We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Jupiter

Ocean Jupiter
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We provide Tours & Transfers with driver services...etc
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Brilliant service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

After seeing the comments on Trip Advisor decided to book our own tour rather than go with the company set up by the hotel. I emailed and Steven replied very quickly. We really really wanted to incorporate Orabg Utab island in the day, Omar our driver was was on time to pick us up, showed us loads on our way to Penang Hill and on our journey to Orang Utan island. When we arrived he came with us to the booking desk to find that a VVIP was visiting so we couldn't go over to the island that day. I can't say who was more disappointed us or Omar. To compensate he gave us a tour round the island and took us to some amazing places! We negotiated another rate for the following day and again Omar was on time and took us to Orang Utan Island which is brilliant by the way. This company offers a lot of service for what they charge. Omar was always where he said he would be, on time and with a ready smile. Very informative and lovely. Would definitely use them again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    42
    10
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
leicestershire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Tour Company - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I found ocean Jupiter on trip advisor prior to travelling to Penang in November. The reviews were all very good so I sent an enquiry about an airport transfer. I received a reply from Steven within hours, quoting what seemed a very good rate so I booked it. No payment required until we arrived! I started looking at tours in Penang but didn't fancy a large group tour so again contacted Steven asking about options. As previously, replies were received very quickly and he was able to suggest ideas for tours which was great. I also booked a return to the airport at the same time! On arrival in Penang our driver was waiting for us and quickly transferred us to our hotel - perfect. We had booked a morning tour around Penang, but when we were collected, our driver asked us what we would like and suggested a longer more informative tour, we were very happy to go along with this and didn't regret it! He took us to places we would never had seen, bought us different local foods to try along the way, pulling over to buy fruits, local pastries, noodles etc. we then carried on around the island where we saw so much more than we could have ever hoped for. We cannot recommend this company enough! Great service, great price, great drivers. It may not look much on the web site, but you will not be disappointed whatever you book! Thank you to everyone at ocean Jupiter for making our stay in Penang so wonderful!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank babychicks333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Reliable Local Tour Company Batu Ferringhi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Before heading off to Penang wanted to book a tour and see some attractions as a personalized tour package not just one of regular packages that take you to a number of attractions and then off to a shop. Did some research on TA and decided to contact Michael at Ocean Juipters via email - email reply responses were timely and he was happy to work in with us. On the day of the tour is rained a lot, thought that we would be washed out, however after a few hrs all cleared as it does in a monsoonal climate and all was good. The driver we had was an Indian chap, in a small new car, although very polite was not very informative - a little disappointing. We still had a good time and saw what we wanted to see. Again decided to use Ocean Jupiters for the airport transfer back from the Park Royal to the airport as the Hotel was charging 200 MYR - Oceans provided a great contract driver in a new van for 100 MYR - this worked out well for the 3 of us who had large suitcases. Certainly would use this tour company again on our next visit to Penang in 2014. (Have not seen all the sights yet!).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Only way to see Penang”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

First stop, Ocean Jupiter Day Tours. Ask for Michael. Let him plan your day . Thats it !
We had a group of 4 and were quoted rm40 per hour for minimum of 5 hours That was in a small van that could seat 6. Michael will take you to all the traditional tourist sites if you wish . but he prefers to show you "his" Penang Island . He is an animated, wealth of information with a slightly sarcastic sense of humour. ( biggest waterfall on Penang Island ! ) You will see the less travelled paths, experience true hawker food and drink and get a fascinating history lesson on the island, Penang and Malaysia. We toured with Michael for 10 hours. The Highlight of our stay.There may be others who could show you around, but why risk it........ Thanks Michael . -John,Mary,Ross,Jean.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jbmb1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheerness
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“fabulous day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Michael was our driver, and certainly lived up to his famous name. We left the day up to him and was not disappointed, he took us to places big tours could not get to. He was so knowledgeable about the island thank you. The cars Ocean Jupiter supply are very comfortable and air conditioned, and very good value for money, they also answered my e-mails very quickly

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank smileysylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Jupiter also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 

Been to Ocean Jupiter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing