We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Beautiful”
Review of Lone Pine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lone Pine Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed here for a night with my girlfriends for a hen party. Wouldn't have stayed anywhere else! This hotel is absolutely beautiful, very contemporary yet homely welcoming. It's clean and the staff were polite and helpful. There was a wedding reception by the beach which was just amazingly gorgeous - made me want to get married! The hotel's a bit on the pricey side though, so it would be best if you can look for good deals.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mawar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoGB, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear MawarFadzil,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I am sure everything is well and the month of June is proceeding positively for you and your family.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you as our guest during your visit to Penang and I trust you had a safe and pleasant trip back home.

Thank you for your positive comments of our staff and the hotel areas on TripAdvisor during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel.

It was really fantastic to have read your wonderful comments during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel and that have made it more satisfying for all of us to learn that we have managed to fulfil the expectations of another guest.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable and more fulfilling.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
KHOO BOO LIM
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    511
    168
    65
    52
See reviews for
423
657
61
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne,Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We have just returned from a lovely relaxing 10 nights at the Lone Pine Hotel and could not fault it. Great position right on the beachfront with the night markets starting at the front gate. We had a deluxe room, which was large with everything one could want, big flat screen tv,free wifi, fresh fruit platter, topped up every day, mini bar replenished with free soft drinks and bottled water. Big bathroom with huge shower, fresh towels replaced every morning and evening. The balcony had a day bed for stretching out to read a book or just sit back and take in the view of the pool and beach, it also a foot bath. The staff were most attentive and any small problem quickly attended to, with a smile. We were invited to meet some of the department managers to give feedback on our stay and asked if we had any suggestions to further improve the hotel, but we were more than happy with our stay. Buffet breakfast excellent and caters to all nationalities. also the buffet dinner, although not on every night good value. A la carte menu also available. The staff told us this is one of the original hotels on this strip and was recently closed for 2 years and completely re-furbished and the wing we were in was new. We would certainly go back and stay there again if going to this part of the world and recommend to fellow travelers.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top (3rd) floor so no overhead noise, although dont know if this would be a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joanrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoGB, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear joanrog,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I am sure everything is well and the month of June is proceeding positively for you and your family.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you as our guest during your visit to Penang and I trust you had a safe and pleasant trip back home.

Thank you for your positive comments of our staff, our room, facilities and the hotel areas on TripAdvisor during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel.

It was really fantastic to have read your wonderful comments during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel and that have made it more satisfying for all of us to learn that we have managed to fulfil the expectations of another guest.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable and more fulfilling.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
KHOO BOO LIM
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Such a great place to stay, I flew in from Langkawi and after a long trip from the airport I was checked in very quickly and shown to my room. The room was great, fantastic layout etc and I really enjoyed the hot bath on the balcany.

I got an upgrade for the last 3 nights to a bungalow, again it was fantastic!

This place has a great location at one end of the market strip, great access to food and just a really great place to stay and relax!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iac0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoGB, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear iac0n,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I am sure everything is well and the month of June is proceeding positively for you and your family.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you as our guest during your visit to Penang and I trust you had a safe and pleasant trip back home.

Thank you for your positive comments of our staff, our room, facilities and the hotel areas on TripAdvisor during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel.

It was really fantastic to have read your wonderful comments during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel and that have made it more satisfying for all of us to learn that we have managed to fulfil the expectations of another guest.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable and more fulfilling.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
KHOO BOO LIM
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The Lone Pine hotel is beautiful. Just what we were after on our honeymoon,

The room itself was gorgeous. Plantation shutters looking over a grassed area towards the beach and on the ground floor. The room was huge! his and her bathroom, with a huge tub and large shower. Even a coconut ladel for in the shower! My husband liked this touch!
The bed was so comfortable and great linen. We often slept through breakfast here as he curtains have a full black out effect which made it very hard to wake up.
The breakfast was average to be honest. There was a great chef who always made us feel so welcome but the taste of the food itself wasnt that amazing. A whole lot of asian inspired things which of course you expect in a asian country but it would of been nice to have certain things cooked fresh such as pancakes, sausages etc.

The pool was great, beautiful lounges and beautiful gardens. The Lone Pine truely is the best hotel along batu ferruinghi beach. I must say we walked along and looked at all the hotels, the golden sands was like a childrens school camp, the Park Royal was quite runned down, and the hard rock was miles away and so noisy. The Rasa Saya was nice aswell but very pretenious. We went there for dinner which was beautiful..

Would definitly return to Lone Pine.. The front office staff were great, and the staff in the bar were amazing. My husband celebrated his birthday which staying here and we were provided with a beautiful cake which was a great touch!

Room Tip: Even the standard rooms look great, so dont feel the more you pay the better room you have. The stan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melbournegal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear melbournegal9,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I am sure everything is well and the month of May is proceeding positively for you and your family.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you as our guest during your visit to Penang and I trust you had a safe and pleasant trip back home.

Thank you for your positive comments of our staff, our room, facilities and the hotel areas on TripAdvisor during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel.

It was really fantastic to have read your wonderful comments during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel and that have made it more satisfying for all of us to learn that we have managed to fulfil the expectations of another guest.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable and more fulfilling.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed here for two nights and would have happily stayed longer.
We had a decent sized room, which was clean, the bed very comfortable, with well equipped bathroom and a balcony overlooking the sea. The balcony had a daybed and a plunge pool, perfect! Lovely to sit there and watch the fish eagles and swallows flying overhead.
Breakfast was included and it was excellent. The Bungalow, where breakfast was served was presided over by Chef Fatte, who was huge, as his nick name suggests and genial. His real name is Fong Wei Cheong. He also kept a close eye on staff to ensure everything ran smoothly. There was a good variety of fruit, delicious thick cut smoked salmon, good selection of breads as well as noodles etc.
The swimming pool was lovely with very comfortable beds. The spa was a little pricey, but in hotel terms not unexpected. Good treatment and helpful staff.
Our only criticism is that the jet skies go straight out from the beach. This means the noise is quite high and if you want to swim in the sea you are only able to swim in a little area that is roped off. Not good if you want to walk/swim along the big bay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Dear carry f,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I am sure everything is well and the month of May is proceeding positively for you and your family.

First and foremost, thank you for your positive comments of our staff, rooms, facilities and the hotel areas on TripAdvisor.

It was really fantastic to have read your wonderful comments during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel and that have made it more satisfying for all of us to learn that we have managed to fulfil the expectations of another guest.

However, we acknowledged the present situation of the public beach in front of our hotel and the behaviour of the water sports operators. This is an on-going challenge faced by all beach hotels and the state government. There have been many meetings held between the authorities, beach hotels and water sports operators to find an amicable solution to solve this matter to the extent of the hotels adopting the beach. On our part, we are in constant communication with the local authorities, namely the Municipal Council of Penang, the Police, etc. to address our ongoing deep concerns, as well as increasing security patrols around our premises facing the beach front to keep illegal operators at bay.

Once again, thank you very much for bringing this matter to our attention.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable and more fulfilling.

Wishing you and your family a good week-end ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Haven't stayed at Lone Pine since they renovated. Loved it back then. Love it even more now.

You can't expect any less especially since it's managed by E&O, known for their luxury heritage experience. The suites were impressive while the "standard" rooms' outdoor sunken tub -- on the balcony -- lends an exclusive touch to the experience. Also love the "hidden doors" in the room -- didnt realize the safe and fridge we behind the "wall".

Room was brilliant. Airconditoning just perfect! However pillows were a bit too soft for my liking but hey, that's personal. I guess I could've requested for a harder pillow -- not sure if it's part of housekeeping offerings though.

However, the old Lone Pine used to provide Molton Brown toiletries. Sign of the times. So no more M&B but nonetheless the current offering pretty decent.

Staff and service are worth mentions! All very knowlegeable and genuinely friendly and courteous.

Definitely my choice hotel for future visits to Penang!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear ninamn,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I am sure everything is well and the month of May is proceeding positively for you and your family.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you as our guest during your visit to Penang and I trust you had a safe and pleasant trip back home.

Thank you for your positive comments of our staffs, our room, facilities and the hotel areas on TripAdvisor during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel.

It was really fantastic to have read your wonderful comments during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel and that have made it more satisfying for all of us to learn that we have managed to fulfil the expectations of another guest.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable and more fulfilling.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week-end ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Spent 2 nights at this hotel and will stay here again. The room is a very generous size and bathroom is great (no bathtub) and spacious too. Beds were comfy and there is a jacuzzi on the balcony!! It is a smaller hotel than some hotels surrounding it which makes it more personal and everything is within easy reach. The pool area is very nice as well as the gardens which have deck chairs for lounging and enjoying the sea breezes. Breakfast offered was good and had a mix of continental and local delicacies. The fried noodles in the morning are delicious!! Staff are attentive and friendly.

Room Tip: I hear the rooms on the left of the hotel (if looking from the main road) have a poorer view. I stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Mon59,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I am sure everything is well and the month of May is proceeding positively for you and your family.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you as our guest during your visit to Penang and I trust you had a safe and pleasant trip back home.

Thank you for your positive comments of our staffs, our room, facilities and the hotel areas on TripAdvisor during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel.

It was really fantastic to have read your wonderful comments during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel and that have made it more satisfying for all of us to learn that we have managed to fulfil the expectations of another guest.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable and more fulfilling.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week-end ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.9 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,683 reviews
7.0 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Pine Hotel

Property: Lone Pine Hotel
Address: Lone Pine Hotel 97 Jalan Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lone Pine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in an idyllic spot along Penang's coastline, Lone Pine is Batu Ferringhi's only luxury boutique hotel. Renewed and rejuvenated after a lovingly undertaken restoration, Penang's favourite beachside boutique resort reopened its doors refreshed in design and facilities, but still infused with the same colonial spirit and idyllic charm that has made it one of Penang's legendary hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Travelbag, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lone Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Pine Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Hotel Penang, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing