We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mama Noot ... Queen of the Forest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures
Ranked #3 of 20 Hopkins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Western Springs, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mama Noot ... Queen of the Forest”
Reviewed 27 December 2006

We just returned from Belize (unfortunately).
This is what experiencing the jungle is all about. To have folks like Nan, her 2 beautiful and fun daughters, Mr. Ezmeraldo, Uncle Chulo, and King (the dog) accomodate my wife and I was an unbelievable experience for us.
The great service, food, positive atmosphere, tranquility, and rustic/clean and comfortable cabanas only magnified the eye opening educational experience we had while hiking the jungle or observing up close what you see on the discovery channel or animal planet.
We cant wait to go back to see Nan and her friends, and laugh some more!!!!
To those with negative responses... I can only assume that the jungle experience wasnt really what you were looking for... or maybe you just have moldy toes.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Tips/Secrets — pay your respects to Uncle Chulo as soon as you arrive
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BillyHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    49
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
56
130
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2006

the "indiana jones" style hikes kept me on my toes and relaxing in the hammocks helped put me to sleep each night. one of my best holidays to date! I highly recommend this resort to anyone of any walk of life. I had the time of my life. the accommodations, the food and the people of the mamanoots resort are the best! family owned and operated for 10 years and with two gorgeous american girls helping their mother out, it's not what you'd expect to find in the middle of the jungle. what a treat!

  • Liked — the hammocks outside each bungalow
  • Disliked — Nada
  • Tips/Secrets — tell all your friends, it
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RRRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 July 2006

Heaven on earth! After an eventful day, a great meal, story telling and tons of laughs the cool mountain air coached me into a very splendid sleep. My alarm clock was the sound of at least thirty diferent types of birds. After listening to these wide range of beautiful sounds, I stepped outside and witnessed an early "rush hour". All these different birds were traveling in different directions at ammazing speed - and there were no collisions. I did not notice anyone directing the traffic. There was no road rage. The constant array of sounds and movements of the birds was a wonder I still savour with relish. The food at Mama Noots is great. The kitchen and the bar are among my top favorite locations. I will be back in August of this year!

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 June 2006

Wow! Did I mention Wow! What a beautiful place... It was soo beautiful that words could not describe. The food and customer service was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2005

Gosh, can it get better? The price is right, and it sits on the Northern baorder of the CocksComb.. there are ruins, waterfalls, miles of trails, and
the price is right. Get a 4x4 and combine it with time on the beach- like
in Placencia (avoid the nasty bugs of Dangriga and Hopkins- get to Placencia).... We see more birds, and amazing wildlife at this inexpensive
and well run lodge than anywhere else in Belize... just drive until the
road ends... great place.. bring the family, they will love it!! And the
prices are RIGHT!!!

Stayed June 2004
Helpful?
7 Thank Romeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2005

We had a large, amazing group of eighteen friends from Los Angeles and San Diego. From the Belize airport we took a van to Mamnoots. About an hour and half drive. We traveled the Hummingbird Hwy to our destination. When the van pulled up to Mamanoots everyone started cheering. Beautiful! So lush and green. With roaring waterfall off in the near distance. Nanette and Kevin came and welcomed us like family to thier place. We stayed in bungalos with thatched roofing and very comfortable beds. All the rooms had warm water fresh from the many surrounding waterfalls. They have an awesome restaurant and bar with large windows on every wall so you can look out to the jungle. The food here was definitly the best. They also offer vegan and vegetarian meals. Soooo tasty. Deserts too.We had a blast. Hiked to three different waterfalls and swam in different pools and then hiked down th river back to Mamanoots. We used Mamanoots as our base and took a trip out to the pyramids, the cayes and to the zoo. Nanette helped to hook us up with all of our plans. I have to say my favorite part of the trip was just hanging out in the restaurant with all my friend drinking and dancing and partying to Belizian beats! We had such a fantastic time staying here and all of us highly recomend Mamanoots. It's not just a trip it is an adventure!

Helpful?
16 Thank camm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopkins
22.2 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 4 in Belmopan
622 reviews
10.0 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
298 reviews
21.5 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hopkins Bay Resort
Hopkins Bay Resort
#5 of 11 in Hopkins
542 reviews
9.9 mi away
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
Jaguar Reef Lodge & Spa
#3 of 11 in Hopkins
643 reviews
18.0 mi away
Thatch Caye Resort
Thatch Caye Resort
#2 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures

Property: Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures
Address: Mayflower Bocawina National Park, Hopkins, Belize (Formerly Mama Noots Eco Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Hopkins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Hopkins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures is located in the heart of Mayflower Bocawina National Park. We are powered by hydro and solar. We have 6 standard rooms, 3 rooms in Traditional Thatched Cabanas, 3 deluxe rooms, all with with ceiling fans and private bathrooms hot and cold showers. We have a restaurant and bar on location and we serve local food as well as other dishes and we provide vegetarian meals on request. Our on-site activities include: Zip-lining in the longest Zipline course in Central America (Night zip-lining also available); Waterfall Rappelling in three different waterfalls; Hiking trough the jungle and swimming on different waterfall pools (we have 5 waterfalls); Birdwatching tours (with local Mayan guide with over 20 years of experience); Mayan ruin tours (the park has two unexcavated Mayan Temple Mounds). Off-site activities include Mayan Ruin tours, Monkey River tours, Cave tubing, Horseback riding in the jungle, Cultural tours, Spice farm tour, and snorkeling/diving. And our new Tikal National Park tour (Guatemala). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama Noots Eco Hotel Dangriga
Bocawina Rainforest Resort & Adventures Belize/Hopkins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing