We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures
Ranked #2 of 18 Hopkins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We ate at the restaurant at Mama Noots after completing a zip line tour. When we first arrived, there was one other table, who'd just been served lunch. It took about 10 - 15 minutes for someone to take our order, typical Belize rhythm, but after ziplining for so long, I would've really liked a glass of water sooner. However, after the initial delay, service was excellent. We were served promptly and the food was really delicious. They make their own tortillas there and you can tell because they are really good. Also, the bartender makes a yummy piña colada. We had shrimp tacos, nachos, and chicken burrito and ate every bit of the generous entrees. There are other types of cuisine there, including burgers and fish, we were just n a mood for Mexican food. I would like to go back to explore the park and see the waterfalls. Mama Noots was very peaceful, they offer camping, which actually sounds appealing here. Well worth the trip!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sfraser64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is a top-notch, small, jungle oasis. We stayed 4 nights in the lovely Garden Suite. We had mentioned in an email it was our 10th anniversary. We arrived to find "Happy 10th Anniversary" written out in hisbiscus flowers and towels shaped into swans on the bed. Other fresh flowers adorned the room. The staff was equally sweet and attentive regarding whatever we needed. The property is beautifully landscaped -- it's fun to walk around and look at all the flowers, trees, and birds. The food was amazing -- every meal and bar beverage a delight. It's worth a stop just for a meal.

We went there partly for the zip lines and they are a blast. Oscar and Hugo were great guides. We also took the challenging day-long waterfall expedition hike with Oscar and Rene. They not only carried water, lunch and looked out for our safety, but shared detailed knowledge about Mayan culture and everything we saw (and heard) -- fresh Jaguar tracks and scat, vibrant-colored birds and gigantic fig trees to rival old growth stands in North America.

You can also hike on your own -- just a short walk to Bocawina falls for a refreshing dip in the waterfall pool. A bit of a longer, steeper hike up to Antelope Falls and a paradise-like swimming hole is worth it too. We wish we would have had time for one of Pedro or Greg's birding tours.

Next time we will bring stronger bug repellent and anti-itch cream. We did leave with a fair number of bites from tiny flies. It's not a place to sit outside or wander around in shorts and sleeveless tops, but staying covered is definitely worth it to experience the jungle and exotic flora and fauna up close.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 478katieb478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at Mama Noots for 3 nights on a recent trip to Belize. The cabins were extra nice with lots of extra room and very clean. We did some hiking and of course we did the Zip Line!! First one we had ever done and it was awsome!! We were going to do more hiking, but the weather made it unsafe to do that. The food in the resturant was some of the best we have had in Belize. The chef always came out to make sure we were happy. It is in the jungle, so the bugs were there, but that is to be expected. The owners were always helpful and engaging, the rest of the staff made sure our wants and needs were being met. In the middle of a Natioal Park, it is a great place to see and stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RandyTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Mama Noots is amazing!!! One of the best places that we have ever stayed! EXTREMELY pleasant and wonderfully accommodating staff, beautiful grounds/hiking trails/waterfalls, and eco prices to match the eco-friendly environment of Mama Noots! Stephanie was like family to us, as were ALL of the staff, guides, owners, owner's cat and dog. We received an upgrade on our room because they weren't fully booked and it was our honey moon! The Emerald Pool was like walking into heaven- a paradise at the top of a pretty difficult, but amazingly worth it hike into the middle of the jungle. The FOOD is ahhhmazing!! Fairly priced for the 5 star dinning experience! All of our meals were the best thing I had ever had and I couldn't wait for the next one!
We can't wait to go back to Mama Noots some day! It truly was such a safe, beautiful, friendly eco resort. You will not regret choosing Mama Noots for a vacation and adventure experience, let alone the nature you immerse yourself in! I forgot to mention the hundreds of humming birds we saw! Absolutely nothing could have been better about our stay there, and I dream of the day we return!!

Room Tip: The cabanas are wonderful and worth the minimal upgrade in price, if they are available! Our room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QuEnn624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We visted the restaurant after our zip line adventure.
The restaurant was clean with unobstructed views
of the beautiful surrounding jungle. The lunch we had was
delicious and hot. We had the grilled chicken kabob with rice
rice and beans, and had a couple of rum punches that packed a
punch. The staff at the entire resort was very friendly, and were
always asking if you needed a anything at all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thai1on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We can only comment on the Zip Line. Best one in Belize. Did not have time to check out the waterfall rappelling - we will next time we go. Friendly staff and great food in restaurant. It is remote, however, if you want to get away from it all - it is the place to stay. What they need is a pool.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelizeMon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Staff are wonderful, rooms are clean but need a comfortable char and table (they say they are coming)
The newish American owner seems to be investing in the place so continuing to improve.
Meals and drinks were on the expensive side I thought but there is always too much food and the quality is good.
The location with the foothills of the Maya mountains close with waterfalls, unexcavated Mayan ruins and hiking trails make for lots to do.
The Zipline was fun although not as long, high or as fast as Sky Trek in Costa Rica.
Rappelling the waterfalls was fun and not too challenging but would depend on how much water there is in the falls.
The day hike to 3 falls was fun and took about 6 hours for me but I believe most people take an hour or so longer.
There are lots of what they call botlass flies that bit and leave a little blood blister that goes very itchy for some people.
If you are staying in the Mayan rooms there is nowhere screened where you can sit outside.
The dining room is well screened but the chairs are hard and very upright.
Birding there depends on the season to some extent but the Mayan guide (Ask for Greg) is outstanding!
Guides on the hikes and Ziplines were well trained, knowledgeable and fun

Room Tip: Take and use lots of DEET! The transfer from Placencia and back to Dangriga was expensive and would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
21.5 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
655 reviews
10 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#7 of 13 in Hopkins
308 reviews
10 mi away
Villa Margarita
Villa Margarita
#8 of 13 in Hopkins
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 13 in Hopkins
577 reviews
8.3 mi away
Coconut Row Guest House
Coconut Row Guest House
#1 of 18 in Hopkins
307 reviews
9.9 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures

Address: Mayflower Bocawina National Park, Hopkins, Belize (Formerly Mama Noots Eco Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hopkins
Price Range: £72 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures is located in the heart of Mayflower Bocawina National Park. We are powered by hydro and solar. We have 6 standard rooms, 3 rooms in Traditional Thatched Cabanas, 3 deluxe rooms, all with with ceiling fans and private bathrooms hot and cold showers. We have a restaurant and bar on location and we serve local food as well as other dishes and we provide vegetarian meals on request. Our on-site activities include: Zip-lining in the longest Zipline course in Central America (Night zip-lining also available); Waterfall Rappelling in three different waterfalls; Hiking trough the jungle and swimming on different waterfall pools (we have 5 waterfalls); Birdwatching tours (with local Mayan guide with over 20 years of experience); Mayan ruin tours (the park has two unexcavated Mayan Temple Mounds). Off-site activities include Mayan Ruin tours, Monkey River tours, Cave tubing, Horseback riding in the jungle, Cultural tours, Spice farm tour, and snorkeling/diving. And our new Tikal National Park tour (Guatemala). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama Noots Eco Hotel Dangriga
Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing