We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room with big wide tropical rattan sofa, cable TV, Wifi.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room with big wide tropical rattan sofa, cable TV, Wifi.
There is a sofa-bed in living room Reading, knitting chair
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Living Room with big wide tropical rattan sofa, cable TV, Wifi.
There is a sofa-bed in living room
Reading, knitting chair
King size bed in master bedroom, with attached bath. Both sea and green hill views from this room.
Queen size bed in room 2. Sea view from this room
Dining and kitchen area. Fridge, electric cooker, oven, microwave oven, toaster, coffee maker.
Dining area is very cozy in the evening
Master Bedroom Attached Bathroom
Second Bathroom
Pantry is equipped with washer, dryer, iron, ironing board,
Infinity pool with sea view
Children playground
Location: Beach Front, Next to Hard Rock Hotel
Beautiful Batu Ferringhi Beach in the morning
View from balcony after sunrise
Morning view
Batu Ferringhi
Evening view from the balcony
Beach Front Luxury Apartment
Dining, Kitchen
Master Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Beachfront View, Sunset View From Balcony
Swimming Pool Lounge, Gym, Children Playgound
Plan Layout
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island, Penang

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
patgrimme...
Perth, Australia
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The apartment was far better than we expected, very clean , quiet, close to restaurants and nightmarkets, bus stop at the front of complex, W e will definitely be staying there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location Cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
Thank you for your kind review Pat and Roy.
We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owsky
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great if you want a place on the beach”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We wanted a place close to the beach and this was perfect. We ended up using the beach only once because the waves were too strong for the kids but we loved the sunset view from the apartment and the infinity pool. The apartment is brand new and everything works but there is definitely a mosquito problem at the ground floor where the playground is. Put on your mosquito repellent in the day. A few words about the location. First, the unit we stayed in was furthest west. That's important if you do not wish the next door mosque's call to prayer to wake you up at dawn. In our block, we heard the call only faintly. I'm sure the blocks directly next to the mosque would be different. Second, the condo is close to the tail end of Batu Ferringhi - it's quieter and more peaceful but food selection around the area is so-so. Long Beach is a 10min walk. Third, expect a 30-min drive to Georgetown. There aren't many cabs in the area and we found out quite soon that if you found one it wouldn't use the meter. Any taxi that stops will quote you at least a 35 ringgit fare to Georgetown. If you don't agree, it will just drive off. So do yourself a big favour and use Grab or Uber. We used it all the time and it was half the price of the regular taxi rip offs (for comparison, to g town we paid around 15 on grab or Uber). The one time we couldn't was when we were leaving entopia around 6 and neither app could get us a car.

Finally, a word on our hosts. Osman was very nice to get in touch via WhatsApp a week before we arrived and Kelvin received and saw us off punctually and warmly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
Thank you for the kind words Dominic.
We are looking forward to hosting you again in the future.

Siti and Othman
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackw53
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A Great Choice”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Being no strangers to Batu Ferringhi we had a clear idea of what we wanted for our 7 week stay. After a lot of research we finally settled on By The Sea and in particular this property. A Great Choice - from initial contact with the owner (Siti) to our arrival and stay everything has gone like clockwork. The apartment is as described (but even better), Great sea and hill views and always something going on, An infinity pool to die for and a well equipped gym and for the younger generation a play park, The place is kept spotlessly clean both inside and out and the local agent on the ground (Kelvin) does a stirling job in looking after guests and gave us his personal number on our arrival should we need to call him. The property has some 138 apartments and whilst they no doubt all have their plus points this one will really take some beating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to Leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2016
Thank you Mr and Mrs Wraith for staying with us and for this lovely review. It means a lot to us. We are very honored to have you stayed with us and hope you will come back again soon.
Siti.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahar K
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely beachside condo with all the amenities of home”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our stay at Unit 108 By the Sea in Penang was lovely. Kelvin the property manager was extremely helpful and responsive and was there to welcome us and address any problems we had. This 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit is nicely decorated with a balcony offering a partial beachside view and receives a nice amount of sunshine. A major benefit was having access to a washer and dryer wish was extremely helpful when traveling with little ones. The pool is clean and lovely with a lot of sun to keep it warm. The kiddie pool was one of the best we've seen. The only drawbacks were that the cable television lacked basic channels and required payment to view programs. The kitchen was minimally stocked and it would be helpful to have basics like salt, pepper, sugar, etc. A major lifesaver was how responsive both Kelvin and the owner Siti were in locating my husband's iPhone that he left behind in the taxi we took to the airport when leaving Penang. Kelvin tracked the phone down for us immediately and the owner Siti personally delivered it to our hotel in Kuala Lumpur. Thank you both, we truly appreciated it!! Overall a wonderful place to stay in Penang with the beach just steps away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to the beach, great pool and near local eateries.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2016
Thank you Bahar, we will keep improving. Siti
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imran Abd...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 20 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Very well located with its own beach access. Walking distance to all the little restaurants, night market and hawker centres, including the famous Long Beach Cafe. The beach itself has little shacks serving food and drink, but a few steps inland will get you back to the more reasonable strip of bars and cafes. Also walking distance to all the hotels as well but why bother when there is so much choice for food at a fraction of the price?

The apartment itself is lovely, has great sea views, is well equipped with all the mod cons of your own home from home, and is perfect for a family of up to 5 or 6. Step free access from the parking lot and to the very nice swimming pool (when you prefer a sand free splash). We managed to do the kids' laundry and cook some of their food when we were having non-child friendly food. And could relax in our own space once they went to bed. A number of the apartments are owned as holiday homes so the pool never really got busy.

It'll take around 30 mins to get back into town for the historic sights, as well as the Gurney and nasi kandar must eats but is very do-able if you avoid rush hour. The hop-on/off bus tours passes by the apartment as well. Owners Othman and Siti, as well as managers Susie and Alex were always on hand(phone) for pointers where needed. Would highly recommend it as a great alternative to being trapped in hotels, and at a much lower price per head.

Thanks again all!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2016
Thank you Imran, we hope you will come back and stay again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing