We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Unique, quirky with a friendly twist!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kismet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kismet Inn
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
512 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Unique, quirky with a friendly twist!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is a hard one to review, and I've reviewed quite a few I may say... We took a little cabana right on the beach... Closer to the water, we would have swam all night! Tricia is very nice and quite the free spirit to say the least. The room itself is semi-clean, the sheets and towel were fresh but the rest was lets just say... OK. We had a fridge in our room, but it was full of fish, would not have put a bottle of water over night in it! Yes as other reviewers have said, there are a lot of "extras" hanging around the place at night which does indeed make you feel local! The food she prepared for us was fished by fellow guests and we were still charged premium for a VERY SMALL portion??? Still don't get that? All in all, if you want to experience a night to remember with good people and good times, the rest comes second! Hope this review was helpful!!!

Room Tip: Get a room you can keep an eye on while you are there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marquestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    14
    6
    5
    7
See reviews for
2
25
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

If you are on a tight budget this place could be classed as eccentric, for everyone else its very weird and will stay as an experience to talk about. Would I recommend you stay or eat ? really depends on your budget and if you enjoy the eccentrics of this world

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank gerry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Kismet Inn is an awesome and unique little place at the end of Hopkins Beach that has an amazing beach front view and quaint little set up of rooms and cool spots to chill out on the beach.

On our first night we ran into Trish, the owner, who accommodated us with an amazing dinner even after arriving late and hosting other guests who had just come for the day to go on one of her friends sail boats.

The one night stay ended up turning into 3 days partially due to the cuisine, partially to the gorgeous view, but mainly for the company.

We were able to make use of the Canoe and snorkel gear and visit the lagoon and other sites around the beach but our favorite memories were the dinners that was created and hosted by Trish which were fantastic along with the communal atmosphere.

If your looking for a cool little spot on the beach that's not too touristy/not too off the beaten path, this is likely it. It's not loud like and full of part animals (like some of the other places down the road), but has a nice calm, laid back vibe.

If a rain water shower that comes out through a Conch is too "roughing" it for you, and you prefer spending large amounts of cash, then the Hopkins bay resort may be just your thing.

But we found this spot to be perfect for what we were looking for, a break from the dusty road of our travel through Central America. After going from Belize, Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, and back, we found this just to be the place to re-charge our batteries, and finish off our trip on a more laid back note :)

*If your going to go ahead and chop coconuts on your own, best to get a lesson from Elvis first before attempting it.

Also the Sailboat that's moored is a lot farther away than it appears and be aware there's a slight current on the way back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoreyHatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Park, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This place is like home. There are always new and friendly people that stay there. Tricia is a great cook , and you must ask her to make her home made pizza. You are right on the beach with many chairs and hammocks. Once you stay here you will want to return again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This place is advertised all over town but is a really far walk down the road. Trish is nice but I think she's high most of the time. The rooms on the beach level looked like dungeons, so dark and musty. We stayed in the dorm room, also dark and dingy, not clean, had screens with holes. The place didn't seem secure and she had friends hanging out on the deck the whole time. The roosters and dogs were really loud in the morning. She kept trying to sell us stuff when we already stated we didn't want meals or tours. It's not horrible, it has a lot of character and if you're looking for something different and don't care about cleanliness you may be ok with it. We left after one night to go stay somewhere else closer to town. I wouldn't ever stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on beach level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank herbs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

There is a rare retro motif resort nuzzled on the spectacular beaches at the north end of Hopkins Village. Its name is Kismet Inn and it is run by the wild and wooly businesswoman Tricia Wipfler.
Kismet Inn is a psychedelic smorgasbord of hippie commune architecture, pastiche Peter Max flower-child wall murals, found object environmental art pieces reminiscent of the aftermath of one of Red Grooms- George Segal’s “Happenings” circa1965 and furnished in ad hoc Haight-Ashbury Goodwill Thrift Store décor. Kismet Inn is a cultural-spiritual throw back to the radical “summer of love” – 1967. Kismet encompasses all the era’s idealistic love child experimentation with a contradictory smidgen of socially conscious cynicism found in The Beatles landmark album “Sergeant Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band”.
The Kismet experience is definitely strange and its nostalgic eccentricity definitely isn’t geared to conventional or mainstream tastes.
To repeat, Kismet is a truly different experience. It is not your typical resort both structurally and spiritually. The rooms are slightly less than spic-n-span and eccentrically furnished. Second hand chic. And thanks to Tricia’s off- the-wall personality the vibes are authentically ‘summer of love’. Both are not conventional and not for straight laced or punctilious travelers.
Kismet’s ad hoc look and spaced out atmosphere is not everyone’s cup of tea. For those that wanna stroll on the wild side of lodging, Kismet could be fun.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank DiceyEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Do not go there if you value cleanliness most ... But if You are looking for family atmosphere and good vegetarian meals - its a nice place to visit. Also do not look for usual hotel experience. If you are open minded traveler I recommend going there.

Room Tip: Pick rooms that are not at ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristopherKocel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
2.7 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
18.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
7.8 mi away
Chaleanor Hotel
Chaleanor Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dangriga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Funky Dodo Backpackers
0.8 mi away
Coconut Row Guest House
Coconut Row Guest House
#1 of 18 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
2.5 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kismet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kismet Inn

Property: Kismet Inn
Address: 1 Kismet Street | North Hopkins Village, Hopkins, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kismet Inn has beach front property located in the North end of a predominantly Garifuna fishing village called Hopkins in Stann Creek District Belize. It is an eclectic Inn on the beach with 2 private cabanas, with complete kitchen and all with private 1/2 baths with fans, and mosquito nets.$50US, all prices need to add a 5% GST. The family cabana has 2 separate dbl bedrooms and 3 single beds in the day room or, it can be a dorm at $15 us a person. Kismet has other private rooms with double beds $15 US per person. 1 with a dbl bed and a single bed. It was designed to look like a ship looking out the large port holes viewing the beach. It is one of the most affordable accommodations available in Hopkins. We are well known for our Vegan, Vegetarian, Seafood, Pizzas and Caribbean cuisines. The restaurant is always open. Belize Times quoted "Best food in all of Belize and affordable!" We provide free bikes and WIFI. Due to the increase of crime in Hopkins. Kismet has added surveillance cameras, motion lights, room decors, burglar bars on the windows and as always lock boxes in all rooms. At junction we offer free pick up if you call. Visit our web site for reservation with quick confirmation , or email. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kismet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kismet Inn Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing