We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice staff and great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room with private balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room with private balcony
View from balcony, oversees Andaman Sea Master bedroom with unobstructed seaview
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Living room with private balcony
View from balcony, oversees Andaman Sea
Master bedroom with unobstructed seaview
Guest bedroom
Fully equipped kitchen
Dining room
Ensuite master bathroom
Guest bathroom
The Reef condominium
Shared outdoor pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island, Penang

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eltayb E
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
“Nice staff and great location”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in December 2017

we spent a week at this property during our honeymoon trip to Malaysia.. the property was super clean with a breathtaking see view.. the location is great being midway between the beach area and Penang's old town.. the owners are very friendly.. Jason was very nice to pick us up from the airport and guided us to spent the new year's eve at Straits Quay which turned out to be a memorable night with all the entertainment and the fireworks!! The bus is within walking distance or you can use Uber which is much cheaper than most cap services there!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dlhunt
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice 2 Bedroom Super Clean Apartment”
Reviewed 14 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This apartment was exceptionally clean with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths. Well equipped, including a washer and dryer. Jason the owner provided transportation to the apartment which was a nice bonus. He also dropped off a blender and a water pitcher within a day of our request. The outdoor space was nice as well as the amazing sea view from the living room and master bedroom. The drawback was the master was extremely noisy from the street below and the exhaust fans from the nearby hotel. The second bedroom was dark and quiet.
We would definitely rent here again.

The building is old and in desperate need of painting and upkeep, but the hallways, etc. are quite clean. 24-hour security is provided. The swimming pool is sparkling with plenty of shade and almost private. You might want to bring your own chairs to the pool since there are only 3 chairs - one broken, one very dirty and one plastic upright. If you can look past the building, you will find a nice, well-appointed totally remodeled apartment. However, if you have any health or physical issues, this apartment may be difficult to walk to. The hill is a bit steep and could cause some problems. We were happy for the uphill walk to wear off some calories from all the delicious food we ate.

The bus stop is down the hill right in front of the DoubleTree Hotel. This is very convenient. The Miami Cafe across the street has very good food with the owners Raj and Mary being very accommodating. The small Miami Beach used by mostly locals is a short walk with a few hawkers lining the roadside. The wet market is about a 10-minute bus ride away. They have meat, seafood, fresh fruits and vegetables, even clothing etc. There are also many stands selling an array of food for breakfast. If you buy too much to carry, you can always call Grab (the SE Asia Uber replacement), which is much less spendy than a taxi and you won't have to walk you the hill.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasmaroyc...
Bali, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Payment”
Reviewed 12 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The owner and the apartment was extremely good.
Just be prepared for a bit of a walk up the hill.
trip advisor We are shocked that the payment was taken from our account in American dollars. We booked in Australia. It made it $100.00 more expensive. We wont ever use trip advisor again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
joana6551
Chilliwack, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Conditionally excellent”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Condo is great, the view spectacular. But the traffic noise from the road below goes 24/7 and is at times almost unbearable. It is true it is just a short walk from the bus stop and they come often, but that short walk is almost straight uphill on a very, very long climb. Anyone not in good physical shape would find it very difficult and possibly need to take a taxi instead. Jasmine and Jason were very helpful and I thank them for their time and help

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette60...
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful sea view from a comfy apartment.”
Reviewed 23 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is our third stay at this apartment and we intend to go back next year. There is a marvelous sea vie from the apartment from the balcony. Because the balcony is above th canopy monkeys birds and squirrels are to be seen. We also enjoyed watching the sea eagles and kites fishing alongside the small fishing boats. The bus stops are at the bottom of the hill. One way to Bantu currents, the other Georgetown. As we do not hire a car this is very good. A seven day pass costs 30 ringgit (unlimited travel}. There is a big Tesco supermarket on the bus route and taxis are very cheap. The Hilton hotel is stool being renovated but should be open I around 5 months.
The apartment is comfortable and equipped as advertised. Good WiFi service and effective air conitioninand fans. It is cleaned once per week and new towels provided. Soap powder,shampoo and washing up liquid provided.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gollyrobb...
Denmark, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Modernised apartment in an older complex”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Having just read the review “Disappointing and frustrating” we wondered if we had stayed at the same apartment. We stayed for two weeks from 3rd November and like the previous reviewer, we were on a fact finding trip. As such, we were out and about most of the time, so any noise from the renovations next door was not a worry. Yes we were disturbed by a motorcycle one night, but this can hardly be blamed on the owner of the property.

Penang, and George Town in particular, is renowned for its range and quality of food. Eating out is a pleasure and extremely cheap. All of the ex pats we met on this trip said that they rarely ate at home and we did likewise. When we did eat in, we found that the facilities were adequate.

We used the washing machine several times during our stay, but not the dryer. We prefer natural drying and we found that we could manage quite happily with the small airer available, but a larger one would have been better.

It tends to rain most afternoons in Penang, but we had no problems with any leaks.

We agree that the complex is old and could do with sprucing up. However, the apartment we had was in an excellent condition with lovely views of the sea from the balcony. We often sat there at night enjoying the view whilst having a pre dinner drink. We slept in the “front bedroom” and whilst the bed was firm, it was comfortable – particularly so after the bed we had at the previous apartment we rented the week before in George Town.

All in all, we had an enjoyable stay and we must say that Jason and Jasmine were excellent hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Balcony and sea view
Liked least: General condition of the complex
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing