We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally disappointed”
Review of Green Island Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ha Tien
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Green Island Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Ha Tien B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Booked two rooms on agoda (booking confirmed!) but when we arrived, the hotel said sorry because there was no room left! Then we tried the BBQ buffet of their restaurant but only received much more disappointed! The food served was much less than advertised in the menu! Such kind of service could only deserve one star, not 4 stars!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nguyen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

Stayed here as part of a package tour.

The room was spacious, as was the bathroom. Wall mounted television but limited channels (for English speaking guests). Swimming pool is very small.

Had a buffet lunch which was quite good. The public bathrooms, situated on the floor above the restaurant, whilst clean, do not provide hand drying facilities (no paper towels or hot air dryers).

Definitely not a 4 star hotel.

Although close to the Mekong it is miles to the beach - which was pathetic. More like a mud flat with a limited area for swimming. Absolutely no chance of my returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Save your money and go to Phu Quoc Island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

From previous comments about the hotel I have low expectations. I think they stand to be corrected! We have a lovely room with river view. The hotel is new, clean with WIFI. It is right in the middle of town and next to the river with a wide modern promenade.
It is a couple of hundred metres to the town market with lot of interesting things to look and taste. The staff was extremely helpful, although with basic English they manage to book our trip into Cambodia. Breakfast was a la carte and delicious, I had the best cup of Vietnamese coffee during our 2 weeks tour of the country. It was concentrated, aromatic and smooth. We have 3-4 staff waiting on us because the hotel was of low occupancy. Ha Tien is a town which lack tourist attractions. We were just passing to get to Cambodia.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

When we arrived we asked if they could arrange a shared private bus direct to Chau Doc and were shown a leaflet by reception with detail of this level of service through Mekong Travel that departed at 10.30am and cost $10. We were later informed that the 10.30 wasn’t available and given the option to leave at 12:00.

Next day on checking out the transfer was not on the hotel bill, instead we were given a separate Mekong Travel invoice. Transfer to the bus was on the back of two xe ôm motorbikes which rang some alarm bells as the reception pictures were of a modern mini bus. We were taken to the public bus station and put on a dilapidated un-marked mini-bus with freight and locals. . .after 3.5 hours and various stops to pick up more locals we arrived in Chau Doc, not at the bus station but the side of a road.

The scam is that the hotel charges you $10 for this level of service when you could just as easily go to the bus station and get a public bus ticked for less than $3. We did contact the hotel and they passed the blame onto Mekong Travel and a week later we have no further explanation.

Room Tip: Avoide rooms ending in 02 if you need Wi-Fi access, they are located behind the central staircase an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlosUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The pool was lovely and the room was 4star with an absolutely fantastic view , of the river , and the constantly changing landscape of fishing boats and ferries.The staff were very friendly and helpfull , and contrary to some of the reports we had read , we were most impressed with the standard of food and service in the restaurant . If in ha tien , I could not recommend this place highly enough .

Room Tip: pay the little extra for the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gjwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

While waiting for our bus to Cambodia we popped in here to have a big breakfast before a long day ahead. The American Breakfast cost me €4, it was awful!
Most of the food seemed old, the bread hard and the meat suspect. Even the tea tasted like dishwater and was undrinkable. The food was so bad we left unsatisfied.
The hotel seemed clean enough but was empty with more staff than guests.
I would look for somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntm21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Dont bother staying here save your money for the overpriced Phu Quoc hotels, where at least you can swim in the ocean. I have stayed at this hotel twice for business. It is a typical badly built and badly run Vietnamese hotel designed to rip off tourists (a 3 star hotel at 6 star prices). It is in a good location and each room has great views but it just doesnt quite get it right. There is no separate shower and if you have a shower (in the bath), the shower head is way too low and water from around the bath drains across the floor so if you have to go in the middle of the night you step into a cold puddle. The fridge keeps the minibar cool not cold. Toiletries or towels or something is often forgotten by the cleaners. The "pool" is virtualy in the public park. The breakfast is very ordinary with complicated rules as to what you can have together.

Room Tip: If you are going to wast your money, the higher the floor the better for views. The rooms at the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikaro3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ha Tien hotels
2.3 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#1 of 6 in Ha Tien
100 reviews
2.2 mi away
Du Hung Hotel 2
Du Hung Hotel 2
#4 of 6 in Ha Tien
20 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hai Phuong Hotel
Hai Phuong Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ha Tien
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Long Chau Hotel
Long Chau Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ha Tien
12 reviews
0 mi away
Bao Anh Motel
Bao Anh Motel
#3 of 10 in Ha Tien
1 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ha Tien Happy Hotel
Ha Tien Happy Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ha Tien
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Island Hotel

Address: Waterfront, Ha Tien, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Ha Tien
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Ha Tien
Price Range: £24 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 81

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing