We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean and comfortable place”
Review of Lone Pine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lone Pine Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice clean and comfortable place”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed for 3nights and everything was fast from the point of check in to check out. We had a deluxe room with an additional bed which still gave my two kids ample space to move around. The huge balcony is a great idea, complete with the day bed which came in handy when the kids wanted to eat, without having to dirty the room. The bath tub in the balcony is nice when you have two kids who will not leave the pool. The bathroom is huge and compete with all amenities. The only downside would be that the bed sheets were never changed in the 3days that we were there. Plus point was they had a turn down service and we had our water refilled as we had utilized all complementary bottles. Breakfast bufft was good and so was the food in room dining. The well mannicured lawns with the hammocks are something you dont find in other hotels. The pool was big and access to beach was easy fir the kids. Overall we had a good time and we met the we GM too. We will return for sure?

Room Tip: Try to get the Premier Garden rooms, much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear SaraAsh,

I hope the week has been progressing well for you and your family.

We are glad that you have found the layout design of the room simply perfect for you and your two childrens. In fact the architect responsible for the design of the hotel recently just won the Gold Award for the Best Commercial Building Design during the annual PAM (Persatuan Arkitek Malaysia) event to acknowledge the industry best.

As for the bed sheets, I am equally supprised as our housekeeping standard operating practice (SOP) is to changethem everyday unless the small tent card of "Green" practice is placed on the bed to inform them not to do so. Anyway, I will conduct an investigation and see what actually transpired. Since you have met the GM, I would appreciate if you drop us a note to inform us on which room you actually stayed.

Well we still hope that you will continue to stay with us on your next visit to Penang and I would love to catch up. My well wishes to you and family.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    507
    165
    62
    52
See reviews for
419
651
61
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We headed to Lone Pine after five days in George Town. It was completely different than the cultural old world charm in George Town and is very much a tourist beach destination. Reception was friendly and the manager came over during check in to introduce himself and welcome us to the resort.

We were given an upgrade to a deluxe room which had a balcony facing the water and included an outdoor bath. The room was clean, spacious and had a adjoining area with a large day bed that was perfect for reading. We tried lunch by the pool and had fairly standard hotel burgers.

Service was good, efficient and attentive. We were also given a voucher for dinner at the hotel's Japanese restaurant Matsu. The food here was pretty bland compared with the outstanding food Penang is famous for.

Overall the hotel is perfect if you have kids with good pool, including kids pool and lots of space both on the grounds and in the rooms.

Free wi-fi on offer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lids101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Lids101,

We are very delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel ideal for a perfect getaway to indulge in some peaceful reading and relaxation. We have taken note about your comments on the food and shall review it through with our kitchen department.

Penang is indeed a melting pot of different cultures and boast of many fine cuisines so we understand the constant challenge for us to realize its reputation as a culinary haven. Different people have different palates but we respect all and will do our very best to meet the expectations of everyone.

I hope we will get another chance to serve you as we look forward to your next visit with us. Have a nice and productive year ahead.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airtrainandplane
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I cannot think of anything exceptional about this hotel.
The rooms are just ok, scuff marks on walls, just about clean. Although we did not get a clean on one of our stays. I was told that the DND sign was on, it was not on!
Maybe this hotel and its sister the E&O in Georgetown swap kitchen staff as you can not get a soft boiled egg in an egg cup or a decent selection of fruit in this hotel either.
Pool and reception staff are very helpful, Guido (Manager) appears to be a tuned in smooth operator who has recently started his employment. Maybe he can crack the whip and move this hotel up a league as it is in a great location but wallowing in a pit of mediocrity.
Come on Guido, get this hotel hitting the spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxthewax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear MaxtheWax,

On behalf of the management, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay with us.

We are now into our 2nd year since we re-opened for business and I must admit that we have been experiencing very good response for our room occupancy thus far. We are now going through a room refreshment program and we expect to finish it in about 6 - 8 weeks time.

We are also going through an inventory replenishment program for the whole hotel after getting our operations budget for the new financial year approved by our corporate office. This exercise will see us replacing or adding all operation equipments and items that are short, broken, missing or spoiled.

Anyway, we do appreciate your review and hope that we will get the opportunity to redeem ourselves should you make another visit to Penang.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We have been to Penang over 30 times now and this was our first time at the Lone Pine. It was a very nice hotel, boutique feel, great rooms (pillows ere bad) but we saw a rat in the kitchen/the bungalow the 2nd day at breakfast and then saw it again on the 3rd day, during lunch time. that really disgusted us, as it was an open kitchen at breakfast and you have to wonder how many people get sick eating food in this restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReenyBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear ReenyBrian,

We are delighted to know that you have arrived home safely after spending your holidays in Penang. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to your liking except for the unseemly incident you witness. I am equally taken aback when i came to know about this as we have very stringent measures on pest control in place. We even engaged a professional multinational company to undertake this task as we take this hygiene measures very seriously. We are proud to say that we have never had any reported case on food poisoning.

This is definitely an isolated case, nevertheless we view this seriously and have already had our contractor come in to do their necessary work and investigate how this matter could have happened. Please also bear in mind that the area next to our hotel is actually opened to the public where you will find food stalls, shops, stores and sea sports operators. This is where we believe our uninivited guest could have come from as these people do lack taking care of this area.

Anyway, please accept our sincere appreciation for your honest feedback and it was rather unfortunate that i did not have the chance to personally meet up with you. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again and wish you a pleasant year ahead.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at Lone Pine for six nights from 22nd July 2012.
We wished we were still there as we cannot recall a more enjoyable place to stay.
The location was perfect for a quiet relaxing holiday.
If you are looking for a busy, noisy place with people running about all over the place, Lone Pine may not be for you.
If you want peace and quiet with wonderful a staff, excellent food and relaxing surroundings, Lone pine is where you need to be.
Lone Pine is a wonderful mix of modern with some old colonial charm thrown in.
Apart from the location right on Batu Ferringhi beach you have the added advantage of night markets right outside to add charm during an evening stroll.
It is always the people and their attitude to the guests that determines the quality of a resort or hotel. We cannot imagine anywhere bettering the quality of the Lone Pine service.
In this regard Lone Pine shines. With the help of Guido, the newly arrived General Manager, you find the staff offering broad smiles as they constantly look for ways to please the guests.
Nowhere else do you see the senior management moving amongst groups of guests with a friendly smile as Guido does. His positive influence on his staff is obvious.
Every staff member, be they restaurant, bar or ground staff showed a willingness to help and to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
The food is incredible, the atmosphere calming and the grounds relaxing.
If we could offer some critical advice it would be that the TV package on offer, may not match the preferences of most western guests. A small matter but once rectified Lone Pine would be just about perfect.
We will be back in Penang again next year and Lone Pine will be our hotel of choice.

Kind Regards.
Jan and Bill Hanson.
Melbourne.
Australia.

Room Tip: Chose a ground floor room if possible to take advantage of the views under the tress to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamH172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear WilliamH172,

All of us here are delighted to know that both of you have arrived safely back home. I am just loss for words on how to respond to your wonderful comments you have for the staff and the hotel. It is simply such a wonderful feeling for us when we learned that we have managed to fulfilled the expectations of our guests and provided them with many happy and memorable moments!

I shall have this printed out and paste it on the staff notice board so that they will know that all of them have done a fantastic job. We are a firm believer that for our staff to go the extra mile and ensure full guests staisfaction, we must also treat them the same way with upmost respect.

Anyway, we are very glad that we have met such a good and sincere friend and we look forward to seeing both of you again very soon in the future. Please take care and have a pleasant year ahead.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This is a very nice hotel to relax and get away from the chaos of Singapore. Stayed here with my family on recent vacation. Rooms are very spacious and staff are friendly. Very convenient to nice beach front restaurants. Would recommend you stay here if you go to Penang.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMarshall294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear JMarshall294,

We are so happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us with your family and that you had a saved trip back home to Singapore. On behalf of everybody at Lone Pine, we would like to extend or appreciation for your kind words about your recent stay with us.

Well Singapore is just a short distance away by flight so we look forward to seeing you and your family soon again when you decide on your next trip to Penang.

We wish you and family all the best and have a productive year ahead.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We had a wonderful 7 day stay at the Lone Pine. Our 2nd visit to Penang after 12 years. Most of the comments already posted are fairly spot on. I always expect to stay in a hotel with an Asian design but the contemporary interior design worked very well. Lots of polished concrete and natural stone. We had a deluxe corner room on the 3rd level overlooking the pool and beach. Plenty of room and we didn't actually use the small sitting room very much (this is the extra space for the deuxe corner room), so probably not worth it unless you need a table inside for work. Overall a beautiful hotel, private and with lovely gardens. The pool is great for swimming if you are a lap swimmer - and it is all one depth.
The hotel and Batu Ferringhi in general were fairly quiet when we were there (last week - just outside European holidays, Australian/Asian holidays finished and it was Ramadan), so a good time to be in Penang. Yes, the beach may not be the best but it was better than we expected and fairly clean and it was still beautiful to walk along and the sunsets were stunning.
The Bungalow restaurant in the hotel was good with a mix of Asian and western dishes. It also had a varied selection of nice quality, well priced wines by the glass which can be rare in SE Asia. We tried a few outside restaurants and the Living Room was very good - but not the great selection of restaurants that is on offer in other parts of SE Asia. Nevertheless we didn't go hungry!
The hotel provides free WiFi and yes the connection could be variable depending on the tropical weather but most days it worked ok. We live in a 'black spot' for WiFi in Sydney and I thought it was better than at home! The mini bar was also free and restocked with plenty of water and soft drinks each day.
Last but by no means least - the staff. There were too many lovely people to mention individually and they all worked very hard to ensure we were looked after. If we have the opportunity again we would certainly return and would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a small (90 rooms), quiet resort (apart from the jet ski operators!!) in a area without noisy bars and night clubs then this is ideal place particularly at this time of year.
Thanks Lone Pine.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLeary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khoo B, Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear O'Leary1,

It is simply just wonderful to read such wonderful comments and so delighted to know that we have met or exceeded the expectations of our guests. I shall have this printed out and posted to our staff notice board so that they know their good work have not gone unnotice.

We hope you will not take another 12 years to have another holiday in Penang! We will look forward to your next visit in the near future and wish you all the best.

Kind regards,
Khoo Boo Lim
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,924 reviews
0.4 mi away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
7.0 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Pine Hotel

Property: Lone Pine Hotel
Address: Lone Pine Hotel 97 Jalan Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lone Pine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in an idyllic spot along Penang's coastline, Lone Pine is Batu Ferringhi's only luxury boutique hotel. Renewed and rejuvenated after a lovingly undertaken restoration, Penang's favourite beachside boutique resort reopened its doors refreshed in design and facilities, but still infused with the same colonial spirit and idyllic charm that has made it one of Penang's legendary hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Fastbooking, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lone Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Pine Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Hotel Penang, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing