We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
Beachfront Blue Moon Cabana
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beachfront Blue Moon Cabana
Blue Moon Cabana is steps from the sea Beachfront Blue Moon Cabana
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Beachfront Blue Moon Cabana
Blue Moon Cabana is steps from the sea
Beachfront Blue Moon Cabana
View from Blue Moon Cabana veranda
Can't beat the view!
Blue Moon Cabana large beachfront area
Bring your happy!
You'll spend a lot of time here!
Open floor plan with lots of windows
Bedroom #1
Open floor plan
Bedroom #1 with large wardrobe and bamboo privacy curtains
Stunning view of the sea from your living room
Lots of windows
View into bedroom #2
Full-equipped kitchen
View into kitchen from living room area
Sit back and relax!
Another perfect lounging spot!
View from kitchen area into living space
View from kitchen into Bedroom #2
Plenty of shelf space in Bedroom #2
Bathroom with tiled shower stall, vanity sink, hot water
Bathroom vanity sink
Bedrooms separated by enclosed bathroom
Can you see yourself here?
You will spend a lot of time in this hammock!
Side veranda
Another napping spot on side veranda
Beach looking north
What are you waiting for? Rent me!
Beach in front of Blue Moon Cabana
You'll see lots of this!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hopkins, Stann Creek

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bclouter
Perrysburg, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cabana is beautiful. The hosts, wonderful. The location, amazing. The locals, friendly as can be. I would highly recommend anyone to stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for the kind review. We agree that Blue Moon Cabana is a little slice of paradise!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dadofone1
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Beach House”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Overview

This beach house is bang on the Beach in Hopkins, Belize. It is scrupulously clean immaculate, well run by two excellent property managers and is exactly as described. The beach is stunning and a wonder to wake up to.

Arrival

Our pick up was organised by the property managers. Our pick up was on time and drove nicely. He was content to let us stop for lunch and toilet stops. When we arrived the properly was clean and as described and pictured. It was even nicer in real life than on the Internet. The sun was setting and it had the most beautiful light.

We had a lovely basket of fruit and a full water dispenser. The kitchen was extremely well equipped and well organised. There was a mobile phone provided and we were really told clearly that our managers were there to help us and we were to call on the phone if any issues. I don't think we did call them but it was good to know we could. The furnishings we all new or newish and they were sensible for the environment. There were two lovely hammocks that our children spent much time in, looking out at the sea and the waves. We were told when bedding would be changed but if we needed it done sooner then it could be. Plenty of nice thick beach towels and a little washing line to hang them on (these little things help) !

Location

The house is well located in the vibrant village of Hopkins, which we loved. It was made clear that the plot was shared with baby blue cabana but what was to be used by whom was clearly stated and we had no issues with territory or use of our property. Nothing is shared and boundaries are clearly delineated. The property managers let us know that they would deal with any issues, but there were none.
There are restaurants literally on its door step. We enjoyed meals at Siomara's and Tina's Kitchen and a cookery lesson at Palmento Grove and Snorkling with Noel. The bakery next door is amazing it's called Belfuna Bakery. The Tamales were the best we had all trip.
You are in the middle of a village and it's a joy to be there. You are still a tourist of course but you are more involved in the community of Hopkins when you live IN the village.

We went up to the drumming centre to see when they drummed and where. It's well worth finding out and watching the drumming it is amazing.

Safety

We felt safe at all times at Hopkins. We walked round at night and day and we had no trouble at all, nor did we have to avoid it.

Bugs and pests

In Central America there are bugs and Hopkins is no exception. The house has good nets on the windows and lots of deet and bug spray for guests to use. It was the rainy season (although we didn't see much rain) and there were not too many bugs and no nasty creatures were seen. There was sea grass in the sea and my son got stung by a Portuguese Man of War Jellyfish tentacle as they break off in the sea grass but he was OK and happy to get in the next day.

Problem Solving and Help

We had no problems when we were there but I am sure that we would have had help and support if we had had a problem. I mentioned in passing to Annette that we had a liking for fresh fish, she recommended a fisherman who delivered the mornings catch to our front door. Amazing. I am quite sure that they would have been great in a crisis and are pretty unflappable. It's good to have this if you are booking direct as you have no tour organiser to speak to if things go wrong .

Noise

The Cabana is in the middle of a rustic village and is on the sea. The waves crash all the time, the wind whistles, the music can pump, the birds cheep ! It's noisy. It's also worth it. Bring ear plugs or use the ones provided. It's rustic and proud of it. We stayed 10 days and were sad to leave.

Family Friendly

I travelled with husband and three children. I would say the property is family friendly and I would recommend it to other families. It would be great for a romantic break too. With the extra charges per head with over two people renting the cabana it may be nice to rent both Cabanas, if there are more than two of you. Our kids loved it and enjoyed the cabana, the sea, the day trips and the food.

Recommends

Golden s tours (from the Golden Gift shop) a great and passionate animal enthusiast.He took us to Cockscomb. We travelled as a family for 7 weeks and he was our best tour guide. Siomara's and Tina's Kichen for eats. Siomara's do a good take out too. Noel's snorkelling tours (good swimmers required) and Palmento Grove for cultural immersion with cooking and drumming lessons. Wave jumping is also recommended.

This Cabana does what it says on the can. It's gorgeous, you will have fun. We did.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your great review. It certainly sounds like you made the most of your time in Hopkins and really appreciated everything the village has to offer. We share your feelings about our Property Managers, Mirko and Annett. They bring 5 star service for our guests! We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Beach Location”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The listing for this cabana is very accurate, the cabana looks exactly as it does in the pictures. It was very spacious and well decorated. There was 3 of us staying there, and we had more than enough room! Everything you need is there, from cooking equipment to beach towels to ear plugs (good to block out the nightly music in town), to coolers to take to the beach. The deck is amazing, and lying in the hammocks is so relaxing! The chairs on the beach are really nice too, and its great to have sun and shade options. You basically have your own little piece of paradise here, and the private beach is nice to relax on and go for a swim. Mirko is very nice and was very helpful in planning all of our excursions, they were reasonably priced and very easy to book. The cell phone that he provided was also very helpful. The town of Hopkins is great! I stayed here with 2 of my friends, and we are all females 19-21, and we all felt safe in this town, and were impressed with the friendliness of the locals. I recommend renting bikes when you are here, it makes it so much easier to get from one end of town to another. The restaurants here were also really great! I recommend Thongs cafe, Frogs Point, and Lucky Lobster. I would definitely stay here again and can't wait to come back to Hopkins one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berniepr
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Belize Beach Paradise”
Reviewed 27 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed in the Blue Moon Cabana over the Easter holiday for eight nights. As I write this I am on the deck overlooking the beach, listening to the waves and reggae music in the background drinking a Belikin Beer! What a happy place Hopkins is!

All of the reviews of this beach ouse are accurate, it is fabulous. We have two couples staying in the two small but comfortable bedrooms. The house is clean well maintained and has everything we need to enjoy our stay. Mirko and Annette are attentive to our needs and want everything to be right for our stay.

Easter weekend is busy in Hopkins, the village is bustling with visitors from Belize City and around the country here to enjoy the beach. The house is right in the center of the village just a short walk from restaurants, the market and the ATM. We have a rented car so we are out most days on excursions to area parks for hiking and tubing adventures.

If you want to enjoy a non-resort Belize experience, great Garifuna food, friendly people then Hopkins is for you. There are resort hotels in South Hopkins in what the locals call the hotel district. They all looked nice but we enjoyed the village experiences and loved staying at the Blue Moon Cabana.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the deck looking at the sea.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
1 review
“Amazing Familymoon”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The Blue Moon Cabana and Hopkins Village were the perfect setting for our vacation. The cabana was clean and comfortable and in a perfect setting. I was close to everything we wanted to do like cave tubing, snorkeling and zip lining. Mirko was wonderful in making sure everything was perfect. We will definitely be coming back to Belize and staying at the Blue Moon Cabana.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beach is your front yard!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya G
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Relax Under the Ocean Waves and Sun and Fun!”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What can I say but wonderful, blue moon cabana is a diamond in the rough....simply relaxing right on the beach. You can walk to all the local restaurants and stores. Mirko and Annette were the best hosts. We did not need anything...except to not bring so much luggage. lol....You only need shirts, shorts, sandals and a smile on your face. Everyone of the locals welcomed us as part of the family. We stayed in Big Blue which I highly recommend. We sat on the porch overlooking the ocean and listening to the ocean waves.. What a sound to put you to sleep. Mirko arranged for all our trips out...We went to Belize Hopkins Village for relaxation and came home with more friends than we can count. We also enjoyed meeting Marie, she racks the yard every morning. What a hard working women...she invited us to join them on Sunday for Catholic service...so we did and it was great...the people just opened their hearts up to us and now Hopkins is going to become a second home for us. Once you go, you will not want to come back...or at least that is our opinion...... Well worth the trip!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ocean Front Living at its best!
Liked least: Nothing except we needed to stay more than 7 days lol
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas N
New York City, New York
1 review
“Awesome Place!”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Excellent place to stay! Large and spacious property, very clean and had everything we could need. The kitchen was completely stocked with all the things you would have at home. Property manager was super friendly and a great resource throughout our stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing