We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2014 Belize Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caribbean Shores Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 20 Hopkins B&B and Inns
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“2014 Belize Vacation”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We took a family vacation for 8 days in Belize. We flew in to Belize City and drove to Hopkins and spend our first two nights at Caribbean Shores. Joe was very helpful and the staff was great for the short time we were there. Since it was low season, we had the pool to ourselves. After long day at Glover's Reef scuba diving, we relaxed in the pool. Caribbean Shores B&B was a great place to stay. The rooms were very comfortable and clean.

We enjoyed exploring Belize on our own time and not having to book tours with groups. We went to Mayflower Bocawina National Park and hiked to the Antelope Water Fall. Swam in the pool when we got to the top. It was beautiful and an amazing view.

Then we continued our journey to Placencia and on to San Ignacio to see some of the Mayan Ruins.

Room Tip: Iguana and Jaquar were our two rooms close to the pool and on the first level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    13
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 8 nights using a Living Social voucher. We had a great time! Our room was beautiful (Iguana) with an awesome bathroom. We loved the shower! Breakfast was always very good, and Cindy was VERY helpful with local information. Even though the property isn't directly on the beach, it's literally steps away when you walk through Jaguar Reef. Guests have access to Belizean Dreams and Jaguar Reef beachfront, cabanas, hammocks, etc. You have access to free bikes, and the ride into town is very easy. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance down the beach, although they are more expensive than the restaurants in the village. The only minor issue was the Wi-Fi not being reliable (I know, we're on vacation, shouldn't be on our devices!) but other than that, we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The Iguana room is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butterf160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We got the parrot room which is small, if you are looking for a big room with a view which we didn't care about but for those that do I wouldn't recommend this room. The room was clean besides the one press on nail under a wicker bench and the sheets had stains on them but you can tell they had been washed. But still I would buy new sheets if I were a bed and breakfast. Breakfast was ok. Very sparse. We said we were vegetarian when we filled out the form for the room but every other day there was meat in the eggs. Which I don't care about, but why even ask? The hotel location was good. Close to a lot of restaurants and the beach. All together it was a good stay. The Utopia was really fun to go on. I would do that again. But if you are vegetarian or vegan there is no food to eat beside fruit. Which again why ask if we were vegetarian when signing up for the hotel room? It would have been good to know cause I would have brought my own lunch.

Room Tip: If you are not staying in your room the parrot room was fine. It's small and right at the entran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessigracem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A friend and I recently stayed here for several days. The rooms and other facilities are really nice. The rooms aren't huge but are spotless, well decorated and well appointed. The pool is lovely and a good size. There is a large, well stocked common area where you can hang out, watch a DVD or cook a meal. The provided breakfasts are well cooked and a good variety.
My only criticism lies in the service. We had asked for a room with 2 beds. Upon arrival, the room had a bed and a futon, but the futon was not made up and no linens where in the room. I eventually had to go exploring to find my own in the laundry area and make up the bed myself. I also needed to do a load of laundry. I thought the charge of $20 US to do my own laundry using my own soap a bit much. In general, we found the owners not very friendly or helpful. Too bad, it's a great property.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharla k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I'm not good at writting reviews but I am trying which goes along way for saying how enjoyable out stay with Cindy and Joe was. We had a group of 10, 5 couples and I must say this place was perfect for our needs. The Property was well kept and clean the staff friendly and the swimming pool was tops. Not only did if feel like we owned the place it felt like we were meeting two old friends in Cindy and Joe. These two made this place feel like home I was very impressed how friendly and easy it was to get along with both.
The Breakfasts prepared by the staff was great and plently of good resturants in the area for both lunches and dinners, along with the fact that you can cook your own aswell. Cindy and Joe keep up the good work and remember burpies hate you too, keep working out and staying young.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Caribbean Shores Bed and Breakfast was exceptional!! The owners, Joe and Cindy, really went above and beyond to make our stay there an amazing experience. They are very knowledgeable and helpful in making recommendations on where to go and what sights to see in the area. The food made daily for breakfast by Sharita started the day with a touch of hominess and there is no shortage of Belize-made hot sauces to choose from for a little extra morning spice!! We cannot stop gushing over how much we enjoyed our stay to everyone we've talked to. As it happens, we stayed at this B and B for the first week of our honeymoon so we've had plenty of opportunity to share our wonderful experiences already! If you are looking for a place to stay in Belize that is more intimate than a large resort but still want to have your expectations for comfort, food, and ambience blown out of the water- look no further than Caribbean Shores!

Room Tip: Jaguar and Iguana suites are closest to the pool!! And as a nice touch, the window panes on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our recent four day stay in Hopkins had us book both the Parrot Suite and the Iguana Suite. We couldn't have made a better choice of accommodation or location. Cindy and Joe treat you like family and cannot do enough to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The rooms are fantastic and maintained on a daily basis. The air conditioning is spectacular while the rooms hold the temperature so that the air conditioning is not constantly running. Don’t miss the breakfast as it varies with each morning. The communal lounge, outside sitting area and rooftop deck are spectacular. Let’s not forget the pool. Kids of all ages will have a blast with the water-slide and there are lots of lounges and air mattress’s for your moments of relaxation.
Having spent many vacations in Belize I think that Hopkins is one of the hidden gems. The town itself is as Belizean as it gets. The “resort” area does lack this authenticity (many places price in American dollars) but then some travelers might just prefer this. There are many very good restaurants and bars in close walking distance via the beach or the road.

Have read some previous reviews sighting the construction noise in the immediate vicinity. While there is some construction going on the noise stage must have past. If in fact you do hear some noise simply have the waterfall turned on in the pool which mitigates all other noise.

Some might think that not being on the beach is a negative. Contrary to that line of thinking I suggest that the pluses of staying at Caribbean Shores greatly outweigh that of staying on the beach. If you want to spend time on the beach you are a one minute walk from putting your toes in the sea. If you want some quiet time in the pool then it is right outside your door. Upon asking the rest of our family their choice would most definitely to stay at Caribbean Shores on our next trip to Hopkins. I can’t wait to see the new development that Cindy and Joe are constructing next door!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
0.2 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
294 reviews
16.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#7 of 11 in Hopkins
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
784 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coconut Row Guest House
Coconut Row Guest House
#1 of 20 in Hopkins
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
#3 of 11 in Hopkins
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Shores Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Shores Bed & Breakfast

Property: Caribbean Shores Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sittee River Road, Hopkins 00001, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbean Shores Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful colonial style building with covered verandas, rooftop deck with ocean and mountain views, pool with waterfall, jetted tub and water slide. A large great room with full kitchen, big screen TV and game room with poker table. Great for groups to rent the whole resort, room for 14-20 adults and kids. Great diving, snorkeling, fishing, hiking, zip line, cave tubing available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Caribbean Shores Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Shores Bed & Breakfast Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing