We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid-back and luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Certificate of Excellence
Port Ewen, NY usa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Laid-back and luxurious”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Everything about Jaguar Reef Lodge was balm for the weary soul, from the welcoming rum punch, to the friendly and helpful staff: beach groomers, bartenders, management, drivers, housekeeping, all warm & welcoming. Jaguar Reef combines laid-back and luxurious in a thoroughly satisfying way. Chalets/rooms are cool, pleasant, and well-equipped. The setting is superb: looking onto the ocean, coconut palms on a beach that is so close, palapas with chaises beneath, or hammocks. One pool for kids, another with bar for adults. And the flowers! Everywhere on the grounds are a stunning variety of lovely tropical flowers and plants. We were a family reunion of 20-plus people, ages from 3 to 70, with all the myriad requests and mix-ups a large, diverse group can produce. All problems solved, all requests met in a courteous and obliging manner. I would love to come back!

Room Tip: All rooms good. Our group used ocean view and casitas with kitchens, living/dining rooms and 2 br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    144
    37
    14
    2
See reviews for
174
295
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
indianapolis
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here a number of times - and I'll leave out the details - but it's been exceptional to just OK. It's under new management by some of the best people in Hopkins (Maureen's mom) and this is great news. Looking forward to going back to the Jag! It will be excellent, folks. This is now the place to visit in Hopkins.

Room Tip: I like the cabanas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My first impression of the complex was breath taking. the resort sits right on the beach and the water is beautiful. The staff cleans up the beach relentlessly and is curtious and nice. We enjoyed the bartender Keith very much. He has a nice sense of humor and loads of knowledge about Belize he shared with us. What we did NOT like was that the dining room area patio doors were so out of repair. One day one was literally laying on the ground and another had come apart at the wood seems. For a hotel asking top US$, this should not happen. Everything else was as we expected it and we loved the convenience of a tour booth being right in the hotel and the resort had a nice dock the snorkeling tour would take off at. We rented golf carts and drove in to Hopkins Bay, where we encountered nothing but nice people that catered to us and shared their culture with us.
We took the cave exploration tour, which was amazing. We took the snorkeling tour twice because we liked it so much. We visited the Sittee River Marina and watched the opening of the "Curve Ball Restaurant". We ate at the Baraccuda Restaurant and at Chef Rob's, which are in walking distance. Both are to die for tasty. Even though the country is not as affordable to vacation in as Mexico, I would visit again.
Ingrid K. - Santa Maria , CA

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cabana style room and would recomment it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ingrid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I booked Jaguar Reef for the second half of my Belize vacation. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The resort itself was great- very nice ocean front cabanas, spacious restaurant (also ocean-front), and a nice pool area with a swim-up bar. My only disappointment, was the infrequent dive trips leaving from Hopkins. If you are planning to dive, there are only 2 dive shops- Belize underwater and Hamanasi. Hamanasi gives preference to their guests, so you cannot book until after 5pm for anything going out the next morning.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I was happy to hear that the rooms are scheduled to be remodeled this September. My husband and I just stayed here last week for our 7th wedding anniversary. We did a jungle/beach package and stayed at Sleeping Giant first, which was amazing. We had an ocean front cabana. The deck was awesome with chairs and a hammock. We had front row seats every morning for sunrise. Hopefully you like your neighbors though, because you share the deck with them. We had very nice neighbors! The bathroom really needs updated. We did the snorkeling excursion. The guides were very nice and the barrier reef was beautiful. The resort has free bikes, but it was so hot, so we rented a golf cart and explored Hopkins. The people in the town are very nice. We had local dishes at Tina's, bundiga and hubut, both were good. I highly recommend Logger Heads and Driftwood! They have the same owner, Denise, who we met and was so nice. Logger Heads serves gourmet hamburgers and fries. We had the Canuck and Gorganzola burgers and they were delicious! The fries were also amazing! You can walk there. Driftwood is pizza and will deliver to your resort, which is what we did. We had the Hopkins special with pineapple, ham, bacon and coconut, which was my favorite. We also had the BBQ chicken and veggie. Both delicious. We also recommend Chef Rob's. This was a 4 course meal, so go hungry! You can walk there from Jaguar Reef. The food at the Jaguar Reef restaurant was not that great. We learned that they had just hired a new chef, so the entire menu had recently changed. We spent the most time with Gilbert at the bar and he was fantastic! If you are looking for a beautiful beach, I wouldn't recommend Jaguar Reef. The water was not a pretty color and the amount of stuff that washed up onto the beach was crazy. The workers shoveled and raked for hours just to have the waves bring it all back in. There is a swim up bar at the pool, which was nice. Juan took great care of us there. You have to go early if you want a chair though. There are only 10 chairs at that pool and you share it with the people staying at Almond Beach. Jaguar Reef and Almond Beach share the same grounds. I did appreciate that there was a separate pool for children. Overall, we did have a very relaxing time here. We liked that it wasn't a touristy town. If you're looking for beautiful water though,I would look into the Caye area.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabana 13 which was ocean front. We had a great view of sunrise each morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Crystal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We chose Hopkins as our beach place to go because it had great reviews, and it just seemed a little less touristy and a little bit different. In terms of the place that Jaguar Reef is located, it's great! However, for an overall experience, I would choose somewhere else to stay.
We stayed in the Beach view Cabanas, and it was awesome! You woke up to be able to see the ocean, and the breeze from the porch was absolutely great! It was without a doubt, a beautiful place to stay.
When we got there we were greeted by Mary who was incredibly helpful and full of personality! She gave us our welcome drinks and a tour which we really enjoyed. It was a big property and there was lots to see. My favorite part was most likely the beach, because Jaguar Reef has their own stretch of private beach and it's just very clean and beautiful.
Our rooms were great. The AC was a little too much (we came from the jungle, where we had no AC, and our allergies were bothered) The 5 gallon jug of water in the room and mini fridge were really helpful because you could head to the grocery store down the street and buy some cold drinks! We loved the town of Hopkins, and had quite a few lunches and dinners that we ventured out to try some of the local restaurants. (You MUST go to Inny's)
In terms of Jaguar Reef, my main complaint would be the activities. There was a big mix of honeymoon couples, families, and friends there when we were there, but the activities was where this hotel loses big points for me. There was an activity desk, that was staffed occasionally (at best). We went on three tours, all of which were GREAT! We did the Bioluminesense tour which was so cool, the Sittee river Kayaking, and the Jaguar Preserve. All were led by very knowledgeable, caring guides, and we had a great time! However, for the rest of our trip you could go each day to sign up for activities at the desk, but if the activity did not meet a 4 person minimum, it didn't go out. The only activities that made on a regular basis were snorkeling, reef fishing (at $250 dollars) and zip lining. I had unfortunately gotten an ear infection early in the trip so snorkeling wasn't an option, which left us with not much. We signed up for the same trip a couple of times but it never made, and wasn't a concern of the staff. It was very disappointing.
Only on our leaving day we overheard someone being offered an activity as a private tour. We were wondering why we were never offered that after talking to the staff twice about an activity. We even would have paid extra! That was the biggest disappointment of this part of our journey. We realized on our last day or so that there weren't many people actually staying at Jaguar reef which was probably why the activities weren't making. However, we were never informed of that, and after inquiring about the activities, we were just told, sorry they didn't make.

Beautiful location, but otherwise I would book somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: I would get an ocean view or ocean front Cabana, they are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TeacherTraveler2423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I spent 7 nights at Jaguar Reef in June 2014 for our honeymoon. It was a perfect spot for a honeymoon. There were many many couples we met that were also there on their honeymoon and seemed to be enjoying themselves as well. We had a beachfront Cabana and it was wonderful to wake up and see the beach and the ocean each morning. The rooms were nice, not luxurious, but very comfortable. A 5 gallon water jug and a mini fridge were provided in the room that were very handy. I have seen many reviews regarding sand flea bites, we did not have such an experience. We utilized the spa as well as many excursions. The jet lag defrag (head, neck and shoulders massage) was wonderful as well as the couples massage which we loved as well. Everyone speaks english very well, which makes it easier to communicate than visiting Mexico for example. We loved the food in the restaurant, we even went fishing with a super cool dude named Nick and the restaurant cooked the fish for us and we had a private dinner on our veranda! We also took the Mayan Ruins tour which was amazing, and we did snorkeling as well as river kayaking, all of the excursions were so much fun! Angel was the activities coordinator while we were there, and he was very helpful and knowledgable. The staff was extremely pleasant! The only complaint we have, to get there we flew a small plane from Belize City to Dangriga and drove from Dangriga to Hopkins/Jaguar Reef. On the way home, we were told we needed to be in the lobby at 5:45am, which put us in the Belize City airport at 7am, we did not fly out until around 11am. Even with customs you DO NOT need to be in the airport that far ahead of time. So a tip.....arrange your travel back from Jaguar Reef to Belize City carefully and ahead of time, because waiting in the Belize City airport for 4 hours was not our idea of a good time, and quite frankly pretty annoying.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
0.2 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#7 of 11 in Hopkins
76 reviews
16.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
22.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
755 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa

Property: Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
Address: Hopkins Road, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#5 Family Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proud member of ViVA BELiZE, the leading Hotel Group and Adventure Company in Belize for the past 20 years. This beachfront resort is- A Diver's Paradise offering a unique Jungle and Sea Venture. It is an oasis of relaxation, with sunny skies, panoramic views of the ocean and just minutes away from the Garifuna Fishing Village of Hopkins. Other features of Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa: -WINNER 2015 TripAdvisor HALL OF FAME Award -PADI 5 Star Dive Centre -FULL Service In-house Spa -Longest & Finest Beach in Belize -Pool with Swim up Tiki Bar -Kids pool -Beachfront Dining -Water Sports & Land Adventure Tour Desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaguar Reef Hotel Hopkins
Jaguar Reef Resort
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing