We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windschief is your one stop location for rest, relaxation, friendly people, a beautiful ocean view.”
Review of Windschief Cabanas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windschief Cabanas
Ranked #7 of 18 Hopkins B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We had a wonderful time here. The people here are incredibly friendly and the laid back beach atmosphere is what Belize is all about. We spent a few days here. One of our most favorite things is the cool breeze from the Caribbean. I love this place!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kamholio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

Planned staying 1 night and ended up 3 :-D . Owners are very nice and relaxed. The cabana right at the beach... it was amazing, we really loved it. Not to touristy, relaxed, wished we stayed longer because belize was a big surprise for us! Every morning we went to the bakkery of Caitlin. mmmmmmm yummie. the cabana itself was also very big, clean and had everything we needed!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for 3 nights and then another 5 nights on our recent Central America. Out of all the places we stayed, this was one of the best and most memorable.
There are just two cabanas for rent at this little bar on the beach, which makes it a great place to relax with some peace and quiet.
We took the small cabana; a lovely homely wooden cabin right on a well-maintained area of beach with a little balcony and view of the sea. This is great if you like to hear the waves crashing at night.
We appreciated that the owners had put extra effort into their cabins: coffee maker with coffee, fridge, fans, nice real bathroom with shower - lots of extra luxuries which we are not used to in a budget-priced beach front cabana like this.
Also the owners are two of the nicest people.
I would definitely reccommend this place. Hopkins is not the biggest or most beautiful beach town, but there is something very special about this little place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CLC_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Windschief was a wonderful place to experience to delights of Hopkins. Owner Olly made us feel incredibly welcome from beginning to end of our trip. The cabana was spacious, immaculately clean and well equipped with complimentary coffee!
We stayed in the slightly smaller front cabana which got a lovely breeze from the ocean and had a cute little balcony that was right over the beach.
The adjoining bar presented a wonderful opportunity to mingle with the colourful expat and local regulars, enjoying a few cold Belikins and Pina Coladas to sound of all the classics from the last 5 decades.

Room Tip: The front cabana got more of a breeze from the sea than the larger cabana to the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank william t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This is the place if you're looking for simple, well-done, clean and very BELIZE acommodations. If you need A/C, concrete block and a blaring television...then you'll be disappointed. I loved waking up to the ocean, having some coffee (they provide your own coffee and pot!), eating my stand-purchased tropical fruit (kept in the little refrigerator they provide!), sitting in a hammock and watching the sunrise over the ocean. Breezy days with the afternoon spent swimming from a beautiful beach riddled with Carribean sand dollars. Yummy. I was sad to leave...

Room Tip: Who needs a swimming pool when you have the perfect Carribean ocean twenty feet from you front door?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vetjuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Hopkins is a nice and cozy place to be and definetely worth a visit. One good reason for going there is "Windschief" with its two beautiful cabanas, its wonderful bar and friendly people. Just hang out there for a card game and some beer or enjoy the star-sprangled night at your personal little cabana-balcony. It was a perfect stay. Thank you, Pam and Oliver!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernd2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed in the bigger room for 2 nights and had a great time. The facility was clean, had a good breeze and the bar below has a good atmosphere. It's not a 5 star place, but it has hot water and everything you need for a good price. Good location, you can walk to any place in town. The bar / cafe gets a lot of traffic from people wanting to use the internet, this turns into horshoe games or foosball tournaments - they don't need much of an excuse for a good time! Oliver helped us with a ride to Dangriga and the service was great.

Room Tip: The small room is up front and gets a little better breeze on the deck and the back room is closer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpudTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hopkins hotels
0 mi away
Beaches And Dreams
Beaches And Dreams
#6 of 13 in Hopkins
392 reviews
0 mi away
Coconut Row Guest House
Coconut Row Guest House
#1 of 18 in Hopkins
312 reviews
0 mi away
Hopkins Bay, a Muy'Ono Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Buttonwood Guest House
Buttonwood Guest House
#6 of 18 in Hopkins
38 reviews
0 mi away
Caribbean Shores Bed & Breakfast
0 mi away
All Seasons Guest House
All Seasons Guest House
#9 of 18 in Hopkins
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windschief Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windschief Cabanas

Address: # 42 South Beach, Hopkins, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hopkins
Price Range: £9 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windschief offers 2 beach cabanas, windsurfing & hobie cat sailing, internet cafe and cocktail bar right on the beach of the charming village of Hopkins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windschief Cabanas Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing