphasis has always been on the substance of our caring & efficient service and good value which is what we are well known for.

Further to your comment on the musky bed linen, we suspect that there was a batch of defective linen used that was insufficiently dried due to a rush-job over the busy period that may have caused the “smell” issue mentioned. Please accept our apology and we will be more vigilant when checking the linen.

As you have rightfully mentioned Batu Ferringhi (beach) is indeed quite a distance away from the hustle & bustle of Georgetown city but we are easily accessible with regular inexpensive but excellent public bus service with the bus stop just right in front of the resort. Intervals are between 5 to 10 minutes all day.

Thank you for staying with us and reviewing us. We certainly look forward to your return again for a pleasant vacation and relaxing stay with us the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,191 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.9 mi away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,441 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Beach Resort

Property: Bayview Beach Resort
Address: The Bayview Beach Resort Jalan Batu Ferringghi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#5 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelbag, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bayview Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Beach Hotel Batu Ferringhi
The Bayview Beach Hotel
Bayview Beach Resort Penang, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing