We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what we were looking for”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jungle Jeanie's by the Sea
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Jungle Jeanie's is a great place to stay for the "in-between" traveler. Not a hostel, not a high end resort. My boyfriend and I stayed for 6 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed all of them. Without pre-ordering, as we were told to do, we recieved lobster delivered to our "treehouse" just after arriving from the airport on our first night. We were VERY happy campers!
We've read a lot of negative reviews about their dogs. Yes, they do have 4 german sheperds. Yes, they are big, Yes, they sometimes bark. And because of the dogs, we NEVER worried about the safety of our belongings! All 4 of the dogs love to swim and are very friendly. We found them a bonus to our experience.
A few of the negatives - our bed was not very comfy, which we informed Jeanie of, and are certain that she fixed for future guests. And, no fault of Jeanie or staff at all, when there is no breeze, the sand flies can be VERY annoying! A night of slapping at those biting little #$%^$# ers and you'll be extremely happy with the wind blowing through your hair!
It's only a short walk into town, and we felt very safe walking around at night. The town of Hopkins is welcoming and quite safe for the tourist.
Thanks Jeanie and staff (Barbara was great too!)

Room Tip: The Treehouse is great for a couple. Up in the trees, the breeze is more prevalent to keep away the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eco-goddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    63
    16
    18
    5
See reviews for
36
95
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Hello,

We went to Jungle Jeanie's three years ago and when we started to think about our annual trip this year, Belize was our first choice and so was Jungle Jeanie's!

As usual we were greeted with warmth and felt like we were returning home to friends and family. Some upgrades have been done around the property however it was almost exactly how we left it 3 years ago and that is one of the best things about this vacation spot. We stayed in the Sea Chalet again and were steps from the ocean.

The beach was wonderful and the update to some of the beach chairs made it even easier to spend hours on the deserted beach and in the warm water. The beach is swept each morning and well kept, the water was great and soft sand under your feet.

The food was amazing as always and Sara outdid herself each morning with a wonderful breakfast and the best Fry Jacks around. Her homemade jam is fantastic and the service is bang on. She was always flexible with our breakfast time to accommodate our daily routines and simply needed notice the day before.

Our room was well kept and we had towels, a coffee maker, mini fridge and microwave so we could stock up at DongLee's and snack or drink anytime during the day.

John and Jeanie took us on an evening pontoon ride and provided snacks and refreshments - it was great entertainment and fun to ride the river at night.

For those who are unfamiliar with this property it is important to understand that this is the furthest thing from a 5 star all inclusive type resort. It is rustic and quiet and a place to go to relax, get away from it all, and enjoy some of the quirks of Hopkins and the surrounding area. If you are looking for a big resort that caters to your needs or air conditioning and 500 count sheets this is not the place for you. If you are looking for somewhere that the staff go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and to truly feel like family then this is a perfect place for a night or two, or like us, 2 weeks of paradise.

One thing to be aware of are the random occurrence of jelly fish - while most of large and easy to spot and sting a bit, we did see a small box jelly this time around and made sure to keep our eyes open in the event we saw another...

JJ's is close to Hopkins and a variety of restaurants - for great pizza make sure you head to Driftwood Pizza Shack, it was awesome and our meal at Beaches and Dreams was great as well.

Take advantage of the newly paved road to Placencia to do a bit of shopping, have a coffee and then enjoy a great meal at the Barefoot Bar.

If you have any questions or would like more information feel free to email me!

Cheers,
Nathalie

Room Tip: The Sea Chalet, Tree House and Beach Cabanas are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinggnat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
199 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed in the Jungle loft, no air but never hot, nice breeze and plenty fans. Small bathroom, lots of bedroom space. Beautiful location and great beach, they have 4 large german shepards which the girls loved. Jeanie was a great lady, had a problem one night my daughter got stung by a scorpion, it was 2am and storming. Not sure if like scorpions in Flordia (non-poision, wasp like sting) so ran to John & Jeanies cabana, waking them up, she confirmed not poisioned said apply vinigar or lime to lighten sting which she did. (I had given my daughter anti-histamine immediately after it occured). Then Jeanie still feeling soo bad gave my daughter a chocolate bar, because chocolate will help her relax- it cures all. No TV though they have WiFi, nice selection of books in "lobby". They offered breakfast at the hotel, great fruit plate and the pancakes were filling, average price.

Room Tip: All cabana's well shaded, our cabana was set back from beach, others are on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Jungle Jeannie's was a perfect place to spend the last few days of our honeymoon in Belize. The incredible beach-front location, the comfortable accommodations (private bath/shower in room), the friendly and helpful staff (and their playful German Shepherds) all combined to make this a place I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZSBaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Spent 2 nights at this quaint & cozy little place that was actually recommended to us by a Hopkins local. Jeannie, John and Barbara met us with welcoming smiles the moment we walked thru the door. They set us up in a cabana next to the shore and our friend was set up in a cabana next to us that sat up above ours. The furnishings are simple and charmingly decorated. No tv which I was thankful for. Was most pleased at the cleanliness. The shower was sizeable and the toilet was modern. Lots of power outlets available. No air conditioning but the abundance of windows that can be opened allowed the seabreeze to keep us comfortably cool. A couple of chairs and a hammock on the front deck were perfect to relax on. And then there's the fresh delicious food! We thoroughly enjoyed the company of Jeannie & John for a Seafood Linguini dinner they prepared. This lovely couple were an absolute joy to talk with. Lots of great stories were shared together. If we find ourselves in Hopkins again we would definitely land ourselves on Jungle Jeannie's doorstep again! - Rick & Suzanne

Room Tip: We feel we were lucky to stay in the cabanas closest to the water. The ones to the rear are more sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Content2Bme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mont Tremblant, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

two years running to Beautiful belize for a month in april. Last year, was our 1st time to Belize. During my studies of BElize, the town of Hopkins seemed so sweet and Jungle Jeannies place seemed 'at the end of the village' n 'on its own'. We rented a car at the airport in the city, drove south to Hopkins. Landed at Jungle Jeannies with no problems. Our plan or staying one or two nights turned into 10 nights of our Belize vacation was based out of Jungle Jeannies. The location at Hopkins is great for many attractions. John n Jeannies is the most relaxing, chill place on earth. You can have breakfast n dinner on site or walk down the beach to try other great restaurants within a few minutes walk. Chef Robs is a must.
Nice water at the beach .. rough when windy but 'wave jumping' kept us happy on windy days.
we did not have any sand flea problems but others told us stories........
This year, we spent 2 weeks in southern belize and 2 weeks in honduras. While in Belize, again, we stayed at Jungle Jeannies for a few nights of real R n R. in between our action packed adventures, we headed home to see John n Jeannie.
I recommend Jungle Jeannies to all whom like top end hospitality and a beautiful jungle-beach setting. The cabanas are clean, funky and private. a little rustic but truly wonderful home away from home. I look forward to my next visit to Jungle Jeannies, by the sea

Room Tip: beach cabana is litterally on the beach. tree house has the most amazing views... you wont want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deeb e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We spent a week here in April - beautiful stretch of beach (never anyone else on it!), very friendly owners and staff, comfortable private cabanas (most with coffee makers & fridges). It is only about a mile out of Hopkins village (much more laid back, less touristy than Placencia) so it is close enough to walk in to local restaurants, but far enough out to be quiet and private. In fact, it is closer than any of the other resorts. We made most of our own breakfasts, but one day we did have both breakfast and dinner there and they were both very good - it was very homey eating dinner with the owners, John and Jeannie, and learning about their experiences as Canadian expats creating this hotel before Hopkins became a tourist destination! They arranged a great snorkeling trip for us at a better price than we were able to get in the village or at any of the resorts (the snorkeling was among the best we've ever done, and we've done lots).

Room Tip: We chose the Sea Chalet, one of the closest cabanas to the sea - only thing between it and the sea i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JosephineNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
0.6 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#7 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
16.4 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
#3 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Jeanie's by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Jeanie's by the Sea

Property: Jungle Jeanie's by the Sea
Address: Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hopkins
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a private romantic beachfront get away or the perfect family vacation, Jungle Jeanie's By the Sea is the place for you. Nestled on a private acreage bordering what many consider the best shoreline in Belize, Jungle Jeanie's is one of this country's best kept secrets! Our beachfront resort offers delightful accommodations on a palm-tree lined white sandy beach with a perfect combination of relaxation and adventure. Come to Jungle Jeanie's for a vacation you will remember! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jungle Jeanie By The Sea Hotel Hopkins
Jungle Jeanie's By The Sea Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing