We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad value”
Review of Dong Tam Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ha Tien
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dong Tam Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ha Tien
Reviewed 16 December 2012

- Manager lied several times. He claimed it is a non-smoking room when it smelled like smoke and they provide ash trays in every room. Then he tried to convince us that the hotel is full and that they only have 1 room or the VIP room left.

- Internet did not work at all and it's a hotel specific problem (open WiFi) as Internet connectivity is generally reliable in Ha Tiem.

- During the night (after 10pm) 5 year old kids are "running" the reception. No English of course.

- Rooms are dirty, sink in the bathroom was clogged. Shower and bathroom are not separated.

- Room towards the street are noisy due to traffic and people shouting in the restaurant/bar below

Room Tip: If you go, try to get a room in the back on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euclid10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

Hotel was in a great location. Breakfast was not included with our room. Staff was friendly and helpful. Typical hard 3" mattress that are found in Asia. The a/c wasn't very good, the town had multiple power outages the night we were there, something out of the hotels control. However, I did get stuck in the elevator-but at least was rescued right away-took the stairs the rest of the time we were there. Water was hot and the hotel had toiletries included. Tour groups stay here so there was quite a bit of noise throughout the night as groups came in late and left at 3:00am

Room Tip: Hotel did have a family room with two queen beds, first one I have seen in Asia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank custravel_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Ha Tien is a quiet border town and there's not much to do here - we stayed for just two days/ one night before moving on to Can Tho which is much more lively. The Dong Tam Hotel (aka Du Hung II Hotel), which seems to cater primarily to Vietnamese business travelers, is clean, safe and a perfectly acceptable choice for a night or two in Ha Tien. They have a website (dongtamhotel.com, Vietnamese-language only but the photos are accurate).

Pros:
Clean rooms with private bathroom, hot water shower, AC, television.
Good location on the town's main commercial street, Tran Hau. One block from the river and right around the corner from the main market. At night food stalls set up outside the market.

Cons:
Other reviewers have mentioned the public-address loudspeakers which are mounted to telephone poles on the streets; unfortunately there is one right outside the hotel which plays patriotic music and announcements from 6 to 6:30 am. Perhaps ask for a room that does not directly face Tran Hau street.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ga8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed here on our way to chau doc during the low season. There wasn't much to do in the town, I understand it's main attraction is a beach- no good in the rain!
Hotel was clean and bright. Not all staff spoke English but all were helpful and friendly. Despite it's promises no food was available at all. We got woken up by the tannoy outside at 5am so probably best to ask for a room in the back.
Free wifi a definite plus.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleanor_hills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We loved ha tien though used the hotel as a base while we spent a couple of days at mui nai beach (short taxi ride away).

The hotel was literally £10/night so we weren't expecting much- the room was clean, hot water, Internet access, staff very friendly and chatted to us everyday.

Downside was our room was literally next to a loud speaker system that randomly went off before the sun was up! Pretty annoying but we have been used to noisy rooms in Vietnam so for the cost we just put our head under the pillow!

Hotel is a stones throw from the riverside and just over the river you can catch a ferry to phu quoc for 160000d so good stop before moving on to the beaches!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graciemai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

The people spoke very little english and didn't make any effort to try communicate with us. I was completely suprised by the obvious lack of interest in helping us when we tried our hardest to communicate what we wanted in a room and when we asked about prices. I can honeslty say that this was the most negative experience I've had satying at any hotel in Vietnam. Puting that aside, the rooms are fine, the air-con works well and there are free computers in the lobby, just make sure they dont double charge you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sababl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

The boarder between Ha Tien, Vietnam and Kep, Cambodia is open now for backpackers and business people. This little hotel in Ha Tien is good for either type of traveler. Central location, close to the market and ferry boat landing. The staff spoke a little English and were quite helpful. There is no breakfast room which is common in Ha Tien hotels but there are plenty of places to eat near by.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lawnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ha Tien hotels
0.0 mi away
Du Hung Hotel 2
Du Hung Hotel 2
#4 of 7 in Ha Tien
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#1 of 7 in Ha Tien
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Long Chau Hotel
Long Chau Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ha Tien
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hai Phuong Hotel
Hai Phuong Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ha Tien
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ha Tien Happy Hotel
Ha Tien Happy Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ha Tien
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Sammy Hotel
#10 of 14 in Ha Tien
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dong Tam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dong Tam Hotel

Address: So 83 Tran Hau, Ha Tien, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Ha Tien
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ha Tien
Number of rooms: 54

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing