We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Week Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Week Ever!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We just returned home to New York From a 6 night stay at Jaguar Reef, and were heartbroken to leave it. Everything about this place is outstanding. We stayed in room 3 and we loved our accommodations. Everything we ate and drank was incredible. Our excursions were well organized and exciting, but also laid back and relaxing. They were also very reasonably priced. Jaguar reef is the perfect mix of having a relaxing beach vacation and real travel experiences with the local culture- which is inspiringly positive and friendly. The staff was incredible and made us feel like we lived there. By Day 2, we were surrounded by friends we'd made- both other guests and the staff themselves. Cipriano, Gilbert, Jorge, Delvey and Corrina are awesome people who gave us one of the best weeks of our lives. We'd do it all over again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    142
    37
    13
    2
See reviews for
171
291
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Wonderful place. Not Sandals, but a more remote resort like this is not meant to be. There's more wildlife (good and bad). Fantastic wildlife, birds, nature, etc.. Also a lot of bugs people from the North are not used to seeing. It's not Disney World or Cancun. This is a real, semi-remote place. If you are a roll with the punches traveler, you are fine here and in Belize in general. This is a very nice resort. If you are looking for a more homogenized Caribbean or Central American (Cancun-type) trip, Belize may not be the place for you. They have real jungles, desert like areas and and some truly deserted beaches. The roads are not great too, but in these types of places, you find a more pure experience that will include things like "real nature", clean waterfalls, ruins just being excavated, etc... They dropped us off at a Cay where nobody else was there for hours. We had the little island all to ourselves and made our own fun. What a great day. Anyway, this is a nice resort, but if you're terrified about seeing an insect, spider, scorpion, sand fleas, etc... I suggest you go somewhere where they have been eradicated along with many other wild creatures and ecosystems. Belize is a more "natural" country. We sometimes like experiencing luxury and nature on the same trip, so Jaguar Reef was perfect for us.

Room Tip: All good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazyh0rse67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We just returned from Jaguar Reef in Hopkins. The first night we actually stayed at Almond Grove, which is on the same property. The staff was excellent, very helpful and accommodating. Michelle was our waitress in the dining room most every morning and she is a delight! I can't say enough about the staff from Corrina who met us at check in with a refreshing drink, Laurel at front desk who was always helpful. We also rented golf carts from the lady across the street and went in to Hopkins Village. Food was great. Two restaurants to mention in the village, Iris's (chicken burrito) was excellent and Driftwood Pizza was awesome. I would recommend Bug Spray for Sand Fleas, they are very common in the Spring especially early morning after a rain or at dusk. We can't wait to go back and visit again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Gardenia right above the smaller pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candyk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed in Orchid with friends and this is an awesome room!! It is 2bedroom, 2 bath and very roomy. The room at the very back with a king bed and its own bath also has a private entrance. The food is fantastic and the staff is incredible!!
The only reason this did not get 5 stars was that the electricity went out daily for 3-4hours.
The rooms stayed cool if you stayed in but if you have kids like we do...they are in and out, and exiting along with them is the cool air.

Room Tip: If you have a large family or are going with friends the Orchid room is great..you can keep an eye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sttflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at Jaguar Reef in Hopkins for our Honeymoon November 4-11.
We LOVED it! We want to keep coming back to Belize and would definitely stay at Jaguar Reef again and tell all of our friends about it! We stayed in a Beachfront Cabana/Casita, which sits about 15 feet from the ocean and you awaken to the beautiful sound of the waves crashing on the beach.
The cabana we stayed in was very nice- simple yet perfect. The shower is HUGE and features a large ledge you can sit on. It was a nice size TV that we watched like 2 times the whole week. There is also an outdoor shower connected to the cabana. The bed is also very large and pretty comfy. The rooms are cleaned every day or every other day!
The resort itself is not too big, so everything is in a short walking distance.
It has a 2 pools on location, one with a bar. They have a spa, which we didn't utilize so I can't review, and a cafe with an assortment of snacks and ice cream-good!!
They have bikes and kayaks you can use free of charge- fun!
The main building were you check in and can ask questions also in the dining room and bar.
The food is GREAT! We ate breakfast and dinner everyday there and enjoyed every meal.
All the staff that work at Jaguar Reef are incredibly friendly and we made friends with a few of them! :)
They offer several adventures and my husband and I went on 3- Waterfall Hike, Cave Tubing, and Snorkeling. I would certainly do the Waterfall Hike if you like being in nature. Our guide told us a little about the park the hike went through, talked about different vegetation, culture, and just had fun with us. At the top of the hike there is a waterfall you can jump in and a natural pool to swim in! The Cave Tubing was interesting and pretty fun as well. You paddle in an individual inner tube through a stream and into a cave, in the cave you walk and tube about 3 miles and learn about the Mayan Indians and different rituals, you also see a few artifacts. It is all in the dark, except a small lamp on each persons head. I would not recommend for children under 10. You eat lunch in the cave. Snorkeling was awesome! :) Belize has the second largest Barrier Reef in the world and you snorkel in 2 locations. This was our first time snorkeling and we got the hang of in very quickly. We saw stingray, lion fish, barracuda, lobster, and MANY other fish.
Hopkins town is a short bike ride away and we went into town to buy a few snacks and medicine for my husbands ear damage he received on the initial airplane ride.
We also ate at a local restaurant and had Garifuna (an African cultural group) Cuisine- we had two diff soups and they were both pretty good! We met a local who took as to the Drumming Center and they did a little concert for us in the Garifuna language- which we paid for. LOL.
We long to go back to Jaguar Reef in the near future- the resort is great, the people are awesome, the history of Belize is fascinating, it is family-friendly, has adventure opportunities and the relaxation of the Caribbean as well. GO! :D

Room Tip: Beach from Cabanas are awesome for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We just spent a week with the lovely folks at Jaguar Reef Lodge and I couldn't have asked for a better vacation. The staff and management were amazing. The beaches were pristine. My favorite part was the swim up pool bar. The bartenders were very entertaining and always coming up with new ideas and drinks for us. The event night, BBQ on the beach was fantastic!

We cannot wait for our return to this country and to do it all over again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We three adults stayed four nights in Orchid, a two bedroom two bath cabana by the "children's pool". Large, well laid out space. Staff is wonderful and variety of things to do in the Hopkins area is huge - we took excursions to the Jaguar preserve, Sittee River for bird watching and Xunantunich. Restaurant is beautiful, relaxed atmosphere. One hour massage at the Butterfly Spa was excellent. Honestly, we were a little disappointed in our "luxury" resort in Ambergris after the enjoying Jaguar so much. A HUGE storm knocked the power out for... 30 seconds! I was impressed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_Torres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
0.2 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#7 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
23.2 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
22.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa

Property: Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
Address: Hopkins Road, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#5 Family Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proud member of ViVA BELiZE, the leading Hotel Group and Adventure Company in Belize for the past 20 years. This beachfront resort is- A Diver's Paradise offering a unique Jungle and Sea Venture. It is an oasis of relaxation, with sunny skies, panoramic views of the ocean and just minutes away from the Garifuna Fishing Village of Hopkins. Other features of Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa: -WINNER 2015 TripAdvisor HALL OF FAME Award -PADI 5 Star Dive Centre -FULL Service In-house Spa -Longest & Finest Beach in Belize -Pool with Swim up Tiki Bar -Kids pool -Beachfront Dining -Water Sports & Land Adventure Tour Desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaguar Reef Hotel Hopkins
Jaguar Reef Resort
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing