We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay and surf at The Windschief”
Review of Windschief Cabanas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windschief Cabanas
Ranked #9 of 20 Hopkins B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 January 2009

"The Windschief" offers more than just 2 cabanas at the beach. It is also a windsurfing school & rental, beach cocktail bar and internet cafe - actally the only one in Hopkins. The place is run by a really nice German-Belizian couple - Pam and Oliver, who were very helpful with tips for places to see or people to meet for diving or snorkeling trips.

The windschief is close to the old school yard when you enter Hopkins make a right and go for 4 blocks. Or just ask anyone on the street for Hopkins internet. The place opend 2 or 3 year ago and is very well known by all the locals.

There is a small cabana with one double bed and a big cabana with 2 double beds. Both have a private bath with cold shower, a fridge, a coffee maker with coffee and a balcony with ocean view.

I think what you get for your money is excellent. The roomes are clean and tidy. The beach is right in front of the room and from 1 p.m. the bar and internet cafe is open.

Oli also offers windsurfing lessons or just equipment to lend. They also own a few small catamarans and people who know how to sail can lend them too.

There is a small Chinese store just across the street for the things you might need. If you feel like eating out Hopkins has several places to offer. The Whisteling Seas, Inis, Iris, North Beach and many more. For those of you who came by bus, you can rent golf carts in Hopkins - just aks Pam or Oli where and how.

On Friday nights there is an oldies night where they play 60s and 70s music at the bar and some locals gather around for a game of darts.

Hopkins is not a posh place and "The Windschief" is not a 5 star hotel, but if you want to be right in the middle of Belize, dont want to spend a fortune on accomodation and want a nice place with great people its the right place to be.

We have been to that place several times and for sure we will come back!

4  Thank framel1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Windschief Cabanas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wij hadden de achterste cabine naast het barretje (zie beschrijving)
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yvette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nachomuchacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Weltenbummler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hopkins hotels
0.5 mi away
The Funky Dodo Backpackers
1.4 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
553 reviews
1.4 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Coconut Row Guest House
Coconut Row Guest House
#1 of 20 in Hopkins
299 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
#3 of 11 in Hopkins
648 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cosmopolitan Guest House
Cosmopolitan Guest House
#5 of 20 in Hopkins
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windschief Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windschief Cabanas

Address: # 42 South Beach, Hopkins, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Hopkins
Price Range: £9 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windschief offers 2 beach cabanas, windsurfing & hobie cat sailing, internet cafe and cocktail bar right on the beach of the charming village of Hopkins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windschief Cabanas Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing