We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last piece of unspoiled paradise with almost private beach”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jungle Jeanie's by the Sea
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Last piece of unspoiled paradise with almost private beach”
Reviewed 20 April 2009

My teenage-daughter and I spent 4 days at Jungle Jeanie's from April 4th to 8th. We both fell in love on first sight with our beach cabana. It sits right on the beach, only a few steps from the ocean. The cabana was spacious and nicely furnished, very clean with private bathroom and a nice porch with two chairs facing the beach and the ocean. Already on our first day which was dedicated to relaxing on the beach, we had so much fun swimming, paddling with the kayak and hanging out on the porch of the cabana, that we felt as if we had found a last piece of unspoiled paradise. There were other guests but with so many things to do in the area, we often had the beach almost for ourselves. In these days where large hotels occupy almost every accessible piece of beach, Jungle Jeanie's is a rare find particularly at the affordable rates.

The individual cabanas so fit naturally into the environment of trees, bushes and beach and the sound of the waves was so relaxing that even my 15-year-old daughter felt that frequent texting with her friends was kind of out of place and we could enjoy a wonderful mother-daughter experience in this beautiful and peaceful surrounding. Our hosts Jeanie and John made us feel at home immediately and shared their their long-term and profound knowledge about the area very openly, so that we could select the best activities during our limited stay without wasting a single minute. Their beautiful and friendly German Shepherds were great playing companions on the beach but gave us also a very comforting feeling of safety.

Always a highlight to start the day with, was the breakfast with fresh tropical fruit and Fried Jacks (local specialty) and eggs cooked to order. We also liked that we had the choice of either dining in the Restaurant of Jungle Jeanie’s where John cooked delightful local food (ok, the Oreo Cake was probably not local, but nevertheless delicious) or head for a restaurant in Hopkins with the complimentary offered mountain bikes. Liz was so friendly and helpful with all our transportation arrangements and booking of various tours (snorkeling, tubing on the river in the Jaguar Preserve and horseback riding) with local guides, that we got a great experience of the rainforest and the other nature highlights of the area as well as insight into the local Maya and Garifuna cultures and could even try their typical food. If you want to leave fast-food, noisy traffic and crowded beaches behind and instead experience unspoiled nature at your individual pace, relax in front of a nice wooden cabana with unrestrained ocean-view and still have a comfortable fall-back on good food on site, I highly recommend Jungle Jeanie's. We will definitely be back and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Augusta2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    63
    16
    18
    5
See reviews for
36
96
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
peachland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

I went back to Jungle by the Sea after travelling around Mexico for 1 month to spend Christmas with Jean and John. John is a fabulous cook and cooked turkey dinner for 15 people on Christmas day. The marshmallow yams were yummy and so was the black cake! We toured the local 'Bitters' factory and i did lots of swimming on their beach. If you are looking for a laid back place with family cooking this is it. It is very affordable too.

Best wishes,
Dale Lockhart
Peachland, BC

  • Liked — The view of the ocean
  • Disliked — The bare walls without pictures
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dalePeachland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2008

My friend and I enjoyed 3 nights at Jungle Jeanie's...It was just what we were looking for. We wanted to find accommodation on a private or semi-private beach and this was it! Jungle Jeanie's has individual cabanas for rent that are on stilts and set back in the jungle just off the beach. While the cabanas are quite simple they are very comfortable and offer all the basics such as a bathroom with shower, fans, and a small refrigerator. It's definitely for the traveler who isn't seeking luxury however if you like simplicity, peace and quiet you will love Jungle Jeanie's. Your hosts and their friendly surfer German Shepards will make sure you are fed a fabulous breakfast and dinner and inform you of all local activities! It is difficult to get around outside of the immediate area unless you have a vehicle so if you want to explore the greater area rent a car and drive to Jungle Jeanie's! We didn't want to go anywhere so we were okay without a car!

  • Liked — The beach was very private. While there were other guests staying at Jungle Jeanie's often wer were the only ones at the beach...
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friend_of_the_earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2008

Located directly on the beach, Jungle Jeannie's offers you a quiet respite from the busy lives that you may live as I do (teacher in the Chicagoland area). We stayed in the Sea Chalet, which was literally feet from the sandy beach and we were put to sleep (and awoken) by the crashing of waves. John and Jeannie (the owners) can arrange for water activities (we went snorkeling with Patrick) as well as kayaks and bikes to tour the village. We'd also strongly recommend eating dinner at Tina's in Hopkins Village. She will cook you an authentic Garifuna style dinner and you will have your own romantic table for two, entertained by the small children (we helped a young one with his alphabet homework - how cute!). Although not a luxurious resort by any means, Jungle Jeannie's provides you a place to stay on the beach for a very reasonable price, and allows you to explore Hopkins Village at your own leisure.

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach
  • Disliked — A bit too laid back about guests/service
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsc903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
0.6 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#7 of 11 in Hopkins
76 reviews
16.4 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
#3 of 11 in Hopkins
634 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
784 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Jeanie's by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Jeanie's by the Sea

Property: Jungle Jeanie's by the Sea
Address: Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hopkins
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a private romantic beachfront get away or the perfect family vacation, Jungle Jeanie's By the Sea is the place for you. Nestled on a private acreage bordering what many consider the best shoreline in Belize, Jungle Jeanie's is one of this country's best kept secrets! Our beachfront resort offers delightful accommodations on a palm-tree lined white sandy beach with a perfect combination of relaxation and adventure. Come to Jungle Jeanie's for a vacation you will remember! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jungle Jeanie By The Sea Hotel Hopkins
Jungle Jeanie's By The Sea Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing