We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than we expected!”
Review of Villa Verano

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopkins
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Verano
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hopkins
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent the week of Christmas at Villa Verano with 14 in our group. We had the entire first floor of the house which was perfect since half of our group were teenagers who were in and out all day long.
The house is absoutly spectacular! Well decorated, well appointed and very well staffed. From the moment we arrived and met Liz waiting on the steps for us we knew we were home for the week. Liz and Luis were very helpful, had wonderful siggestions and were always smiling. Liz went ordered us fresh baked breads each day which I would highly recommend. They were delivered warm most days and were devoured within minutes of arrival. Our BEST culinary experience during the week was having Cheryl and Maggie cook for us. These ladies are a treat. SO kind and sweet. And boy can they cook. For our first meal they prepared boilup (a local fish soup), lobster creole, sauteed shrimp and rice and beans. Not to be out done by coconut creme pie for dessert. That dinner was so outstanding we booked them right then and there for the next night. By far the best food and valie of the week.
Liz's recommondation of zip lining location was better than expected. 8 long runs. Only draw back were the "no see ums". A tiny mosquito that diiner well on our group. I'm stil iitchy as I type this!
Liz chartered a boat for a half day snorkle trip. The weather started off terribly and we got a late start in the water becuase of it. Our Captain was so kind that he extended our time out to compensate for the late start. The charter left from a secret marina that is worth going to even if you don't go out on the water. It comes with a pet Alligator and tiki bar!
Martin is a lovely guy who tends to the grounds of the house. All 6 teenage girls were enamoured with his kindness. He offered them daily fresh coconuts, explained the difference between the newer ones from the older ones, took them for a sail in the property catamarin and entertianed them with stories of his 5 daughters.
The entire staff was friendly, polite and professional. Andrea was a pleasure to see each morning with her smiling face!
We will miss everyone for a long time and highly receommend Villa Verano.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Villa Verano
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

From all we'd read online, we were expecting wonderful; Villa Verano and the Seagrape Home far exceeded our expectations. Liz and Luis were gracious, enthusiastic, creative and fun in handling so many requests for assistance, both in advance of and following our arrival: travel and transportation, stocking the kitchen and bar, planning special meals, reserving activities and guides during the busy holiday season, even arranging for a private yoga instructor who came and led us through morning poses on the deck overlooking the ocean. When we arrived, with Seagrape's fridge, cabinets, and bar fully stocked, and the surprise of a fully decorated Christmas tree to greet us, we knew our family Christmas was going to be unforgettable. It was, from start to finish. The hike in Mayflower National Park up along Antelope Falls, led by local guide Santos, was especially thrilling - swimming in the picturesque pool near the top of the falls with a view out over the jungle below made the strenuous and occasionally treacherous hike completely worth it, even in the pouring rain on the slick trek back down. Cheryl and Maggie cooked us a number of exceptional meals (including Belizean frycakes for breakfast - yum), and we loved using the very well-appointed kitchen together for meals we fixed ourselves. (Martin traveled the local countryside on Christmas Eve to find specific ingredients we needed to make our Christmas dessert. Amazing.) We met so many Hopkins locals, and every one of them was so friendly, so knowledgeable, so gracious, so fun. Biking and walking in and around Hopkins in search of groceries, birds, a cocktail, or just a bit of local culture was always easy, safe and productive. Villa Verano is the perfect way for a large family to relax and enjoy each other's company without ever feeling either isolated OR space-constrained. We considered other "all inclusive" options, but were so glad we didn't go that direction. We didn't have to "go down to the same restaurant" for every meal, but had the flexibility of cooking our own meals, having whatever meals we requested prepared for us, or going out. Whatever activities we wanted to experience (jungle hike, river kayaking, fishing/snorkeling, spa treatments, etc) were all efficiently arranged for us according to our schedule; and even with all the added flexibility and ability to hang out together in our incredibly luxurious accommodations, it all ended up being less expensive (by quite a bit) than the high end all-inclusive resort options would have been. We highly recommend Villa Verano.

Room Tip: We liked the privacy of being upstairs in Seagrape. Still very easy access down to the pool and bea...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My husband and I along with friends just returned from a 7 night stay at Villa Verano. From our arrival to departure, Liz and Luis ensured that we had everything we needed, from booking transportation (Chaka was friendly, fun and informative), ordering food, pumping bicycle tires to answering our many questions about Hopkins and Belize in general. Martin and Gerardo were always available to warm the hot tub, ensure that the beach and pool were immaculate, prepare the kayaks or trimaran and even cut coconut from the beach for us to enjoy. The village offers traditional or international cuisine. We only experienced great meals and the people of Hopkins are genuine and friendly. Villa Verano is a luxurious home that is ample for large groups yet manages to feel cozy and welcoming. We enjoyed a roof top hot tub every day just before sunset with the mountain range visible on one side and the ocean on the other. We went snorkelling and spear fishing near the reef and our guide and captain, Lucky was very knowledgeable and gracious. We would recommend that you bring mosquito repellant, which is the only negative part of our trip but we would definitely return for another luxurious and restful holiday.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Laurie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Just returned home after an incredible week at the Villa Verano in Hopkins, Belize. ( Nov 29-Dec 7, 2013) Our accommodations, the Sea Grape home, was stunning and very spacious, yet very private with all amenities, including a 70' swimming pool, roof top hot tub, an exercise room, billiard room, private balconies off all bedrooms, large living and dining rooms, and a beautiful sandy beach. The staff were wonderful ! Always friendly, courteous, professional, and went out of their way to arrange jungle tours/ activities, snorkel and fishing trips, etc. and various special dining reservations that we wanted. Villa Verano staff Martin and Geraldo are knowledgeable sailors, and helped us launch the catamaran whenever we wanted.
Luis and Liz, the Villa Verano management team were extremely knowledgeable of the area and were able to make tour suggestions based on our interests. They also assisted in arranging our ground and domestic air travel. We went to several excellent restaurants, some just a few hundred yards down the beach from the Villa. We also enjoyed meals, specific to the area's culture prepared and served in our suite by local chefs. Villa Verano is currently building it's own restaurant which will open in the new year. This will be an added bonus although we enjoyed being able to make our own breakfast if we wanted or to stroll down the beach and visit one of the many restaurants in the area.
This vacation was so relaxing and enjoyable...we always felt very safe in the area and particularly at Villa Verano with staff on the premises 24 hours.....the weather was wonderful........it was indeed " a week in paradise" . We will be returning !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarke1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed here in late October 2013 while volunteering at the Hopkins Belize Humane Society (HBHS). Villa Verano helps support the local community and HBHS by providing accommodations for visiting volunteers. This place is stunningly beautiful with details like hand carved doors that match the room's theme (I stayed in the Turtle room). Mary and the staff are incredibly warm, friendly, and are there to help insure that your stay will be memorable. She can arrange trips and activities for you and can even arrange catering for large groups. The snorkeling trip to a small, private caye she arranged for us with a local dive master was very special: it felt like we were out with a friend instead of just another member of a large group. Villa Verano is a wonderful place to stay for anyone, but it would be the ideal place for a large group that could take full advantage of the wonderful kitchen, dining, and common areas.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Amongst the rustic village and small quaint resorts of Hopkins Village you can find this spectacular gem called Villa Verano. The villa is absolutely beautiful, private, and serene. The staff was wonderful and very helpful with all our arrangements. We were married on the beach. Mary and the staff turned our simple ceremony into the most wonderful romantic wedding anyone could dream of, ending the evening with the fine-dining cuisine prepared by Maureen. We were so grateful for all their efforts. After nine wonderful days we had to continue our journey through Belize. It was very hard to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I was fortunate enough to stay at the Villa Verano for 8 nights in July 2013. Myself and 2
friends stayed in Courtyard 1 room which has a large king bed and 4 bunk beds. Every detail is accounted for, from embossed housecoats, homemade soaps, beautiful wood furniture, etc... The staff were all kind and eager to
take you windsurfing on the small trimaran. There are bikes available to go into
town, and kayaks and hammocks for use. The top
floor veranda has a giant hot
tub that heats up within minutes.

The manager, Mary is welcoming, kind and goes out of her way to help you
with anything you need.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelDash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
0.0 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#7 of 11 in Hopkins
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
299 reviews
10.4 mi away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belizean Dreams Resort
Belizean Dreams Resort
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
836 reviews
0.0 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Verano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Verano

Address: Lot H Beachside Road | Sittee Point Phase 1, Hopkins, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hopkins
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hopkins
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hopkins
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hopkins
Price Range: £222 - £2,585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Verano offers spectacular Belize luxury beach villas and exclusive access to elite guest facilities, including a fully equipped roof top gym, games room and hot tub. Also, our beachfront rentals provide sunning and garden spaces- hosting spectacular ocean and/or mountain views; seventy foot ocean side pool, outdoor showers, kayaks and a catamaran.Five restaurants are within five minutes walk. Local activities include, snorkeling, diving fishing, birding and hiking, Mayan Ruins and waterfall hikes, and are conveniently arranged by our concierge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Verano Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing