We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty much perfect except return travel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty much perfect except return travel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I spent 7 nights at Jaguar Reef in June 2014 for our honeymoon. It was a perfect spot for a honeymoon. There were many many couples we met that were also there on their honeymoon and seemed to be enjoying themselves as well. We had a beachfront Cabana and it was wonderful to wake up and see the beach and the ocean each morning. The rooms were nice, not luxurious, but very comfortable. A 5 gallon water jug and a mini fridge were provided in the room that were very handy. I have seen many reviews regarding sand flea bites, we did not have such an experience. We utilized the spa as well as many excursions. The jet lag defrag (head, neck and shoulders massage) was wonderful as well as the couples massage which we loved as well. Everyone speaks english very well, which makes it easier to communicate than visiting Mexico for example. We loved the food in the restaurant, we even went fishing with a super cool dude named Nick and the restaurant cooked the fish for us and we had a private dinner on our veranda! We also took the Mayan Ruins tour which was amazing, and we did snorkeling as well as river kayaking, all of the excursions were so much fun! Angel was the activities coordinator while we were there, and he was very helpful and knowledgable. The staff was extremely pleasant! The only complaint we have, to get there we flew a small plane from Belize City to Dangriga and drove from Dangriga to Hopkins/Jaguar Reef. On the way home, we were told we needed to be in the lobby at 5:45am, which put us in the Belize City airport at 7am, we did not fly out until around 11am. Even with customs you DO NOT need to be in the airport that far ahead of time. So a tip.....arrange your travel back from Jaguar Reef to Belize City carefully and ahead of time, because waiting in the Belize City airport for 4 hours was not our idea of a good time, and quite frankly pretty annoying.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    138
    37
    13
    2
See reviews for
165
287
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Jaguar Reef

Has the nicest stretch of beach we saw as we walked along the coast and has gorgeous grounds and with only 14 rooms/ 7 cabanas it is very spacious!

Pros:
- The staff are friendly and professional.
- The grounds are well maintained.
- the beach is very nice and well cared for.
- The large water jug and mini-fridge in the room was incredibly handy
- The staff decorated our room tastefully for when we arrived
-The hammocks on the private veranda & sitting area were an added bonus (the veranda is only shared with one other unit; but they have their own hammock and sitting area)

Comments to improve:
- the room was cleaned inconsistently after we arrived (it was cleaned daily; but the level of cleanliness varied)
- communication with the resort re: email was ineffective and I did not receive responses. Whereas phone and interaction in person were very good.
- Light sleepers may be disturbed by the very light curtains that let in the sunlight at daybreak; although we enjoyed the natural wake-up & I had packed an eye mask/cover
- I experienced sand fly/flea bites, or the like (the only time I got bites on our entire two week stay in Belize). We did walk up and down the beach extensively and I spent a lot of time lounging under an umbrella on a beach chair. These bites were the most itchy bites I have EVER experienced and I am so glad that it was at the end of our vacation! (my husband was unscathed, perhaps because he spent less time sunbathing and more time kayaking)


TIPS:
- we would highly recommend booking an ocean view room if you can afford it; as it was nice to sit on the veranda and enjoy the privacy of our cabana.
- You MUST try the cheesecake in the restaurant & coconut pie (if you like coconut, it's only $3 at lunch. We loved our drinks from the main bar. Ask for Garreth & Steven in the restaurant were the best servers we had in our two week trip of Belize!

PS: if you're driving and plan to pick-up fruits; do so before you get to Hopkins as the markets are under stocked for fresh produce.

Room Tip: If you can afford the ocean view, we would highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lopej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The staff was super friendly. Everyone from the bartenders, massage ladies, front desk workers to the sand sweepers were nice and always tried to make us smile. We slept in hammocks for hours, zip-lined through jungle, took 2-man boats out on the water and had an all around great time. They even let us use fishing poles (free) and shrimp for bait. A wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyMeanCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

From the moment the van picked us up in Dangriga, we knew we made the right choice. Our plane from Belize City was an hour early so we expected to wait at the airport in Dangriga for quite some time. That wasn't the case. The Jaguar Reef was notified of our early arrival and the van left Hopkins right away to pick us up. The driver even apologized for being late. Late?! We were early! On the way to the resort he shared so much about the country and what we were seeing along the way. Once we arrived the experience got even better. We were greeted immediately by Mary Ann, who was wonderful. The bartender had drinks in our hands within minutes. Once we checked in, Mary Ann gave us a tour of the resort and provided answers to all of our questions. Our bags were waiting in our rooms once our tour was over and we were ready to start a great vacation. The rooms do need some updating, but they are very clean and provide a lot of space. The pools are well taken care of. They prepare the pool areas and beach every morning so that each day's experience is as good as the last. The tour guides are so friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The entire staff is amazing. The people of Hopkins are so friendly. We always felt safe in the resort, in town and on our tours. Even though the resort is wonderful, take the opportunity to go into town on the free bikes the resort provides or in one of the golf carts available for rent. Venture down the beach a bit and try out some of the other restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The casitas are big, very clean. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The location is great. The hotel has private beach and 2 swimming pools, spa. Jaguar Reef shares facilities with Almond Beach. The food at the restaurant is good, a little expensive. I stayed there with my boyfriend in the beginning of May for two nights but we wished we could have stayed longer. Hopkins in general is a very nice location to visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaAndPetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This place is amazing, the staff is so friendly and the rooms are big and exotic. The food in the resort is so, so, but you can walk down the beach and have a five star meal with a number of restaurants on the beach. The air-conditioning is cold, the showers are huge! We stayed five days and can't wait to go back. The front desk staff set up our snorkeling, ruins, and zip line tours, and we couldn't be more pleased with our experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dacula, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The location is great, family able to walk to different eating places, that was a bonus.
The rooms need a little TLC but the suites were clean . The staff were friendly and helpful, a cooler was provided with ice for us to take while driving to the different places to see. We will be returning next year as the place is getting a facelift, but we were going to return anyway.
The hotel made sure we had a continental breakfast ready for us at 6:00 am for our drive to the airport on our departure.

Room Tip: The second floor 2 bed 2 bath suites were great, kitchen had what you needed. Plenty of clean towel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
0.1 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
23.2 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#7 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa

Property: Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
Address: Sittee River Road, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#5 Family Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proud member of ViVA BELiZE, the leading Hotel Group and Adventure Company in Belize for the past 20 years. This beachfront resort is- A Diver's Paradise offering a unique Jungle and Sea Venture. It is an oasis of relaxation, with sunny skies, panoramic views of the ocean and just minutes away from the Garifuna Fishing Village of Hopkins. Other features of Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa: -WINNER 2015 TripAdvisor HALL OF FAME Award -PADI 5 Star Dive Centre -FULL Service In-house Spa -Longest & Finest Beach in Belize -Pool with Swim up Tiki Bar -Kids pool -Beachfront Dining -Water Sports & Land Adventure Tour Desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaguar Reef Hotel Hopkins
Jaguar Reef Resort
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing